We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooster central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St. George's Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Reviewed May 14, 2011

If your idea of a vacation is to sleep beyond dawn, forget it. If you think a nap at mid day sounds refreshing, no chance. Sit quietly by the pool? Not a prayer. Herds of chickens and roosters have taken over. Although this sounds like bad sci-fi, chicken headquarters is the marginally acceptable vacation village known as the St. George’s Club.

A could care less service mentality pervades this property and management will tell you a.) Nothing can be done, b.) That it is an island wide problem and c.) It is the governments fault.

Hiring a few people to shoo (if not trap or kill) them seems reasonable as they are not a protected species. Perhaps enforcing the no feed rule might help as moronic tourists exacerbate the problem. Bring in a few foxes? As to this being an island wide problem; I think not. Certainly on golf courses (strangely not Mid Ocean) but not in Hamilton. Also, the bustling dockyards appeared fowl free. Finally, blaming the government seems to be a fact of life in every country with no one taking personal responsibility.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs, white noise machine
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bbarr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKyle, Manager at The St. George's Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

Clearly the issue with the chickens has become much worse even though we regularly hire the only person that is licensed to come to the resort and trap them. We have decided to take the matter into our own hands based on your input and ordered traps to catch them ourselves and suffer the consequeces afterwards. We have indeed asked the guests not to feed them and were shocked when one of them released some we had trapped. We would love the opportunity to ask you to return at our expense in the future when we have completed operation "Chicken Free" and the resort is back to its tranquil setting overlooking the historic harbour. Please contact us directly at The St. George's Club and we will make sure that you have a quiet and enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for The St. George's Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 301 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2011

Very nice condos with complete kitchens. Excellent value compared to most Bermuda hotels. Even though St. George is on one end of the island, Hamilton is only 30-40 mins away. Excellent restaurant on site: Griffins. There are plenty of nice restaurants on this end of Bermuda. Airport is only ten mins. away. The grounds could use some work. Scooter rental place on site. Great views.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank treb312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Clean. Great Views. St George is a great location. Had a great vacation. Enjoyed Rum 101 and manager's welcome party.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
2  Thank downthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Bermuda is the way you wish every island would be but never is: Clean, friendly, fun, historical, efficient, uncrowded, no chaos at the airport, no small children begging, no crime, no shacks or sad, hungry dogs.
We exchanged through RCI. St. George's Club is a very quick taxi ride from the airport--a big plus. Checkin was quick and easy. We never had to touch a bag. Not only were they transported to our cottage, but were picked up at our cottage when we departed, and loaded onto the taxi which was arranged ahead of time by the front desk staff. The resort itself is a stone's throw from the town of St. George-- a lovely and quaint 17th century town packed with history. This is one of the biggest pluses to this resort: its proximity to the town. You can walk down the hill in minutes and be in town. No rental cars are allowed on the island, so if you're not inclined to rent a scooter (I highly recommend, though. We had a blast on them. You can rent on site) there are lots of things to do in St. George without hiring a taxi. Public bus transportation is extensive and reasonably priced. The bus drivers rule with an iron hand, so there are no "incidents" on the buses which makes for a very safe environment. In fact, the entire island is one of the safest places we've ever traveled to!
We lucked out with the unit and got the most coveted one: cottage 61 (2 bedroom lock out), which is a stand alone "house" with about 1500 square feet right on the golf course and tons of privacy. Some upgrading has been done, and while not super luxurious, it was plenty nice. Great TV reception--all US channels, full kitchen with everything you need (although the pots and pans sort of bite--everything sticks to them). This unit had a queen bed on the main level bedroom in the lockout, and a king sized bed/bath up a rather steep flight of stairs. Service was prompt and polite. No "island attitude" here. There are a couple of pools on the property, which were clean and well maintained. The restaurant was just mediocre, but frankly, Bermuda is not reknowned for its food anyway, LOL! There seemed to be quite a few activities, although I would not recommend this as a place specifically for kids. The clientele is older (and a lot of fun, I might add) than a place like Cancun. If your family likes to explore, likes history and sightseeing, great beaches (there were spectacular ones around every corner), but does not need attractions like Sea World or a very lively nightlife to have a good time, this is the place for you. Bermuda is surrounded by reefs, so a great many of the beaches are quite calm (and deserted!) and you can just wade in and snorkel! No need to take a boat out.
The maids come only once during your stay, which I personally liked. We're pretty neat, so not having to deal with people trying to get in our place all the time was really nice. PLENTY of thick towels provided, and all toiletries. No hairdryer, though. They use 110 just like us, so all your small appliances will work.
The weather was terrific--upper 70s to lower 80s with a cool breeze at all times. We like to sleep cold, so we were happy that there was no surcharge for electricity! WiFi access was available for $50 a week (!), but I found that my 3G iphone latched onto any network available anywhere (and there are lots), so there was no need to pay for their service.
A quick note about the airport: it is SO efficient I could hardly believe it. The bags came up immediately and Customs was lightning fast. Honestly, we were in a taxi within 15 minutes of landing! I was HUGELY impressed! Departing was every bit as easy, and they do your US entry customs right there, so there is no collecting your bags in the states and dragging them through (and reloading if you have a connecting flight). Outstanding!!! You don't need a visa, either.
St. George's Club is the ONLY timeshare on the island. There are flashier, more expensive places to stay, but I found them all to be too remote from anything. Hamilton, the capital, has gotten rather city-like now, and rather crowded. St. George is FAR better, in my humble opinion. And I cannot WAIT to return to The St. George's Club.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dcxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

It is so sad to see St George's Club go downhill. We stayed for a week and it was beautiful weather seeing that Igor had just hit the week before. There aren't as many people staying at the club as years before. Many of the shops downtown have closed. The food at blackbeards was good and the beach was nice. No changing area just bathroom. No shower to rinse. Do have lounges but could get rid of debri. The shuttle to the beach was great you have them call from front desk and bar. We eat at the bar because we had to spend $50. per person at the club. The food was ok. Breakfast was served only on Sat. Morn. The pub fare menu had a few good things on it. If you plan on cooking your meals they do have a full kitchen. But bring food with you. Not impress with St. George's food store. Hope things change for the St. George's Club. Beautful location. Bring back the ships and the money to the town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockyboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKyle, Manager at The St. George's Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Sorry you did not have the experience you wanted so soon after Hurrican Igor. You will be pleased to know that we have fully recovered since then and St. George's is undergoing something a revival without the necessity of cruise ships which in fact add very little to the economy in terms of restaurants, bars, hotels and even shops. The golf course is scheduled to re-open next month with a consortium of businesses including The St. George's Club working on it as a group. There are several new restaurants in the town, three to be precise and that along with a weekly market is bringing people back to east end. The St. George's Club has also invested in significant rennovations over the winter to improve the facilities. We would love you to come back to the resort and see for yourself and welcome you to contact us with that in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

This is a time-share and they are in the process of updating the decore in the units. Our unit on the circle, which is one of the original ones, had not been updated. As in the past few years we found mis-matched furniture, broken drapes and poor housekeeping. The front desk was very helpful and sent an electrician to fix the lights (we had only 1 workiing light in the living area when we arrived) and to replace some of the things we didn't have like a rubber mat in the upstairs bath.
We found the restaurant excellent in food and service - better than in the past
I would recommend it with reservations depending on the price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKyle, Manager at The St. George's Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

We are pleased to inform you that we are nearly finished upgrading all of our units and will have new appliances in every cottage by the end of April 2011. That is not all we are doing in each unit and if you accept our offer to return you will see what we have done. Please contact us should you wish to return in 2011 and we are sure you will have a better experience. Bermuda is a fabulous place to come on holiday or even a for a short break as being only two hours from the east coast of the US means that you can leave at 09:00 am and be on the golf tee by lunch time. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Although St George's is located at the far eastern tip of Bermuda, ferries and buses provide a good level of public transport to tour the rest of the island. St. George's Club provides everything you could need as a base for your holiday - from the tennis courts and 3 pools - one heated for cooler days, a large main pool that is busy and close to the restaurant, and a quiet, smaller pool for those feeling more reflective - to the well-appointed, roomy cottages dotted around the site. Privacy is respected, but there is always an opportunity to meet up with others if you so wish at the piano bar.

Griffin's restaurant, overlooking the harbour, provides a varied menu each day, and if you fancy something less formal, there is a complimentary shuttle that takes you to Achilles Bay, owned by the Club, a few minutes drive away, where you can sample further delicious food (the seafood pasta is a must) at 'Blackbeard's', after some of the best reef snorkelling we have experienced. Who could resist a 'Sunset punch', whilst watching the sun set at the end of the day?

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLagans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George
9.2 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
853 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
825 reviews
9.0 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
3,963 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Grotto Bay Beach Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
2,641 reviews
9.1 mi away
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
Coco Reef Resort Bermuda
#3 of 6 in Paget Parish
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. George's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Club

Address: 6 Rose Hill Street | Located in the World Heritage Site, St. George GE 05, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Price Range: $228 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. George's Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on Rose Hill in the World Heritage Site of the old town of St. George and it historic harbour is The St. George's Club, an enclave of seventy-one (71) one and two bedroom cottage hotel suites that are available for rent or vacation ownership. The Club boasts three swimming pools (one heated in the cooler months), two newly resurfaced floodlit tennis courts, and a small fitness centre. Three restaurants on property Griffin's Restaurant and Bar, the Terrace Café in the main Clubhouse and five (5) minutes away the across the bordering golf course in the shadow of Fort St. Catherine is secluded Achilles' Bay and The Beach House and Blackbeard's beach bar. All restaurants have different menus, good wine and the Beach House has one of the best views of the sunset on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The St. George's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. George`s Club Hotel St. George
St Georges Club Bermuda
St George Club Bermuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing