We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffam's Tropical Haven
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Stayed at this tropical haven by myself the day before leaving Aruba. Had stayed with friends over in the high rise district for a week, so was thrilled to have a little taste of real Aruba for the day. Had the pool to myself and swam and read all day I did't have a car, so was really happy when Sherrie and Rick made a delicious communal dinner of wahoo on the grill for two of the other guests and me. The next morning I got a ride into town for a little last minute shopping and bussed back to the B&B.
Great hosts! Large room with kitchen amenities, TV and A/C. Nice landscaping and breakfast. Would recommend for the more independent traveler.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbgvmom823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 167 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Buffam's over the New Year's holiday. Sherrie & Rick were not only the most gracious hosts, but also wonderful ambassadors for Aruba. Our room was very comfortable, clean and full of amenities not usually found in your typical B&B, such as a nicely stocked kitchenette, a cooler for beach/pool use and a daily supply of beach, bath AND pool towels. Sherrie's breakfasts were a tasty and perfect start to busy days of island lounging and sightseeing. Can't beat Buffam's for hospitality, price and atmosphere.

As we were there on New Year's and many restaurants were closed, Rick & Sherrie hosted a BBQ for us and their other guests on their patio. We totally enjoyed the lively conversation, education on island customs (like the unbelievable approach to fireworks!) and delicious dinner. We capped the night off with a neighborhood party ringing in the New Year in true Aruban style.

We highly recommend Buffam's as a unique and satisfying alternative to crowded, impersonal high-rise tourist hotels - they're great!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinginitSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

This place is wonderful!! Run by an American couple, the Tropical Haven offers spacious, CLEAN and friendly accomodations. The daily breakfast was awesome. Our room included a kitchenette, dining table, private bathroom, closet with drawers, TV, large bed and alarm clock. The pool is large and we saw iguanas and salamanders everyday. I highly recommend having a car if you stay here. One way taxi rides to nearby restaurants were $10 each way. The beach is about 3/4 mile away which seems further in the hot sun. The Tropical Haven is affordable and impressive. Best deal on the island. HIGHLY recommended and would definitely stay again. :)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qui99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

My wife and I just got back from a week stay at Buffam's Tropical Haven. We could not have been more happy with this B&B!. Sherrie and Rick are super nice folks and were great hosts. THey recommended restaurants and sites to us, fed us a very nice breakfast each morning and overall everything with this location/place was perfect and a super good value. SOOO much nicer/easier than staying a big impersonal high rise hotel. When I got a sunburn Sherrie even cut a piece of aloe off the plant for me to use. We had a nice meal/time at Nos Cunucus restaurant- also a very nice atmosphere. We enjoyed the local fare at "Peanut's" restaurant between the airport and downtown Oranjestaad. We definitely recommend getting a rental car here- everything is kind of spread out and it's very hot so a rental car was well worth it.

We enjoyed hitting the aloe museum (try not to go midday when the Oompa Loompas (aloe workers) are on lunch. We also enjoyed the butterfly farm.

The purpose of our trip was for WINDSURFING and we were very pleased with Aruba Active Vacations (www.aruba-active-vacations.com) They offer kite and windsurf gear and lessons and their prices were quite a bit lower than Vela PLUS they were situated in an easier/better launch areathen Vela, right at Fisherman's Huts. Very professional/quick service with a genuine smile from everyone we dealt with. They only downside to windsurfing here if you're an intermediate/advanced sailor is that the wind is off-shore all the time which makes it difficult to sail back into the launch area- but with shallow water you can just walk back in at the end or they'll pick you up with the boat if you really drift / have problems. For a beginnner- this place is a perfect site to learn esp. with a lesson and beginner sail.

Anyway overall a very good stay and a perfect down-to-earth B and B with great hosts and a super nice/chill atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Rick and Sherrie made my Thanksgiving stay in Aruba a delightful experience. Their wealth of information about the island and its features proved invaluable to my countless questions. Their overall down-to-earth demeanor and friendly disposition definitely contributed to the home-away-from-home setting.
The actual set of B&B apartments is around 15 minutes from one of the nicer beaches in Aruba (Eagle Beach), though food and convenience shops are only a few minutes away. I would recommend a rental car to travelers who plan to explore the island themselves, yet most tours/activities will pick you up around the corner.

I will forgive them, nonetheless, of being Red Sox fans...

P.S. Do NOT dive with Mermaid Dive Shop - they provide some of the worst service I have experienced and overcharge ($87 after tax for a 1-tank afternoon dive w/equipment?!?)

P.P.S. Aruba has some nice offshore fishing year-round; ask Sherrie about TJ's Fishing Charter w/Capt. Joel and tell 'em Mike sent you!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maevum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed here as an inexpensive alternative to a high priced hotel for one night. The room was very clean. The owners were wonderful- very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast in the morning. We would definitely stay here again. But bring earplugs in case the next door neighbors decide to do karaoke until 4am.
Only suggestions: Upgrade the beds and bedding. The mattress was literally like a slab of concrete( and I sleep on an extra firm mattress at home and it was too hard for me). The pillows were flat and worn , and the sheets were also worn and needed to be replaced. A nice comforter would have been preferable to the shabby old bedspread. The bath towels, while clean, had a smell of mildew. The solution would be to use white towels that can be bleached. While I understand this isn't a 5 star establishment, we would have paid a little more to have the bed and bedding be more comfy. All in all a nice, inexpensive place for a few nights. You must have a car to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquasunmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed here with our little daughter and our dog and had a great time all around. The place is extremely well cared for, but the most striking thing are the Buffams themselves. Being from NYC we are used to great service places, but we were just amazed to what lengths they went to help us out and make the most of our stay. I can not recommend warmly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.6 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
883 reviews
3.2 mi away
Paradera Park Aruba
Paradera Park Aruba
#1 of 1 in Paradera
454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wonders Boutique Hotel
Wonders Boutique Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oranjestad
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beach House Aruba Apartments
Beach House Aruba Apartments
#2 of 5 in Palm - Eagle Beach
219 reviews
9.6 mi away
Club Arias B&B
Club Arias B&B
#1 of 5 in Savaneta
936 reviews
2.6 mi away
Modern Hotel Aruba
Modern Hotel Aruba
#1 of 5 in Palm - Eagle Beach
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffam's Tropical Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffam's Tropical Haven

Address: Pos Abao 34, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $65 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Haven is conveniently located near Aruba's finest beaches, shopping, casinos, supermarkets, golf courses, and restaurants. Close to the action yet far enough away to allow you to retreat to calm relaxation at the end of the day. Our apartments are situated in the residential area of Pos Abao, offering you an authentic Aruban experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffam`s Tropical Haven Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Buffam's Tropical Haven Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing