We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“All about the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“All about the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

A few disclosures first. This is our third trip to Aruba. We honeymooned 7 years ago at the Bucuti (which is still our favorite resort in Aruba.) Three years ago we stayed at the Marriott (I think the Surf club—it is the one with the lazy river). This year we booked a week at La Cabana through Interval. I tend to prefer the low rise section.

On first glance I was a little disappointed with La Cabana (I think probably because it suffers from comparison to the Bucuti & the Marriott). The gentlemen who checked us in at the front desk looked miserable. After we were checked in we were shuffled over to the concierge desk and asked if we wanted to sit in on a Blue Green timeshare presentation (you get $100 towards dinner/casino/spa). We said we would think about it, so we did not sign up right then. Thank God. We heard later that the presentation is about 3 hours!!! I’m not willing to give up 3 hours for $100. The rooms are clean & pretty spacious, good appliances. I had read a lot of reviews about the noise because the bedroom is right next to the door and it can be pretty loud with people walking down the corridor, so I brought my ear plugs. As a result, I didn’t have a problem with noise. My husband, who refused to use the ear plugs had a big problem with noise (of course he’s an idiot for not putting the ear plugs in).

A lot of reviews also mention that the population of La Cabana tends to skew older. We found this to be true as well but didn’t have a problem with it.

Most of the staff were perfectly nice & helpful, however there was one woman at the concierge’s desk that was completely incompetent. We were not impressed by the grill. Wifi was TERRIBLE.

There is a pool but we found that it was too noisy (with water aerobics, bingo and music going on) although it empties out after HH so you can relax at the pool then. For me, the real draw of La Cabana is the beach. The beach is gorgeous. So much space! And the water is perfect. If you want an umbrella you need to get there early because people are staking their claim by 7 am. --Although by 2, people are leaving for the day and by 4 there are plenty of open umbrellas again.
Everyone staying at La Cabana was so nice & we ended up meeting a bunch of people that really added to our trip (all from the Northeast of course-hahah).

All in all, we really enjoyed our time at La Cabana. With a few small fixes I think it would be an outstanding resort. If you are someone who goes to Aruba for the beach (like me) this is a great choice. If a top of the line resort and pool with a really young crowd are what you are looking for, then you may want to consider elsewhere. Speaking of the pool, I heard that they are doing big construction on the pool/bar next year so you may want to look into that before booking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktdipaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    551
    165
    54
    30
See reviews for
408
676
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was pretty cool for the most part. Friendly staff, clean, right off the beach, nice pool with slide, bar with happy hour, bingo, and the rooms come with a kitchen/ dining area. The grocery store is a five minute walk and the bus stop is a two minute walk. There is also a gym.

It is almost impossible to get cold or even room temperature water in the hotel! The pool closes at 10pm. There is a weird smell from the chemicals used to clean the hallways. The rooms are all tile(no carpet).

If you don't mind hanging out with 50+ year olds with, orange reddish leather skin, white chest hair, gold chain necklaces, saggy butt/boob, comb overs, push room mustaches, veracospe vein, cigar smoking, fat upper pelvic areas then this is the hotel for you!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Shared a week with friends who are Bluegreen owners. Liked it so much we rented for next year. Best beach! Great water. Close to everything. Great areas to grill out fresh fish from local markets. Friendly! !!!!!! People and service. Nice facilities. It's not a fancy mega resort. It is a great low-rise with all the amenities. Nice pool. nice pool bar. Nice on site restaurant. Very clean facility! We've been to lots of resorts. This is a good one. Can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Saturday to Saturday seem to get better views of ocean. Ours was obstructed as we were Friday to Fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albatros1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio USA.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We own with Bluegreen, and this is one of their facilities. This is our seventh trip to La Cabana, and they have done some excellent work upgrading the rooms and the lobby.
Eagle Beach is rated as one of the top10 in the world, and it is directly in front of the hotel!
They now have a casino on the premises which is new this year.
The only negative is that the wifi is still terrible, and I was hoping with the installation of their own system things would improve.

Room Tip: Try to get an Ocean view if you can. We think the Studios are a better deal than the one bedrooms. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandJean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

New, clean, well maintained resort. Great eagle beach views. Nice pool with slide. 30 second walk to eagle beach. With beach huts, chairs and towels for guests. Prompt and friendly staff. Wireless access is available but very slooooow. Cinnabon and mini-mart on site. Great for families as all rooms have sleeper sofas and kitchens.

Room Tip: Try to stay on 3rd or 4th floors for nice ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rati I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I traded my week in florida for a week at la cabana in january. I liked it. Seemed the facilities needed some work but as far as time shares and resorts go, it's fairly standard. As it is located on eagle beach, there's a BEAUTIFUL beach in front of the hotel right across the road (you have to walk maybe 100ft to get from the pool to the beach). The beach is just lovely, not that the hotel's pools aren't bad, they're spacious and there's a slide for the kids and different areas for pool games, relaxing and 2 hot tubs. One hot tub is next to the pool bar, which was convenient past 6pm.

The pool bar had happy hours at 5pm every day, which was awesome.

There were some hotel activities as well during the day like shuffleboard and some pool and beach games. In the evening we booked one of the gas grills and cooked dinner. It was pretty great.

And since Aruba is such a small island, eagle beach is just 10 minutes away by cab or bus from downtown oranjestadt or the north part of the island where the big hotels are that has evolved nicely in the last 10 years - all the good shopping and partying are in the north.

I'll trade my resort week again to stay here, it was great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool obviously have a nicer view. The higher you are the more of the beach you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank endospores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

La Cabana is a great timeshare resort right on the water at Eagle Beach. They have recently updated the resort and the rooms are beautiful. I stay in a studio unit that has a full kitchen so you can eat in if you want to. There are 1 bedroom units too and gorgeous ocean front 2 bedroom units as well.
The only slight negative is that most of the activities on the island are either in Palm Beach or Oranjastad. We always rent a car so we can move around the island with ease. Cabs are readily available but they can get expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#20 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#4 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino

Property: La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino
Address: J. E. Irausquin Blvd. 250, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service, mixed use 449 room hotel/vacation ownership casino resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabana Beach And Racquet Club
La Cabana Beach & Racquet Club Hotel Oranjestad
La Cabana Beach Resort & Casino Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing