We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good property, front desk staff poor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aruba Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aruba Beach Club
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good property, front desk staff poor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We rented my friends time share at the ABC for 7 nights and had a wonderful time. Aruba is a fantastic island and I highly recommend visiting. The Aruba Beach Club was a little old and tired, but not too bad. The beach there was beautiful and it's a quick walk to Eagle Beach. It wasn't too busy the week we went, which was nice, but it was their low season so I am sure it's busy during high season. The crowd was a bit on the older side, which we were fine with, but it's not the place to go if you're there to party. They had 3 happy hours daily, 2 for 1 drinks, which was GREAT! The bartender, Lynn, was awesome! Monday is all you can eat BBQ...yum! Tuesday is karaoke night, which we didn't participate in, but made for great people watching! Housekeeping was great, but keep in mind that there is no housekeeping service on Sundays, only towel service. Location is good, quick cab ride to high rise section and downtown. It's located across the street from a plaza with a market, some fast food restaurants including a Dunkin Donuts and a casino. Right outside the ABC on the sidewalk is a little food cart which has awesome food, breakfast sandwiches, fruit, bagels, etc. YUM! Service is a bit on the slow side there because it's a one-woman show, but who cares, you're on vacation!

The fitness center is really, really small and is located at the property directly next to the ABC (quick walk). The equipment was nice and well maintained though. You need to get there before 8am to get a treadmill or else there will be a line.

The only low part was the horrific front desk staff. I work in a hotel in NYC and travel quite a bit and don't know if I have ever encountered a worse front desk staff. From the second we checked in they were unfriendly and every time we approached them with a question or request it seemed like we were bothering them (this is when the acknowledged us!). There is no concierge, so they said they could make restaurant reservations for us...apparently "could" and "would" are 2 different things! On 2 separate occasions we asked them to make a reservation for us at Madame Janettes and both times it wasn't done, this is even with a follow up phone call where I was told she would "do it at the end of 'her' shift" which she didn't. My friend I was travelling with got really sick while she was there and I went down to get some help from the front desk, and I don't think they could have cared less. They basically told me they couldn't help me. I asked for a list of doctors in the area, and the request apparently was annoying to them because I was met with an eye roll, a sigh and the slowest walk I have ever seen back to their office to retrieve it. Luckily one of the maintenance workers was there as well and he showed me where I could buy a thermometer and medicine.

Although the front desk was bad, the ABC was pretty great. We had an awesome vacation and would definitely stay there again. I just think the GM needs to do a full customer service training with the FD staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    88
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
79
122
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Accommodations were MORE than spacious!! Large 1BR, 2 bathrooms, LR,DR, kitchen w/breakfast bar. Nice balcony facing the beach/ocean. On site pool, market,bar,restaurant , also across the street Mall with a market, several restaurants (Subway,Dunkin Donuts, Little Caesars Pizza) , sit down Chinese/Japanese Restaurant, Wine Bar ,Casino and,boutiques. Everything was very convenient . Staff was very friendly. This area is AWAY from the crowds and congestion of the big hotels and restaurants and beachs, which were only about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner or beach/ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have been going to the Aruba Beach Club for 24 years and I love everything about it. They call it "your home away from home" and that's how comfortable it feels. My timeshares are from mid-April until mid-May and I have many "Aruba" friends who are also there at that time. Part of the beauty of owning timeshares is seeing the same people year after year and becoming good friends. I travel to Aruba by myself but I never feel alone or uncomfortable because I know everyone. The staff at the ABC are always the same friendly familiar faces. The rooms are adequate with kitchens and are always very clean. I have found the front desk staff to be more than helpful and accomodating. They are always willing to help in any way possible. The entire island is very friendly. They know how important tourism is to their economy, so they tend to be very helpful and friendly to all tourists. The slogan "One happy island" is true. The beaches are beautiful, the weather is near perfect, the people are friendly and the sunsets are amazing what else could you ask for on vacation?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evcull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I have been to Aruba 6 times and plan to go again in Nov. It is our favorite place to vacation. Our stay at the ABC was the WORSE trip we have ever had on the island. The beach needs a lot of work. There are large rocks along the water's edge which the waves throw you into. One of our biggest complaints tho was the fact they charge you $7.00 each time you wanted to use the grill. With staying 3 weeks we grill out a lot and since the kitchen in the studio isn't a full kitchen you need to cook all meat on grill. This was the first place we had to pay to grill. With 5 grills at $7.00 an hr, this is quite a money maker for them. The other issue we had was the taxes they charged. We are use to paying the taxes....but they charged us $21.40 for a studio where we paid $17.20 for our 1 bedroom at the Divi Phoniex. We were so upset w/ the desk staff which were very rude and non-helpful, that we checked out and went to the Divi 2 days early. Upon check-out we were forced to pay the 2 day occupancy tax altho' we were not staying there. We had to leave the Divi a day early, but was not charged taxes for the night. Another way to overcharge the guest. We LOVE Aruba and will return many more times, but not to ABC, nor will we recommend it to anyone who asks for a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carlotta d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This resort was beautiful. We had a second floor studio that overlooked the pool and the ocean. Every morning we looked out at a beautiful paradise. From the moment we walked into the ABC Club the staff was smiling and willing to help us. Our housekeeper cleaned everyday and our rooms was spotless. The beach is perfect with its white sand and aqua water. and pool area is huge and very inviting. Sunsets were fabulous. The restaurant on site was very good and offer all three meals. There were three happy hours at the beach bar with very friendly bar ladies. It is a perfect place to relax and enjoy a vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buffy65369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, Nh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This resort is fantastic if you have no children, its a quiet resort, with a good beach. We found that other parts of the island have much better swimming and snorkeling. There are NO fish to see here. The pool and beach are small and crowded, but relaxing, and did find people sleeping at 4am at the huts to hold place. The rules and regulations are a little ridiculous, $25,00 per towel, and if you don't bring it/them back you are charged per towel. Staff at front desk are not helpful, slow, and really aren't motivated. We went down to Baby beach, to go snorkel and honestly a waste of time. The coral is dead here and have about a 15 ft stretch to see fish. The water was beautiful and shallow, good for smaller tykes, but current is tough, don't forget the charges here for chairs, umbrellas and floats. We didn't stay longer than 1 1/2 hours and we were bored.
We loved the Tortuga Bar and grill, and quite honestly the better food we had all week, and prices were the most reasonable anywhere on the island. Loved it !! Across the street at mini-mall was a little Caesars pizza- cheese pizza $38.00, Dunkin Donuts was close to the states prices, Alhambra casino, along with a piano bar and a few "I love Aruba" stores.
As an Adult, I was content and fine staying at this timeshare. Kids found it dull and boring. We had to go to high rise, and Oranjestad to have any action. We rented a car from ABC, $55.00 per day and was great for one day, and a $500 hold. A car is NOT needed here, but we rented one so we could see a little more than the basic taxi drops. From ABC to high rise is $8.00 a short 10 min trip. Stores do not open in Aruba till 10am if your lucky. If your an early riser forget it.
Aruba Beach Club, nice for adults, not kids. No amenities what so ever, just the basics. It would be nice if they coffee available for guests before 10am. No coffee supplied in room, either.

Three times daily they have happy drinking hour, which is nice. But really would have preferred the high rise area with the kids, so much more to see. Resorts are nicer, bigger, but very crowded. I gave Aruba overall a 7 of 10, with their dying coral, ect. And ABC for adults 8 of 10, and kids a 4 of 10.
NOT impressed with Aruba................

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristopherM2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale heights
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were just in aruba for 63 days from dec 29th thru march 2nd where the only day in 63 where we couldnt go to the beach or pool deck was jan 15 th. 62 days of perfection. We stayed at the divis marriotts and everywhere else as we were gypys but when u factored in simplicity peacefulness location friendliness of staff including maids people at the resort aruba beach club was my best pick. Studio units are labeled as superior units and were more than adequate . The resort will not wow u but when u factor in all those items i listed it was the best.the bar at the resort the tortuga grill has the best happy hour on the island as i have done them all.not only u dont have to get the same drink for two for ones all drinks are half off including premiums!! Every drink is half off and if u have the bar manager LYN pour your drinks like we did we were tanked several nights.lyn is the best i was drinking Jack and cokes with amstel bright chaser! Aruba beach club beat them all cute and clean and friendly

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trooper89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.8 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costa Linda Beach Resort
Costa Linda Beach Resort
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.9 mi away
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aruba Beach Villas
Aruba Beach Villas
#1 of 1 in Malmok Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Beach Club

Property: Aruba Beach Club
Address: Irausquin Blvd 53 Je, Palm - Eagle Beach 00000, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreaming of Paradise? Come and enjoy your next Caribbean Vacation at the Aruba Beach Club!! There's something for everyone at the Aruba Beach Club. Located directly on the beach, this family oriented time-sharing resort boasts an Olympic size swimming pool, children's facilities, tennis courts, outstanding friendly service, clean, well maintained suites and of course the fabulous beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aruba Beach Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Aruba Beach Hotel
Aruba Beach Resort
Aruba Beach Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing