We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend break”
Review of Plas Morfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plas Morfa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanon
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Weekend break”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our fourth visit. Once again it was great. Good breakfast, good room and all in a great quiet location. We always go this time of year and this year even the weather was great. We will be back again next year for the Aberaeron Carnival.

Room Tip: Room number 1 or 8 have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Their location could not have been better, with a seaside view and the sound of the waves! Our room was so comfy (with a slightly odd smell) and they were glad to have our doggie too. Breakfast was delish and cooked fresh and our evening meal one of the best of the stay - rabbit followed by beef casserole - with friendly staff and great décor.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A small hotel & restaurant in a picturesque location. The rooms are nice, with tea & coffee aswell. Most have great sea views. Breakfast is good & cooked fresh to order. This time we didn't eat evening meal in the restaurant but from past visits I would recommend it. All the staff are pleasant & nothing seems to much bother to them.
If your looking for a tranquil, picturesque break, this is the place..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband had a special birthday this month . We decided that the best way to celebrate was to have a family lunch and 23 of us gathered together at the Plas Morfa hotel Llanon Ceredigion West Wales where George and Rae ,the owners ,made us all feel very welcome . We had a splendid meal in the very attractive dining room overlooking Cardigan Bay . Would we go again? most certainly .

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank alunejdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've just returned from a night at Plas Morfa and we had an excellent break. We arrived after a long walk in the hills and were shown to our room. We could have seen other rooms, as we were the only guests that night. In the summer, the places is packed out, but this time of year its quiet, and that was perfect for us. We were also the only people eating there that night, so we had the chef's undivided attention.

The food was wonderful, good portoins and interesting dishes, I had Rabbit pasta and a cypriot infuenced beef stew, both were hot and tasty, my wige had a special Vegetaran dish cooked for her with couscous and aubergines. Plus a perfectly cooked assortment of vegetables, and a reasonable bottle of Shiraz. Excellent, all of it, as was breakfast which was included. the dining room is lovely too.

The rooms are much bigger than they look on the website, there would be enough room at the bottom of the big double bed for another one, plus an area with chairs and a TV beyone that. The windows opened out onto the sea and beach, maybe thirty yards away, and we slept with them open listening to the waves. Spotlessly clean and up-to-date furnishings and shower

The beach itself is pebbles, and we didn't go in the sea, being February, but the sound of the waves crashing was so relaxing, as was everythign else about our stay.

Above all the welcome and attention we received from the staff made it even more perfect. We were the only people there, but I'm sure even with the place full, you would feel like a special guest. We would love to come back, maybe with the whole family !

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view, our was no 6 and was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Friends and I have stayed at this lovely little hotel twice before and finding ourselves neediing to be in Aberwystwyth again we had no hesitation in booking rooms. On arrival we were greeted as long lost friends and we once again sampled the delights of this haven where the rest of the world seems a long way away.

Yes sometimes the plumbing can be a bit noisy, yes sometimes it is difficult to find anyone to pour you a drink, but the fact that they never seem to lock the bar says it all about the relaxed atmopshere. Service is 100% with a smile, nothing is too much trouble and it genuinely feels like a home from home.

Jane is an absolute delight - always cheerful and very efficient. Paul is a fabulous cook - do try the lamb - and also the scrambled eggs for breakfast.

If you are looking for 5 star accommodation - then you may be disappointed - but if you are looking for a wonderful relaxing break with the best staff in any hotel anywhere in the world -then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireSpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Two weary walkers very wet, greeted by Julie who is a multi tanker of the highest order (always cheerful) we had not booked and were delighted to be able to find a vacancy especially the room we were given overlooking the sea. The weather was very bad so we stayed two nights, thinking ourselves very lucky to sample both George and Pauls cooking (all lovely, especially Lamb ). Paul was so interesting, helpful and a great sense of fun. Wales was wet but if you invest in some waterproofs it is not a problem especially when you can stay in a place as special as the Plas Morfa Thank You

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pammiewallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanon
3.9 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
219 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
165 reviews
3.0 mi away
Penrhos Park
Penrhos Park
#1 of 1 in Llanrhystyd
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
504 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
782 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Morfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Morfa Hotel

Property: Plas Morfa Hotel
Address: Heol y Mor, Llanon SY23 5LX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llanon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plas Morfa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers a choice of 7 individually designed rooms from standard rooms with twin or double beds , a family room sleeping max 4 and 2 premium rooms. All are centrally heated and have colour television, tea and coffee making facilities and en-suite bathroom or shower room. Go to sleep to the sound of waves and wake up to see the Red Kite circling overhead! Enjoy a full cooked breakfast, cereals and toast, freshly brewed coffee and tea, in our beautifully appointed dinning room, with stunning views out over Cardigan bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your Plas Morfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing