We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Time and Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino
Certificate of Excellence
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2nd Time and Happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had our second trip to Aruba and La Cabana March 2014, Eagle Beach is awesome! Be there early for an umbrella. 6:30AM or so . If you are a Bluegreen owner you will not likely get a good room location unless you are staying 7 nights Fri to Fri, etc. we were very disappointed to have a first floor "Garden View" which really overlooks the parking lot. We were there for only 5 nights, but expected to have a 2 bedroom combination, but ended up with two separate one bedroom suites. Not the end of the world but hoped to be treated better on our second trip.
The casino is now open and is very nice, we are not big gamblers, but enjoy playing slots, it does get smoky, as in other casinos. Overall the resort is nice staff is friendly and there is good and affordable food in the restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    580
    169
    54
    32
See reviews for
431
717
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We first visited in June 2002 and instantly fell in love. In fact before we left we bought a timeshare here. We have used that to trade out to other places like Hawaii and such but ALWAYS come back to Aruba. This resort is perfectly balanced with activities and relaxation. If you want to just lie around and relax you can or there are several things going on throughout the day. The service is OUTSTANDING. The staff truly seem to like their jobs and are glad you are there. English is spoken everywhere as are Spanish, Dutch and their native language Papiemento. Everything is always clean and anytime we have had the slightest of problems they have fixed it immediately. As for location, i think its great. 15 minutes to Downtown ($2.25 bus ride that is very safe) and 15 min cab ride to the high rise area which have the best casino's. Everything is available onsite also-any activities you want to do, car rental, cabs grocery, shopping etc. The beach is awesome and when we visit in May it is rarely crowded. I could go on an on but if you want to relax, enjoy a nice cold drink eat some good food then this is YOUR place.

Room Tip: we have room 440C which is on the 4th floor and being up high provides a better view. We have never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaToGage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

- The rooms are supposedly renovated -- but appliances and fixtures are falling apart. The shower doors dont close, the shower handle comes apart, the dishwasher door is hard to close, the drawers in the bedroom are broken and dont close properly, and so on.
- WIFI is a nightmare an non-existent. When the General Manager was asked about it, he replied that the walls at LaCabana are too thick for the internet to pass through.
- Senior Citizen crowd
- If you dont wake up at 5am, you are not getting a pool-side umbrella
- if you dont wake up at 3 am, you wont get a beach hut

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank stefC1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We vacationed at La Cabana 2/8/14 - 2/15/14. We have been Bluegreen members for about 12 years and visited this resort while on a cruise in 2004. We could not have been more pleased with our stay. Before traveling to La Cabana I read over 600 of the reviews in tripadvisor. We did not have a noise issue in our one room condo which was located on the 3rd floor on the end facing the ocean. If we would have been in a high traffic area, I do see how the noise from the hallway could be heard in the bedroom. The bed was comfortable, but I like feather pillows and I called and requested one and immediately received a new pillow.Our room was clean and had everything we needed for the week. The staff was always friendly and available to offer assistance. If we had it to do over again and when we definitely come back, we will book the studio room which is the same square footage at the one bedroom but is just laid out differently with an open concept and a lot less points per week. I saw a lot of comments that the rooms do not have paper towels, but there is a huge grocery store within a few minutes walk and I priced paper towels at $1 a roll. The grocery store offers everything you will need to eat in some of your meals during the week. La Cabana does an extraordinary job of grooming and keeping the property looking great. Eagle beach is absolutely beautiful. Easy walk to get there. It is true that many people get up early to claim their umbrella spot by the pool or hut by the beach, but my husband and I enjoy just laying in a lounge chair by the pool and walking the beach. We never had an issue of getting a chair to relax by the beautiful pool. The water in the pool is a perfect temperature and very refreshing. La Cabana is located in the low rise section of Aruba and there is a bus stop right outside the resort to take a ride to the high rise section of Aruba. Costs is $2.30 each way per person. The buses are not exactly on a schedule, but we never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus to pick us up. We even ventured into Oranjestad and transferred to another bus and went to Zeerover Restaurant to eat. Food was okay but the view of the sunset was breathtaking. We also ate at El Gaucho's in Oranjestad - great steak place. We enjoyed most going to the high rise district after a relaxing day at the beach and pool. Hundreds of wonderful restaurants,shopping and nightlife. Gianni's Italian Restaurant was delicious! I got a lot of good deals on silver jewelry! If you like lobster go to The Blue Lobster. We ate there on Valentine's Day. 38.00 per person but includes appetizer, main dish and desert! One of our best meals of the week. Can't wait to go back there on our next visit. We also did the 8 hour jeep tour with ABC Jeep Safari. Absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend this. Professional staff, very informative and a great way to see the entire island. Awesome pictures! The ride is a bit bumpy at times, but I would not hesitate to go again. It was $103.00 per person and it included a great lunch of chicken and BBQ ribs. My husband and I do not gamble much, but there were casinos everywhere and I heard several people talking about their winnings. The weather was perfect! 85 degrees every day with a few clouds and always an ocean breeze. At night it would be in the mid 70's but I never needed a jacket. The people of Aruba are so welcoming. All the cab drivers are born in Aruba and informative. The island is 19 miles by 3 miles and is desert like in places but absolutely beautiful! We had a wonderful time, loved La Cabana and are planning to return next year! My husband and I are in our 50's. If you are looking for a place to go as a older couple or a place to vacation with the family - this is it.

Room Tip: Definitely check in on a Saturday or Sunday if you can and you will get a pool/ocean view. If that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good beach... have to wait for a while for a cabana, the resort could definitely use more cabanas and a better system of assigning them. Very relaxing time. Las Ramblas restaurant was excellent with great service, great food and nice entertainment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

just returned from a week at La Cabana - the pluses - nice beach, good location, all the staff was very nice and helpful. The cons - the rooms are sub par - in the 1 bedroom the sleeping area is right next to the outside walkway -so noisy and no view since balcony in sitting area which was not all that comfortable. The rooms are not plush by any means so if you are looking for that this is not your place. suggestion: put in a make-up magnifier mirror. so helpful and would go along way with the ladies. The wifi situation is ridiculous! Free option did not work at all. In order to get any access to internet we needed to pay 69.00 for the week- which only allowed use on one iPad - we had two iPads but only one was usable - for that kind of money we should have had access from both - in addition the high speed was hardly that! By far the worst part of the trip was the beach hut and pool umbrella reserving policy. In order to get some shade in either location we needed to get up at 5:30 am to reserve a beach hut. It was still dark out! There were crowds between 5:30-6am when the tagging of huts would begin. Having vacationed in many places with limited shading options - I have never seen anything like this. It is hardly a vacation if you need to get up before the sun to ensure you would even be able to sit on the beach. This was the same at the pool where people were reserving in the dark. There is a 90 mins policy holding that seemed to be enforced by security- but all huts were gone - pool umbrellas too by 6am. The beach huts are shared by the Tropicana resort which is close by - which added to the crowds. The hotel should go back to the drawing board on the pool / beach situation - or else add more umbrellas / huts. Maybe offer umbrellas in the sand at the beach.
If I was to return to Aruba I would stay in another resort - but it will be a while before I visit because of the 3 hours of waiting in line at the airport to get home. Yes - you go through US Customs there so no need to do it in your home airport - but I have traveled a fair amount and have never waited so long in line at an airport. Our passports where checked 5 times ... each required a wait in a line. We waited in 2 security lines - we are TSA pre-checked - didn't matter we waited with everyone else. We were traveling on a Monday - I can't imagine what this is like on a high travel days like Saturday or Sunday. All the lines were slow due to only 2 open windows or just 2 security lines.. tons of people feeding into 2 lines. There were 5 open custom's agents.. but again there were so many people waiting and folks that were in danger of missing flights were moving to the front causing longer waits. This seriously made my decision not to return - we were told arrive at airport 2 hours before flight to have enough time - our flight was delayed and 1.5 hrs.. if that had not happened we would have missed the flight.. and we were being told by others that flights were not being held for people waiting in line..if you travel to Aruba make certain you allow at least 3 hours if your flight is on time. All in all this airport experience killed the vacation buzz... I could not wait to get home!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lj51057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here last week instead of our usual timeshare property which was unavailable. The overall rating is very good. Not excellent though, because there was limited cover from the sun on the beach and at the pool. Not enough umbrellas or beach huts are available. This is important especially since the sun in Aruba is very hot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino

Property: La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino
Address: J. E. Irausquin Blvd. 250, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service, mixed use 449 room hotel/vacation ownership casino resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Beach & Racquet Club Hotel Oranjestad
La Cabana Beach And Racquet Club
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing