We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance galore!”

Moomba Beach Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Moomba Beach Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hosting a gigantic palapa on the white sand beach, overlooking the Caribbean Sea, MooMba Beach is the place to be on Aruba. The open-air seaside restaurant offers an array of tempting choices for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Next to that, MooMba offers a laid back beach bar featuring a myriad of tropical libations, call drinks, beer and wine, with special occasion parties and live music.
No. VA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Ambiance galore!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We visited Moomba with a couple who had been previously. We walked over from our hotel to place our reservation and even picked out our table in the sand. The location is really special and you can sit under the beautiful wood gazebo-like structure, or under the trees with your feet in the sand - pretty cool.
We all had fabulous first courses, from soup to seafood. Admittedly, we were not as wowed by our entrees, but no one had any real complaints. We had a combination of steaks and seafood. The steaks were done to our liking, but all commented that some of our food was over-salted. The one person at our table who ordered a filet was disappointed by the cut of the fish - a very thin, long filet when we are more used to a "steak" sort of cut for the type of fish. We were all too full to order dessert!
Service was excellent. It's a beautiful setting right on the beach, a nice place for a special evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tntcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    920
    841
    399
    109
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“100 Minutes@Moomba Beach Bar & Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

On Tues, 9/12/14 we visited MBBar as the culminating destination during our Carnival Liberty Kookunuku Party Bus Tour (price:$99.98). We were the 1st of 3 buses, so guide "Slick Vic" assured us that we had a good shot at getting a lounge chair near the water. We were each given a coupon book to insure a free chair rental & a $5 coupon for a frozen welcome drink. There was also a coupon for 10% off our food.
We were greeted by an old, dredded, island "MoombaMan" character, who explained the lay of the land, which lounge chairs we were permitted to sit on, & his expectations for our visit. We spent the next 100 minutes enjoying the pretty setting, clean-warm water, & sandy bottomed shoreline.
We parked our belongings on 2 front row lounge chairs, hoping to sunbathe after a quick swim. After our swim, we were not able to use the lounges. A participant from the 3rd bus carried a pile of loungers down, rearranging everything, so he & his party wedged & barricaded the front row & all the surrounding lounge chairs. We would have had to execute a running jump-over & dive-head-first into our seats. Not great.
The other notable experiences during our MoombaBBar event were all about the 2 drinks & the ladies bathroom. *The 2 pre-made welcome drinks surprisingly cost an additional $10 plus $2 tip. We thought the coupon/welcome price was mighty steep, so we didn't bother with overpriced food. *The modern, 5 or 6 stall ladies bathroom was unfortunately, the most pungent, nauseating, urine stenched bathroom that I have ever been in. The smell filled the whole area & was apparent from outside on the boardwalk. Females walking into the room all commented, gagged, and/or made faces. Outhouses, port-a-potties at concerts, & primitive construction sites have facilities that were usable, even with the door closed.
Realizing that our experience was within a different context than locals, or tourist diners not on a cruise ship, we will also detail our experience with Carnival. However, bathroom stench is unacceptable, no matter what reason a guest has for being at Moomba Beach Bar. There are too many other beach & bar options to bother with this type of experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovvaBargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiemsee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best restaurant for carribean evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Really good restaurant and directly at the beach, where you can put your feet in the sand. This restaurant is not so sterile like the big hotel restaurants benearth. The athmosphare is really great there. Not so kooky.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SarahChiemsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

It was nice to find a bar with decent food and drinks at reasonable prices. Cocktails were good. There was a live cover band which was really good.

The staff were friendly, the atmosphere was brilliant given the live band and location.

We weren't staying nearby but still visited three times.

Recommended for young couples and parties.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Findeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monessen, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cool by day SHADY as HELL by night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Good drinks, nice happy hour, good music in the evening but tons of locals running drugs to the tourists. We stopped there for a drink one night between 10-11 because we heard good music. We sat for one drink and ended up getting the hell out of there because of the locals pushing all the drugs. Needless to say I carried the bottle in my pocket back to my resort. It was that SHADY!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moomba Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Moomba Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing