We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, Very Clean!”
Review of MVC Eagle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MVC Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We were very happy with our stay at MVC Eagle Beach. We wanted our trip to Aruba to be more of an adventure, so we were looking for a budget-friendly hotel which would serve as a place to lay our heads down after very active days. MVC Eagle Beach fit the bill perfectly! We stayed during the Easter holiday, and we did witness the "tent cities" on the beach, but we found this to be an interesting sample of local culture and were not bothered by it in the least! I am sure it would have been peaceful and beautiful during the non-holiday times, but the holiday activity didn't detract from our experience in the least. The staff was super friendly and the rooms were super clean. I agree with the other reviews that the beds were a bit hard, but I am used to sleeping on a pillow-top mattress. There was free wi-fi which we used to skype our family back at home. This worked out perfect because we didn't use our cell phones due to the exorbinent charges that our servicer wanted to charge us for international calls. We would definitely stay at this hotel in the future!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirandaPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 895 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the MVC Eagle Beach hotel retreat during our spring break escape from the cold and snow in Wyoming from April 16th to April 23rd. We arrived at the hotel just before 11 p.m. on Saturday night. The security guard had our room key in an envelope ready for us. He carried our bags to our room and welcomed us to the Friendly Island of Aruba.

The next morning, we checked in with Christy, the hotel manger, who couldn't have been more welcoming and gracious. We enjoyed a delightful lunch at the Tulip Restaurant with views of Eagle Beach only a short walk across the boulevard from the MVC. We spent the afternoon soaking up the beauty, sun and surf of one of the Caribbean's and world's great beaches.

The MVC Eagle Beach hotel is centrally located along Eagle Beach. The High Rise district is a short bus ride to the north and Oranjestad is only a little longer bus ride to the south. We enjoyed visiting both areas.

TheTulip Restaurant and covered outdoor dining area and louge are exceptional. The food menu offers a variety of delicious opportunities. Prices are very reasonable. The drinks are refreshing and spirited. The staff is hospitable and friendly.

Our room for my wife and I was exactly what we anticipated. We desired a clean, modest room that was reasonably priced. Housekeeping was prompt each morning cleaning our room. There was much pride evidenced in their efforts.

Aruba is most certainly the Friendly Island. My wife and I have traveled to other Caribbean islands, Hawaii and many beautiful places in the U.S. Christy and her staff at the MVC are excellent ambassadors for the hotel and their country. We are privileged to know them and consider them our Aruban friends.

This was our first visit to Aruba. We will absolutely return to the MVC Eagle
Beach hotel retreat. If you desire a modest hotel jewel along Eagle Beach that prides itself on service, hospitality, friendliness, and happiness, this is the place for you. Pasa un bon dia! Paul and Cheryl, Evanston, Wyoming USA.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pknopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We extensively researched where to stay in Aruba. We trust Trip Advisor and found that MVC Eagle Beach had a GREAT rating. What we did not know, is that for the week before Easter (Holy week), the public beach in front of our hotel would be completely filled with tents of people camping on the beach the entire week. There were large crowds, loud music late into the night, alcohol, trash, and police presence. This was in sharp contrast to the pictures I had seen of the quite, peaceful beach away from the huge hotels. Had I known about the crowds, I would have stayed somewhere else. The hotel is clean and affordable with a great restaurant. The staff is friendly and helpful. Before you go, make sure that they are not expecting the large number of campers at the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

First of all I want to say hello and thankyou to Christy and all the staff for another wonderful vacation.This was my forth stay at the MVC and I would'nt stay anywhere else.The hotel sits across from what I think is the most beautiful stretch of beach in Aruba.It has its own restaurant called the Tulip which serves very good food and is reasonably priced.Also a bar with an assortment of beer and mixed drinks.Ask Juan for his special.I've toured through some of the 5 star rated hotels along Palm Beach but for what i want in a vacation the MVC is a 5+. Hope to go back in September.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djembes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Everything was more than I expected.Great hosts. (Christie,Roseane)
Everyone was warm and kind to me on my 50th birthday.
I'll be back in December. Food was excellent.
Beach across the street was clean and not crowded.
Great time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havredegrace55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We are seasoned travelers who have just returned from a week at MVC Eagle Beach. Before reserving there, we researched carefully, looking for a combination of value and location. At MVC, a hotel first used for vacationing Dutch Marines and their families, we found both.

The decor is minimal and inexpensive, but functional. Our bed was huge, the room quiet, and the fridge and A/C both adequate. The shower was big enough (as was the soap dish) and our toilet worked just fine. In fact, when compared to some we’ve encountered in Europe, say rural France or Greece, the bathroom was palatial.

The breakfast, which we included in our daily rate, was basically what we eat at home – cold cereal, fruit, juice, yogurt, toast, plentiful coffee – with the addition of great cheese and sliced meat. No complaints there.

The pool cannot really be called a “swimming pool.” It is very small, but fine for children. Otherwise, the grounds are modest but well kept. The spiral staircase to the second floor is negotiable one suitcase at a time. We’re in our 60’s and it didn’t bother us. We didn’t deal with taking chairs to the beach so can’t comment on that. We just flopped down on towels (supplied by MVC) on the sand of Eagle Beach.

The Tulip Restaurant is very good, with great entrees several dollars cheaper than anything else we found in the area.

The staff was pleasant and efficient, and made our stay perfect.

We’ve traveled enough to know that you get what you pay for. Had we paid double or quadruple what we paid at MVC, we could have had more elegant furniture and perhaps the toilet of our dreams, but then we couldn’t have afforded to go on the trip at all. So, all said, MVC is a very good deal, centrally located in a very expensive area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kala_Nera9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

This hotel was awful. I normally prefer staying in smaller hotels, but this place was worse than any hostel I've stayed in. Shower head in the room was broken, loud noise all night (until 5 am), no hot water one night, and a rotten smell in the room. When we confronted the staff, and asked to check out early and have the remainder of our nights refunded, they were rude and refused.

Do NOT stay here. In fact, avoid Aruba altogether. Its overpriced, the food is really not very good, and their beer is terrible. Instead try Cozumel or Costa Rica

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kungfubhuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurgenambr, Manager at MVC Eagle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

We welcome all constructive input toward our product and service however we do not recognize our resort or our employees at all in this particular trip report. MVC Eagle Beach is a 2 ½ star resort, which is also the way it is priced, value for money. All rooms have been renovated in 2010 with new furniture, bed linens, amenities and new air conditioners. The resort is very well maintained, clean, and at a good location.
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion but this trip report does not reflect the previous trip reports in any manner and we feel disappointed to be given a disingenuous review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
1.8 mi away
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
#24 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
921 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,444 reviews
2.2 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.5 mi away
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
#2 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MVC Eagle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MVC Eagle Beach

Address: J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 240, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $159 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MVC Eagle Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a real Caribbean experience, you don’t have to go far! At our newly renovated hotel, located right by Eagle beach, our staff is waiting to welcome you and make you feel right at home the second you set foot on our property. Enjoy comfort and relaxation at the beachfront or in our garden while nursing one of our tropical cocktails. Or enjoy some local Aruban dishes at our Tulip restaurant. This charming and picturesque little hotel offers you value for your money as well as friendly hospitality. Escape to Eagle beach, voted as one of the best beaches in the world, located right in front of our property. Enjoy the tranquility of our area and what Aruba has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your MVC Eagle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mvc Eagle Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Mvc Eagle Beach Palm
MVC Eagle Beach Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing