We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a short visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Peter's Church

St. Peter's Church
Duke of York St., St. George, Bermuda
441-297-8359
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$114*
and up
Bermuda Powerboat Round-the-Island Tour Including...
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Contains a wealth of different architectural styles from the 17th century onwards; best known for being the oldest Anglican Church outside the British Isles.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
458 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Worth a short visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The church has a very interesting history. The volunteer provided lots of background information and stories. Be sure to check out the artifacts kept at the back and to wander around the cemetery.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely church with interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

St. George is easy to walk in a couple of hours and the St. Peter's church is one of the highlights. Well preserved and staffed by a volunteer who will answer your questions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muggette60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
444 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Shouldn't be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful old church filled with incredible history. Don't forget to walk the cemetery grounds that surround the church. The silver collection is impressive and the memorial stones are fascinating. Not to be missed while in St George. There is no fee but a donation is requested.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdventureLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old Churches never get old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you like historic churches and want to learn about an area then this is the place for you to visit. I love old churches and this one does not disappoint at all. I would have loved to go for a service but the day of the week was all wrong for that. Make sure you see the silver collection and walk through the graveyard in back. Classic small church!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gatordad48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Lots of history, interesting architecture, worth a look for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I visited this very old church in 0ctober, 2011. I was docked in Hamilton on the ms. Veendam and so I took my own walking tour of St. George's and nearby attractions. I very much enjoy old historical churches and architecture. The original church dates back to 1620 (!) and thus it is the very oldest continuously operating Anglican church in the West, per reports. It has been rebuilt / expanded upon a couple of times - but this is the original spot of the church. It apparently replaced a previous church. The altar is reportedly the oldest woodwork in Bermuda; the baptismal font is approximately 500 yrs. old!

I thought that the church was pretty stunning - if old churches / architecture are not your thing you may decide to skip it. Does not take all that long to see it, though, as well as the historical graveyards out back and to the side. Those are definitely worth checking out, too. You're looking at roughly one hour to see a gorgeous, historical church.

No fee, it is indeed quaint and simple, yet lovely. I recommend it. I won't say that it is a 'must see' but it is definitely worth a peek :-) Bring your camera. I simply cannot recall if bathroom facilities are available - sorry. No food / drinks but you can purchase those nearby...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Peter's Church also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to St. Peter's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing