We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Reef and Beef Aruba - CLOSED

Reef and Beef Aruba
Price range: $7 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Reef and Beef is one of Aruba's hidden gems offering a very casual and relaxed Caribbean atmosphere for breakfast, lunch or an early dinner. Our open air terrace affords a peaceful view of the fish pond, waterfall, tropical plants and birds and an occasional iguana. Say "hello" to Spike our talkative Macau while enjoying free WiFi. The property boast two swimming pools and a fully equipped dive shop operated by Aqua Windies for sales, services and rentals of scuba and snorkeling equipment, as well as, daily guided reef tours. So naturally Reef and Beef offers a 10% discount to Certified Divers! Located on the local bus route between the high rise hotel area and Aruba's capital, Oranjestad, R&B is easily accessible and just a "stone's throw" away from the tranquility of Eagle Beach. Our express lunches from 11am to 3pm are the best value on the island...only 15 florins ($8.50) including soft drink! Reef and Beef......just food and good times!
New York, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

What a wonderful restaurant...an authentic experience. Make sure you get the lionfish and do your part to protect the reef! It was delicious!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Babola123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Came here twice for lunch since the first time was such a hit. Had grouper with a creole sauce the first time that Abby (owner) suggested and so glad I did. The fish was cooked just right and the sauce set it off. Had just enough spice to add to the flavor without scalding the taste buds! Second time had ground meat and cheese in a grilled flour wrap.

Try to catch Abby if she is not too busy. She is native and gave us lots of information and recommendations.

Location is right off Eagle Beach behind the hospital. Right next door to a dive shop. There are birds in cages, iguanas (not in cages), pet cat, and a white goose to distract the kids and adults while food is prepared.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant - great lion fish”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Right paired up with aqua windies - recommendation: do a two tank dive in the morning, then have lunch at beef & reef.

First you see the lion fish under water then you eat it - ha, perfect!

Only restaurant on the island serving it. This poisonous fish has poison only in the darts - the fish is great.

Help get rid of this non native invasive species!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank alf0012010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My diving buddies and me grabbed lunch here after a dive with AquaWindies next door. We wanted to try the lion fish. We were not disappointed. One of our group ordered the lion fish (we all tried it), two had the grouper and I had the cheeseburger. The fish meals were fantastic and the fish was prepared perfectly. The cheeseburger is different than in the US, so I can't make a fair comparison. It was more of a steakburger (piece of steak versus ground beef). They are very focused on making sure you leave happy and work hard to do so. We plan to eat there again on our trip - which says it all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ceshafer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited it for lunch as we wanted to try their famous lion fish ( and help saving the Aruban reef )
It was really good as they were good also the other dishes we tried ( grouper Creole and fish sandwich ).
If you are a certified diver you get a special discount, but you have to ask them as it's not written anywhere ;-)

Helpful?
Thank dcg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef and Beef Aruba also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing