We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best dinner I have ever had...”

Gianni's Ristorante Italiano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Giannis Ristorante Italiano starts it's story in 1984 when Giovanni and Filomena Ferrara opened their first family owned restaurant in down town Oranjestad, Aruba. As one of the first Italian restaurants in Aruba success was very quick to follow, through the years up to now the family has slowly moved from downtown to the new nightlife area in Palm Beach better known as the strip. Gianni's was the beginning of a family of restaurants across the island, always specializing in extraordinary culinary experiences. Today you can still meet some of the family in Gianni's, the Italian side of the Ferrara family originates from Castellamare di Stabia, a small city on the Napoli Coast in Italy. You can find the menu at Gianni's is geared more around Napoli food but as the years have passed and our customer base has grown, we have extended into other regions of Italy to create a more complete Italian experience for our customers. Gianni's is well known for constantly changing towards modern times and better ingredients, always looking to import the freshest and finest quality ingredients to enhance our customer experience. Our motto has always been; try to find the best, enjoy the best, and share it with our guests.
Chicago
Level Contributor
285 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Possibly the best dinner I have ever had...”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Not sure where to begin but I suppose the seafood risotto is a start. Possibly one of the best meals I have had anywhere was the seafood risotto at Giannis. This is a big place with indoor and outdoor seating and room for a lot of diners. It's off the main street on Palm Beach near the Hyatt. The service was outstanding throughout the whole meal. I felt like we had a swarm of servers. There was soup, salads, pastas, an octopus salad the risotto, etc. and it was all perfect. We also ordered desert and when we were done, the manager came over and bought after dinner drinks for my wife and I. Can't wait to get back to Aruba and have dinner at Giannis again. Cheers to Giannis!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenL60089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,397
    1,202
    555
    233
    161
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't be fooled but it's appearance!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We ate at Gianni's. We waited for 50 minutes to get a table. It looked really classy, so we thought the wait was worth it.
When we eventually were seated, we got put in the back of the restaurant, which might as well have been in a cupboard. The waiter hardly came over, and when he did, he wasn't paying attention to us, because he had another 50 tables, and their tips to collect! I ordered calamari. A pretty simple starter. But when it came over, it looked like they had cooked it the day before, and re-fried it. Then when I tasted it, it was worse than that! We had 2 courses each, which were all tasteless plastic food, which you would expect to get in an American dive chain restaurant. But 2 courses and wine still didn't stop the bill being nearly $200!!!!!
On the whole. It was the worse place we went on the entire trip by far. So please don't do what my wife and I did, and get sucked in with the busy atmosphere and the fake classy decor.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCWILSON2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Table prepared speghetti dinner”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

You can have a table prepared dinner for 2 or more. They use a large cheese rind and scrape the inside cavity to loosen up the fresh cheese. Then they pour in some high proof liquor and fire it up to melt the cheese. The chef then comes to the table and mixes the spaghetti with the melted cheese. Fantastic taste and experience. Presentation is awesome.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great veal”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The veal at Gianni's is tender enough to cut with a fork and the sauce was excellent. The Antipasto Rustico is also very good. There is more than enough for two to share. Several wait staff will serve you. It is busy so unless you go before 7:00, make reservations. There is outside seating, but the view is of busy JE Irasquin Blvd. There is no view of the beach. It is interesting to watch the people and traffic pass by. This is one restaurant on our annual must eat at list.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Went to Gianni's last week and we were lucky enough to be served by Sammy. He catered to our every need and was delightful. We ordered the house special pasta which was served tableside. Very simple but, absolutely delicious. Our party also tried the antipasto and chocolate salami for dessert. It was great and the meal was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone in our party.

We will definitely recommend to others and be back...and we will definitely request Sammy as our waiter!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gianni's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Gianni's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing