We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was always awsom”
Review of Ike's Bistro

Ike's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Ike’s Bistro boasts a delicious menu of chef’s specialties. While Mediterranean at heart, it is inspired by Caribbean ingredients and chef Ever de Peña his passion for avant-garde fusion ideas. With seating in the garden terrace or around the tropical pool, the experience is enchanting and all menu items are extremely enticing. Let the chef surprise you with his 4-course tasting menu accompanied with a great selection of wines from the Mediterranean and the Americas.
Canastota, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was always awsom”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Fresh fish everyday, chef gave us samples every dinner. Every meal was fresh and seasoned well . Nice to sit by the pool at night and relax and be waited on. Get the orange crem brule' , take to your room for later

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julieann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    191
    74
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Good Experience!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

If you are staying in the low rise area of Aruba, and want a peaceful, romantic, quality dinner - check out Ike's!

If you are in the high rise and want to try something different, have plenty of time, it's worth the taxi ride.

Yes, service was a bit slow but worth the wait. Our server took good care of us and we were sent a taste of the tomato soup, compliments of the chef (so good). My recommendation: order a bottle of wine, go with company you enjoy, and try the shrimp with risotto dish. The chocolate dessert was also the best of our honeymoon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsZ1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I ate here two of the ten days we spent in Aruba for our honeymoon- partly out of convenience (being next door to our resort) and partly because the bread was so good! This is nowhere near the best place we ate on the island of Aruba but it is an all-around solid experience. The food is good (especially the grouper and red snapper), the services is good and the prices are fair. My only negative would be that they seat tables around the hotel pool, where hotel guests are still permitted to swim. If staying on Eagle Beach, I'd recommend Ike's but I wouldn't consider it a "must go" if it were out of the way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service, great food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and stayed at the Manchebo resort for our honeymoon, and Ike's Bistro is one of the restaurant's at the resort. The restaurant itself is very nice, pool side seating looking out over the beach, it's a beautiful view, there is often live music as well which is nice. We've grown accustomed to on site restaurants being more about convenience that quality over the years, but that is not at all the case here, the food is amazing! We ate there almost every night, tried something different each time, and were never disappointed. You really can't go wrong, it was all delicious. We had Jason a couple of times over the course of the week and he was great, he had wonderful suggestions regarding the restaurant (try the tasting menu, it's really fun!), but he also had great suggestions for day time trips around the island which was helpful for us. I can't say enough about how happy we were with our numerous visits to Ike's, it is worth the trip even if you're staying elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Sveral visits”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

They serve Tapas here and we ate these on two occasions. Both times I had mushrooms and my wife shrimps with a creme brule for desert.Excellent with a nice friendly lady at the bar.
We heard the Cuban sax/clarinet player who was very good so went for a full meal on two occasions he was playing. We had the same table at the side of the pool both times.
I had tomato soup,possibly the best ever,followed by Red Snapper and my wife Wanut and Fetta salad followed by Beef Mignon. All were excellent and the right proportions for us.{Most cater for the American size)They also served a Riesling,my favourite.
The second time the Tomato soup was a little more spicy and I had Grouper which I thought better than the Snapper. My wife had the same starter and a beef fillet.Again with a creme brule and I had the Riesling.Could not fault any and our waiter Jason was lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenPBATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ike's Bistro also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Ike's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing