We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offseason RULES!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St. George's Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Reviewed December 10, 2008

Stayed for the second week in November. Our 2 bedroom unit was nice, and spacious enough. The service at the club was great, everybody was nice. We rented scooters for the week, which was the best part. It truly is the best way to see the island. There were no cruises in while we were there, so scootering was easy with little traffic. We saw most of the island, and almost all of the beaches. The food is pricey, but generally good.
Unlike the Caribbean and Mexico, Bermuda is clean. Trust me, you will love it.

My recommendations: Scooters! The Swizzle Inn, fish chowder, sushi @ L'oriental, John Smith Bay, Henry IIX.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jboldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 305 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2008

Four of us (my wife and I , our 25 year old daughter , and her Law School roomate) spent a great week at the St. George's Club, celebrating their graduation from Law School. Our 2 bedroom cottage was spacious, meticulously clean, and ideally located with a backyard patio and balcony view over St. George's harbor. Griffin's Restaurant on site has excellent food, and was a real bargain for the buffet dinner on Monday night. The Club's private beach at Achilles Bay was a great place for snorkelling, and Blackbeard's Hideout at the beach next to Fort St. Catherine was a great place to relax and watch the ocean. If you have children, the Club is ideal; lots of things to do, in a safe and family-friendly environment. The whole staff is friendly and accommodating. We found terrific little deli-type store called Temptations in nearby downtown St. George's, which we would recommend for tasty and inexpensive breakfast or lunch (It closes about 5 PM). As compared to other possible places to stay in Bermuda, the Club stacks up well. For a family or group of several people, the cost is favorable for the amount of space and privacy you get and the location so close to Saint George. Bus transportation is convenient and frewquent to Hamilton and the rest of the Island, so you rreally don't need a car and you don't have to use taxis too often. In all, it was a great experience, and we plan to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BobFenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Spent five days with three kids and three adults (dad, mom and one grandparent) at St. George's club. Overall had a great time. The two room cottage was comfortable and location very nice. Maintenance was the only sore spot (no hot water the final day, broken lighting, etc.). Staff otherwise very polite and helpful. The heated pool was nice and we found the restaurant and bar great.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank adventuretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

Nine of our family stayed five nights at this very nice property, but were disappointed by the poor maintainance. The "heated" pool was unheated, untreated, and unusable during our stay. Their internet server was down. Drinking water quality was unpredictabhle, with a severe chlorine taste at times. Three dining chairs were broken. Management seemed to be confused or unconcerned about these issues. Extra charges were $9 per person per day for cleaning, and a mandatory $50 per person charge redeemable at their so-so restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank GreyGhost99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKyle, Manager at The St. George's Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2009

We are sorry you had a bad experience at The Club and found it badly maintained back in early 2008. The new management team have done a significant amount of work over the past two years to rectify issues you have highlighted and would welcome the opportunity to have you come back to the property to allow us show you our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

I went to Bermuda for a break last month (12/07) and spent a night here at the club. While this was Bermuda's "off-season" and many of the units were empty, you could still see the decent points of the place. It is up on the hill with a nice view of the water, a large pool/pool area and a central lobby. As a solo traveller, this place is not cheap (even in the "off-season" it ran over $200 a night) BUT were you with family it might be a nice place and more worth the price. You are not near any real beaches as far as walking goes, but there are three St.George's Island beaches within a scooter ride and are OK, though I was told the best beach, Tobacco Bay, is over-run if even one cruise ship is in port. I did not avail myself of anybars/restaurants associated with the club, but ate in little pubs/restaurants in town.
The city is historic but small and not more than a few hours of sightseeing are needed, unless you are a shopper. Even then, a night or two here is the most you would want, leaving the rest of your trip for the (in my opinion) better beaches on the rest of the island.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

We travelled with 2 youngs kids and my mother this time. Overall, we found the resort quite nice except most of the amenities are outdoor, thus not operational. We were especially looking forward to use the pool, but it was not heated. If I may ask for improvement, I would recommend updating the restaurant area and install a children playground.

1. Room: We had a 2 bedroom lock out which was quite spacious and well appointed. TYpical island tweek furniture, welcoming and cozy. Clean and efficiently layout out. In the large unit, we had a king size bed and a large bath tub. Only used the tub once because the water was coming down really slow. We ran out of patience. The smaller unit has its own tiny kitchenette, sort of studio style of room including a single sofa bed. WE liked it because we were able to seperate the 2 boys in 2 seperate room as the living room does not have a sofa bed.

2. Staff: staff were all very friendly. Except they all gather around the reception area and that is the only place you can find them. We can never find any staff to help us around the pool or other common areas. Perhaps it is because of the low season?

3. Restaurant: They provided us a $50 voucher to use in their restaurant. WE left the kids with my mom and had one dinner night out. Very pricy meal..... it is Bermuda after all. Quality: not so great. Especially the ambiance/ decor in the restaurant can be furthered improved.

4. Golf course: we don;t play golf, but for any one who does, this is paradise. We are located right on the golf course. Fabtastic view from both sides of our condon. And if you play golf, it is probably the most scenic golf course I have ever visited in my life! On a hill, right by the ocean.......rolling grass..... just breath taking!

5. Pool: There were 3 pools but none of them can be used because it was too cold. One of the pool was supposed to be heated, but everytime we touched the water, it is not any warmer than the air. We gave up after a few times.

6. Location: GREAT! walk downthe hill, either through front entrance or side stairs, you are on the main road. The stairs take you straight to town and there is a mini-mart right around the corner. Buses come by evey 10 min or so. WE used the main entrance most of the time because we had a double stroller and stairs are just impossible. WE did notice the common road leading to the resort is somhow run down and dangerous at certain spots. But it is eally not the resort's fault. As adults, you probably over look it. But for a family with 2 youngs kids of less than 4 years olds, we need to make sure the children do not trip or fall into the pot holes.

7. Mini-Mart: They do have a mini-mart on site with many items. BUt as mentioed earlier, the mini-market down the stairs in town is a lot better stocked. If you want to save money and do not mind th etrouble, I woudl suggest you take the public bus ($1 . person) and go to Hamilton. 1 hour ride but the price difference is really worth it! JUst make sure you purchase them all in one shot if you could.

8. TIPS: JUst take the bus everywhere you go. They are fantastic. WE travelled all around the island and loved it. People are friendly and we felt super safe every where we went. Food cost is a huge component. I would recommend bring your own dry items such as pasta, canned sauce, rice and other simply light weight spices. EVERYTHING is more than twice what we pay on mainland.

9: St-Georges: It is a great old town and they have a lot ot offer. There was a town cryer as well plus an afternoon show on the street. CHildren very very amused. It is a beautiful historical town and we were donw there on 3 occasions. Each time we discover something new to brows and visit.. Walking tour was free offered byt he tourist office. REally worth it!
cheers, enjoy the trip!

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Voyage_familial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Just got back from a very nice stay at the St. Georges. We had a great cottage (#51) overlooking one of the pools. The cottage was definitely on the upper end of the time share resorts we've stayed at. The management clearly spends a lot of time keeping the property up. They do require every adult guest pay $50 for a meal voucher to use only in their main restaurant (and not as we discovered their beach restaurant) The food in the restaurant was actually pretty good. I would like to see managment upgrade the menus from the plastic laminate cards and actually flambe deserts at the table that are so labeled (picky points but would make a difference). Definitely invest in a bus pass since the bus stops right at the bottom of the hill and comes about every 15 minutes. Families interested in beaches should be aware that the large beaches are at the other end of the Island which is a good hour away. There is a small beach just over the hill from the resort about 5 minutes away. I would recommend planning to do at least a couple of dinners in your cottage or you will go broke. We spent between $300 and $500 per dinner when we ate out with two teenagers and a not to crazy bottle of wine. One of the other posts about the St George said security was an issue. We didn't witness any issues, the doors had security bars and card locks plus there were a lot of people around

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PekingDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George
8.9 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
830 reviews
9.2 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Paget Parish
865 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4,016 reviews
9.1 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 5 in Paget Parish
968 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. George's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Club

Address: 6 Rose Hill Street | Located in the World Heritage Site, St. George GE 05, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Price Range: $224 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. George's Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on Rose Hill in the World Heritage Site of the old town of St. George and it historic harbour is The St. George's Club, an enclave of seventy-one (71) one and two bedroom cottage hotel suites that are available for rent or vacation ownership. The Club boasts three swimming pools (one heated in the cooler months), two newly resurfaced floodlit tennis courts, and a small fitness centre. Three restaurants on property Griffin's Restaurant and Bar, the Terrace Café in the main Clubhouse and five (5) minutes away the across the bordering golf course in the shadow of Fort St. Catherine is secluded Achilles' Bay and The Beach House and Blackbeard's beach bar. All restaurants have different menus, good wine and the Beach House has one of the best views of the sunset on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The St. George's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. George`s Club Hotel St. George
St Georges Club Bermuda
St George Club Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing