We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beachside eatery/bar”
Review of Tobacco Bay

Tobacco Bay
Ranked #2 of 40 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: **Please be advised of our seasonal closure from Dec 2017 – Spring 2018. Please follow us on Facebook for live updates** 2016 & 2017 Certificate of Excellence Winner & voted as the #1 Visitor Attraction in Bermuda, Tobacco Bay's pristine beauty is only rivaled by her impressive cultural, historical, ecological and economic impact on Bermuda since 1609. Uncover the understated significance this local treasure has played in helping America during crucial periods via the infamous GunPowder Plot, timely Tobacco trade and shipping of survival goods to Virginia via the Deliverance. Truly a bucket list on any visit to Bermuda, Tobacco Bay, operated by a new local company of tourism professionals, Beach Boys Ltd., takes pride in executing a fun, attentive, friendly, full-service concession year round, day into the early evening.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The best thing about this St Georges beach was it's beach side eatery and bar. The had the best drinks with table side service overlooking the water and beach. The menu was varied and service was fast and friendly.

1  Thank cdefraites1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fish"
in 143 reviews
"small beach"
in 55 reviews
"snack bar"
in 29 reviews
"great snorkeling"
in 25 reviews
"rock formations"
in 33 reviews
"snorkel gear"
in 22 reviews
"beach chairs"
in 22 reviews
"calm waters"
in 15 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 33 reviews
"burgers"
in 14 reviews
"favorite beach"
in 12 reviews
"shallow water"
in 11 reviews
"chair rentals"
in 9 reviews
"protected cove"
in 8 reviews
"jump off"
in 8 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 8 reviews
"food stand"
in 7 reviews
Filter

583 - 587 of 722 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was raining, but who cared, the best place was in the water and the fish seemed to love the rain so were all out and active.
Changing rooms. Refreshments. Beach seating and towels for hire.

Thank Katie906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were here May 29, 2013. Pretty beach near St Georges. You can grab a taxi or it is about a 20-30 minute walk from the center of St Georges. We (5) took a taxi, I don't recall the fare but it was not expensive by any means. Loungers are $10 per, as are umbrellas. We did have drinks, don't bother wasting your money if you're in the mood for what is supposed to be a frozen drink with alcohol. The drinks were tasty for sure but we all doubted if there was any alcohol in them at all; save your money. We did not have any food here, but you can.

Go early, it did get more and more crowded as the morning went on.
We stayed until around 1-1:30.

Great beach for families, especially young children. Shallow bay. Good snorkeling.

1  Thank I-am-CruiseDivaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I can't give a beach with crystal clear, aquamarine water, powdery smooth sand, a changing room and bathroom facilities, chair rentals and bar anything less than very good. However, the competition for beach bliss is super stiff in Bermuda, and this beach is a bit remote (if spending time traveling is any concern) and really quite small. I went at the very end of the day, so occupied very few people so real estate was not a concern - but I can imagine during prime time a congested situation.

2  Thank HLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We took our three kids to Tobacco bay to snorkel. Granted, the changing rooms and bathrooms are crude, but I have yet to see a beach bathroom that was nice!

We visited in Late July 2012, and set about in the calm waters of the protected bay. The water was full of tiny Jellyfish. What a nice local gentleman told us was not to worry about those, as they are harmless! The small bay is great for swimming, but the snorkeling is better on the other side of the rocks!

The key to the good snorkeling is to go beyond the rocks. The water is a bit rougher, but since we were a family of 5, with 3 under 13 - we had snorkeling vests that inflate with 3 puffs. So they could be inflated if we got tired.

I was able to see many corals, sea fans, odd fish, an occasional bottle and I also encountered an eel, which showed up on my video once I viewed it at home. There were many kinds of fish beyond the rocks, and we drifted (on purpose) to the East (I think). Once you see the amazing sea life beyond the crowds of people, it will make you a believer of this place.

Bottom line, if you want a nice clean beach, there are others...if you want some great snorkeling, go beyond the rock and you won't be disappointed!

2  Thank bigeyejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Bay also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Tobacco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing