We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh !”
Review of MVC Eagle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MVC Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
nc
Level Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Meh !”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We don't really get the "Very Good" and "Excellent" ratings of this property. Perhaps it is the value formula or perhaps some are easily satisfied. The property IS less money than others in the area and to be honest, we have not visited other hotels in the area. There is nothing particularly wrong with the property, but there is little privacy and romance... the rooms are small and very close together. Neighbors are seen and heard unavoidably. The room was acceptably clean but certainly not sparkling. Condition of the floors, walls, and furnishings are ok, not much more (in our part of the US, this would be an $80 room). Much of the bathroom was homemade by the maintenance staff...the sink was cracked, plywood countertop, mismatched faucet handles, no way to open the shower door from inside, etc. Overall, this property is a two level motel...a step away from being converted to seasonal employee housing. The continental breakfast was initially nice, but we noticed things as the week wore on...the large pitcher of milk was topped off but never emptied and cleaned so the milk smelled and probably was sour...same for the fruit bowl. The pool is useless for anyone over the age of four. Checkout time is 10 AM !!! (most flights out are in the afternoon). And...the beach out front is surrounded by the largest public parking at Eagle Beach...the noise from car radios is deafening nightly.

So here it is...If you can only afford this, consider a less expensive island. If you can spend maybe 20% more, look elsewhere. But if you do decide to stay here, I hope this helps prepare you for what to expect. The island is beautiful and good food abounds. Christy (manager) will do her best to assist you and you probably won't spend too much time in the room anyway.

Room Tip: Second floor less noisy, probably cooler...the best rooms have distant and partially obstructed ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMBRManager, Manager at MVC Eagle Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We're very sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't what you expected. Our hotel has been recently renovated and our staff received training constantly to provide the best service, however we do take your comments seriously and are addressed to the person in charge. The beaches in Aruba are public beaches, nevertheless Eagle Beach is one of the most beautiful beach in the Caribbean. We hope that despite the inconveniences, you still enjoyed your stay on Aruba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    250
    45
    15
    6
See reviews for
120
510
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield Center, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We loved this hotel. Perfect location. Beach across the street. The staff was very nice. Grocery store is walking distance. The hotel down the street (La Cabana) has shops, dunkin donuts and a pizza place that you can go to. You can catch the bus downtown to the cruise dock area. The hotel was very cozy. We felt like we were at a family's house. So if you want a cozy, friendly place to stay, this is the place for you. Also, be on the lookout for the Iguana the catches sun on the roof for The Tulip :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superfunm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having read the reviews for this hotel, we can confirm the contents of the same. Therefore, we will not repeat what has already been said. There are a few items though that are worth mentioning.

Though the size of the room is perfect, it should be noted that it hardly has any storage room. The closet is extremely small and if you come for a week or even longer, you will find it difficult to unpack your clothes. Even without spending much time in the room, you kind of want to settle and at least unpack your clothes instead of living from the suitcase.

Unlike some travellers' reviews, our shower was far from great. The door was broken and could not be fixed thereby creating regular albeit small floodings in the bathroom. The water pressure is also not too great.

Eagle beach, or better the parking lot at eagle beach, seems to be a popular spot for the locals especially in the evening/night hours. They like to test their cars' motors which we found rather disturbing. Also, they just like to hang out there and listen to loud music sometimes until 2am/3am.

The hotel has a small laundry, which we found very helpful. Equally, the fridge in the room is big enough to store the groceries there and allow you to go without breakfast or lunch at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mb0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
173 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is in the middle of the island between the cruise ship shops and the high rises. the beach is directly across the street and has its own tiki huts and chairs which are necessary with the Aruba sun and wind! The staff here is so pleasant trying to please you for all your needs. Although the pool is small, who needs one with the beach across the street. The rooms are average size and comfortable with a mini fridge and desk and king beds with comfortable mattresses. The bathrooms are smaller, and could use updates, but clean! Overall it is not a hopping hotel with lots to do- yet they have small table and chairs on a tiny porch outside each room. It is a great place to just relax and get away - small but cozy!

Room Tip: there was no gym, just tennis court- but had a shower and bathrooms for when you are coming from bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our needs - we don't spend much time in our room so don't need a lot of space/amenities. Accommodations are very clean and room is as pictured on the website. Room has nice sized fridge - great shower and our room had a nice view of the beach. Location is good with easy access to the bus and eagle beach right across the street. Beach chairs are free for hotel customers. We rented a car and explored the island during the day and took the bus out at night - $2.30 per person and runs till 11:30. Hotel is approximately 10 min from downtown and 5 min from high rise district. Super Foods grocery store is a few blocks away. The staff here are very polite and helpful. Several reviewers mention Christy - we will too. She offered lots of good information so make sure to spend some time with her. Would definitely return and highly recommend to travelers looking for a non-all inclusive option in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel was great for me as a single traveller. Great staff, an ok continental breakfast and the location was very nice. Especially I loved having Eagle beach (free beach chairs for guests) like 50 meters away. Buses went outside the hotel to/from Oranjestad. The bed was comfortable, AC was good and rooms clean. Also, it seemed to be maintainance ongoing in order to keep the standard up. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Really have no idea but I had a room on the first floor and liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjorn78_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a very small hotel right in front of eagle beach.

They have beach chairs free of charge for guests and beach towels.

Our room on second floor had a comfortable king size bed, good choices of TV channels, small refrigerator. But I didn't see elevator, so be aware if you have big luggage or related problems.

Bus stop is right in front of hotel, making it easy to go to the resorts area or downtown. The fare is more or less 2.5 dollars.

The restaurant inside is really good, so we ended up eating here almost every meal.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank onishibsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,650 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MVC Eagle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MVC Eagle Beach

Property: MVC Eagle Beach
Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 240, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — MVC Eagle Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly staff, clean, affordable, cozy and most importantly; located just across the most beautiful beach of Aruba ‘Eagle Beach’ – welcome to the MVC Eagle Beach Aruba. This charming and quaint little hotel offers you value for money, friendly hospitality, tranquility, basic yet tastefully decorated rooms and an excellent beach escape in beautiful Aruba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your MVC Eagle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mvc Eagle Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Mvc Eagle Beach Palm
MVC Eagle Beach Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing