We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice trail for walking or jogging”

Bermuda Railway Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.98*
and up
Railway Trail Bike and Beach Tour in Bermuda
Ranked #53 of 241 things to do in Bermuda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the location of the Bermuda Railway, now a walking and biking trail that provides excellent opportunities to see the island by foot.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice trail for walking or jogging”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This trail follows the old railway (hence the clever name) and is a nice way to see some off-the-road sights. Be warned, it does break up and cross main roads in some spots, and it requires keeping a sharp eye on the ground, but worth checking out for walking or (in the right season) running.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cardiffdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    39
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Solitude in Bermuda”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family of 5 (including 3 children ages 6 - 12 years) walked a stretch of about 4 miles (Somerset to the edge of Sandy's Parish) and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful water views, solitude and outdoor experience of this wonderful "trail". Virtually the entire stretch we walked was paved, but it often cuts through the Bermudan "wilderness" so you hear the sounds of birds, water splashing against the shore, and the general sounds of nature. There are sections that meander through residential neighborhoods, but even these sections were generally quiet and well-suited for walking. We are looking forward to our next trip to Bermuda to pick up the trail where we left off. We highly recommend a walk through the Railway Trail.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank esmarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
212 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“hidden gem in bermuda”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

if you like to be walk and be outdoors, you will like this trail. it is a great alternative to the beach and much of the trail is shaded. on the western end, there are neighborhoods, parks, small beaches and forts to keep it interesting. you will pass through villages. when you get tired you can walk to main road and hop on a bus. bring a good map, water, and shoes. it can also be done on a pedal bicycle.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Some spots lack direction/signs”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We enjoyed walking on various points of the Railway trail but there are some parts of it that are not well marked and some seem very isolated.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cdefraites1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Waterlot to Barnes Corner return via Gibbs Hill Lighthouse”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

It has been more than 10 years since I last hiked on the Bermuda Railway Trail. It was a great way to spend a couple of hours. The Trail itself is flat and provides some great views of the Little Sound. I walked down from the Fairmont Southampton, but you could take the hotel's shuttle to the Waterlot. The Trail goes east and west from there. I went west. AS others have noted, it is not safe to walk on the Bermuda roads. The trail is best.

On the reurn I followed the signs to the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse. The trail up is short (a bit over 0.5 miiles), but quite steep. The view from the top made it worthwhile.

I followed Lighthouse Road back to the hotel. Traffic was very light.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptiveGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Railway Trail also viewed

St. George, St. George's Parish
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Bermuda Railway Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing