We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back with the Kids next time!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Aruba and boy was we wowwwwwed!! From the minute we stepped out of our cab William the bell boy received us with a smile took out luggage and placed it on a luggage cart while we checked in, as we checked in he went and got us a "welcome drink" which was awesome. When he delivered our bags to the room he told us about things we can do and also good restaurants to eat in and man did he do a good job. The Hotel was spotless the pool amazing the beach gorgeous and overall the weather unreal!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GEO3428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,023 - 2,029 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz for 5 days at the beginning of December 2013. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous. The rooms are incredibly well appointed. Each room has a beautiful balcony, super comfortable bed, and a gorgeous bathroom. The pool are was very well designed. It was never a problem to get a spot by the beach or the pool. The food at Madero (pool/beach bar) was awesome.

That said, the hotel is still working out some "new hotel" issues. One evening there was an emergency update that needed to be completed and we did not have running water for a whole night. Another afternoon they were testing the fire alarm system for two hours. The shops are not yet occupied and the sundries boutique is not yet very well appointed. Each morning we went next door to the Marriott to get breakfast from there take away shop in the lobby - we just didn't want a big heavy breakfast before sitting on the beach all day. I would imagine that the plan if for the ritz to eventually have a shop like this as well. Takes a bit longer than other hotels on the island to get a taxi - seemed like taxis were never waiting on hand. I imagine this will change as the resort has a higher occupancy and the drivers think it makes sense to wait there.

The service was spotty. Half the employees were amazing and the other half need some work considering they are working at the ritz. Antoine and Stefano from the beach and Nilo from Madero were absolutely amazing. They made sure each of our needs were taken care of each and every day. We cringed when these gentlemen were off as not all of the others were as friendly or tentative. The housekeeping services were done very well. Alisha (concierge) was very helpful and gave great suggestions. Her back up was not as good and forgot to make one of our dinner reservations - I needed to keep following up. William at the door always greeted us with a smile. In general, everything was very good, just hope that some of the standouts named above rub off on some of their colleagues.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EAtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I made our first visit to Aruba right after Thanksgiving. Like so many others, we were impressed by the kind, helpful people, overall positive living conditions, and sunny climate. However, this is meant to be a review of the new Ritz Carlton hotel and not of the nation as a whole! Just a few weeks after its "soft" opening, the hotel presented a pleasant and serene façade with warm and professional staff. Like a majestic swan whose feet are rapidly paddling under the surface, the Ritz team is very busy completing the finishing touches on the hotel, but not at the expense of current guests. The occasional minor glitches (uneven service, loud drilling early in the morning, overly perfumed lobby) will no doubt disappear very shortly. During our stay we visited several other hotels in the high rise area, and while all seemed nice, the design of the Ritz Carlton takes the best advantage of its seaside location, with an expansive open lobby with a central bar overlooking the pool and oceanfront. We look forward to going back to the Ritz Carlton next year and having an even better time!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth it, though we wondered if those on lower floors might be a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CMS1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I are on our 20 plus plus visit to Aruba,have had several bad experiences with taxi drivers this trip first time EVER,which certainly cast a bit of a bad feeling for us on this beloved island. However,last night we visited the Ritz Carlton for the first time after watching its progress for several years we went for cocktails for our wedding anniversary,and Bonnie and Jarris at the bar made us feel very welcome,the view was spectacular,and the hotel is just beautiful. Very impressed by the treatment that we received,even as "non hotel" guests. On the way out after a wonderful experience we encountered yet another rude taxi driver,and HATS off to the young lady (from Holland,should have gotten her name but failed to)who stepped forward immediately and handled the situation with ease and grace. This woman is a definite asset to the organization,and we were quite impressed with her intervention and kind assurance that she could handle the situation and she did,allowing us to continue the evening with our anniversary plans. It was about 8pm,or just before,on Monday the 9 December,and we will follow up with a letter,but this young woman was so competent and smooth,we just wanted management to know immediately that they are lucky to have her!
Beautiful property,best of luck.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Annemarie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

On the island from December 2 - 7 for a stay at the Marriott Surf Club. We received a promotion package which included mandatory attendance at a vacation club presentation. We were very disappointed with this Marriott property. We tried to move to the Ritz but we would have been penalized financially. Due to the low occupancy during this period, we had the opportunity to spend time on the beach at the Ritz. We had a delicious dinner at Les Crustaces and loved the lunches we ate at Madero. Every staff member was attentive, friendly, and very knowledgable about the range of restaurants on the island. The employees at the Ritz contributed to our extremely positive vacation experience. We want to especially acknowledge Bibiama and Diana who are wait staff at Madero, Luisa who works with the Divi bar, and Rodden who takes care of guests on the beach. We plan to return to Aruba next year and stay at the Ritz!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Helene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

There the week it opened...first night they had ventilation problems w casino making lobby smell like an ash try..it smelled like beautiful roses the next day when we actually checked in...lots not ready for opening but can appreciate them learning in action bf the Xmas rush...that said, cooling needs some regulation...hall is hot, rooms warm if you are in ocean view, ground floor freezing, no ice in halls ready, no blender at pool bar for smoothies...really? ... Great to see staff from The Marriott,especially Delroy who greeted us at front door. Hank put us in an ocean view room as our limited view room wasn't finished on opening...cool extra value and was suggested my status helped. Most pleasurable experience was the service from Kurt Sullivan head of global security and the property security Ryan Cock. Their passion for the ritz was contagious and they provided exemplary ritz spirit that you were a valued customer. I'm sure it will improve over time but the food service at the beachwear was horrible, couldn't even get asked if we wanted a glass of water over the course of five hours but the towel service team was great...name remembered and spot set up for the day. Only extra service all days as serving a plate of cut up kiwis. No shops other than logo shop was open yet,c casino was a little disappointing..expected a much more glitzy room vs four red empty walls....way too many penny machines, only one craps table, drink servers pleasant but sure miss serving grilled cheese sandwiches when it's 2am and there is no food spots in the hotel to get food. For opening week it wasn't kid friendly...and will likely never be the atmosphere of the Marriott surf club where a staff of ten entertain your children from morning to night, ritz program was 20/ hr per child two hrs free ..pricey when you are spending 600+ for a room and didn't buy in to this new "educationally fun" new program they are rolling out???at Kelly bisqayne and st Thomas it was 25 US dollars for full day of all you can eat drink and play of non motorized sports..which is what SOLD us on ritz being our vacation of choice...if kids are busy ..you are happy!...ritz feels better for parents with toddlers or infants. management needs to decide who they should really should and want to be marketing to. That said the mgr sharima was extremely nice to the children and spent several hours offering complementary crafts and activities since it was thanksgiving. The hotel needs to seriously reconsider charging 25/day to park a car....again the rooms are 30% more than hyatt and Marriott and parking a car is nickel and diming....overall we will definitely go again, in fact already booked for my birthday next year but I'm a ritz and Marriott loyal snob and after the fun ( but "work" ) involved with tagging chairs at the surf club for weeks a couple days to finish off our timeshare vacation at the ritz will likely become "tradition" for me to "truly vacation". Not sure how true but heard Louis Vuitton will be a shop inside lobby eventually which is also " tradition" and awesome it will avoid having to go into downtown...hotel could be great lobby experience if they put in some high end quality shops to do a day shopping, dining and drinks in the lobby without having the hassle of downtown. Last thing..I expected the owner to be walking the floors and greeting everyone...where where you? And no general manager to be found in the days we where there...again so glad Kurt and Ryan acted completely out of their job scope as "welcomes" that cared enough to ensure u had the very best during your stay...net,they'll get to a state of being truly ritz...the employees are proud of the name...it was a cool experience to partake in grand opening and expect it to "season" over time.

Stayed: November 2013
4  Thank DenyseAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just got back from Aruba and completed some site inspections for work events. Specifically was looking at this hotel for about 50 rooms. An employee incentive for the employee and their spouse or significant other. Hotel is beautiful, nicely appointed. Everything is fresh and clean. It is at the end of the high rise area, so more peacful than the other resorts. Staff was overly attentive, almost too much so, once the hotel is full this will be dispearsed more though.

From my observations I don't think this is the best option for families with little children, I believe the best fit is for couples, friends, solo to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,010 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,681 reviews
4.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba

Address: LG Smith Boulevard, 107, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $512 - $1,904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba's 320 stylish guestrooms, including 55 suites, all boast private balconies with sweeping views of the Caribbean Sea and design elements that blends the island's relaxed aesthetic with incomparable Ritz-Carlton character. Two Ritz-Carlton suites deliver panoramic oceanfront views with outdoor showers, while the expansive Club Lounge sits atop the building on the seventh floor with 34 rooms and an endless array of cuisine, beverages and personal service throughout the day to a backdrop of Aruba's extraordinary seascape framed by floor to ceiling glass windows. For an unrivalled retreat of relaxation and pampering, The Ritz-Carlton Spa will be the largest on the island revealing a 15,000 square foot tranquil oasis complemented by 13 intimate treatment rooms, salon, boutique and a variety of naturally-influenced indigenous services. Signature island-inspired treatments incorporate the natural elements of Sky, Water, Earth and Fire, infused with locally grown ingredients native to the island of aloe, coconut and cactus, all enhanced by the healing components of herbs and rich earth minerals. The hotel's culinary offerings display a selection of four savory fine dining experiences that reflect Aruba's oceanfront backdrop coupled with authentic dishes and rich flavors. Madero Argentinian Grill features an assortment of specialty cocktails, light bites and poolside seating overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Solanio offers an all-day trattoria with outdoor terrace seating or dramatic open-air kitchen views, Les Crustaces pays homage to impeccably prepared seafood in a fine dining setting, while hand-crafted cocktails and flavorful small bites are presented at Divi Bar & Lounge, the resort's lobby lounge bar named for Aruba's wind swept Divi Divi trees unique to Oranjestad and the island. The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba introduces exceptional meeting, corporate retreat, and special event space with a selection of indoor and outdoor venues, including a 7,500 square foot ballroom divisible into three salons, three meeting rooms and a selection of outdoor locations, including poolside decks, manicured lawns and a beachside reception area. The beach resort also features a 24-hour 15,000 square foot vibrant casino in an island paradise paired with an assortment of casino games ranging from traditional table favorites to over 300 slot machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Prestigia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing