We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of cool but be aware, it's closed”

Unfinished Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.00*
and up
Historic City Tour of St George
Ranked #4 of 39 things to do in St. George
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Poor planning, insufficient funds and natural disasters prevented the completion of this church, thus called the Unfinished Cathedral.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kind of cool but be aware, it's closed”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just checked this out by wandering the outside as it's close to the public. Because it's unfinished there isn't much to see admittedly but it's nice to say you've seen it. We thought the chickens and roosters wandering the place were funny enough to take a picture of. I mean, chickens and roosters are all over the island but somehow it was funnier on church grounds. Anyways, you can see quite a bit from outside though maybe only walk around the front part as there seems to be home right next to it. I bet it would be cool to see and take pictures of at sunset. We were about an hour early for that but I didn't want to drive in the dark.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SilentEcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    111
    77
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, NY
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“interesting, can't enter”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

visitors can no longer enter the cathedral - there's a gate and a sign letting you know that structural problems were discovered. However, you can still see pretty well from the outside and take some nice photos. Worth the short walk here from the St. George waterfront, especially if you are going to Tobacco Bay (it's on the way).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wraar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting, but not much to it.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Not completely sure it was worth the hike up to it, but good exercise! No fees, though. Oh, and you can't go into it, only walk around and look. Be careful though, we ended up in someone's yard! Yikes!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SCFarm_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

While walking out of St. George to Tobacco Bay I was surprised to encounter such a beautiful relic. The grounds are gated off due to deterioration, but that only adds to the charm and mystique of the cathedral. It was gorgeous to admire even from afar.

Helpful?
Thank MamaBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great place for photography!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Lots of interesting details to be captured in the ruins of this cathedral- only minutes away from St. George's main street, so it may be worth a passing visit if you like looking at old architecture. I really enjoyed taking photos here but there isn't much in the way of entertainment or refreshment in the immediate vicinity!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank oh-noes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unfinished Cathedral also viewed

St. George, St. George's Parish
St. George, St. George's Parish
 
St. George, St. George's Parish
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Unfinished Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing