We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT HONEYMOON at BUCUTI!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
15
Reviewed October 28, 2004

The new wife and I stayed at Bucuti from 9/26-10/1, & it was unbelievable. If you are looking for a place to stay in Aruba for your Honeymoon or romantic getaway, do not even look anywhere else. This place is amazing! We actually stayed at 3 resorts while we were in Aruba. We stayed at Bucuti, Renaissance & the Radisson. None of them compared with the Bucuti. The renaissance room was not great & it had too much of a city feel, which is not fun for a honeymoon. The radisson was very nice, but it was a little buggy & still did not compare to the bucuti beach-wise.

Reasons why Bucuti is great:
1. The beach was unbelievable. Always a place to sit with some shade, beautiful water, & no kids.
2. The new Tara Suites are amazing. Very clean, new, and have that home feel to it. It does not feel as if you are at a hotel. AND most importantly the bed is unbelievable. We are looking to find the exact bed in the states. Great, great bed.
3. We were given the following as honeymooners: A glass of champagne at check in, a bottle of champagne in our room that we drank on the beach to watch the sunset, a picture of the 2 of us, 2 champagne flutes with our names engraved, & some crackers. Unbelievable.

Best resort in Aruba for Honeymooners, hands down.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,940 - 3,946 of 4,666 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2004

Let me begin by saying that all these reviews should be qualified based on what you want from your vacation. In my opinion, those reviewers that did not have favorable experiences at the Bucuti failed to do their homework before booking their accomodations and selected a hotel that was not in line with their needs. The Bucuti is a fantastic choice for anyone that wants to go away for a relaxing, laid-back and private vacation. If you want lots of activities, flashy casinos and tons of people--book a room at one of the mega-hotels in Aruba's high-rise area, not at the Bucuti. If you want top-notch service, top-notch beaches and top-notch quality, the Bucuti might be your place.

We recently spent a week there and had a great time. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful (although admittedly we made all our own dinner reservations and booked out own activities rather than use the activities desk--we just found it easier) and by the end of the week, you felt at home walking the grounds. The section of the beach the Bucuti fronts is arguably the best beach on the southern side of the island (where the hotels are)--big, open and uncrowded. The guests seemed to be mostly American honeymooners and European couples--very few children. Sure there were topless sunbathers, but only ignorant Americans would find it distatsteful. We actually stayed in a basic room the first night we were there, and probably could have had an equally great vacation had we stayed there the entire time. Clean, tasteful--no problems. We did, however, move into one of the three bungalows for the rest of the week and it was amazing. It was like having your own apartment, complete with a separate entrance directly from the outside. The Tara Suites, the newest section of the hotel, supposedly has very nice rooms, but we didn't get a chance to see them. That said, the Tara Suites also has a new spa, and we DID take advantage of the massage services--very nice...

The only criticism I have, and it has been echoed by other posters, is that the hotel's restaurant leaves much to be desired. It should really only be used as a last resort, as there are many fantastic restaurants within an $8 taxi ride radius. Breakfast places in the area are few and far between, so I suggest a trip to the supermarket early in your stay or walk to Buschi Bagels down the road from the hotel.

Anyway, if you know what you want, and the Bucuti seems to fit the bill--go for it, it comes highly recommended from this former guest.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank crm227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2004

We researched Caribbean vacations thoroughly before deciding to stay at Bucuti in Aruba for our honeymoon. I was a little worried about a couple negative reviews that showed up here, but figured the good would outweigh the bad. I'm happy to report my instincts were correct.

We stay in a first-floor Tara Suite, so we could literally walk out of our room and onto the beach. The beach was beautiful, and huts were always available. It was mostly quiet and uncrowded, and there were never more than 5 or 6 people in the water. The Tara Suites themselves were excellent - all the comforts of home, very spacious, and comfortable furniture. The decor was fantastic. The staff at the Bucuti was so friendly. My one complaint was that check-in took 30 minutes, but after that the staff was very helpful.

When we ate breakfast, we had the $7.95 cold breakfast buffett located in the Tara Suites. It was good and fresh. We only ate at the Pirate's Nest for the Dinner on the Beach, which I amazed myself by saying it was worth the $75.

As for Aruba, we golfed (greens at Tierra Del Sol are in horrible shape, but the views were nice), snorkled (De Palm - awesome lunch), took a sunset sail (Red Sail) and got massages at Bucuti. All were great experiences. The food on the island was a bit pricey, but very good. Be advised, though, that once waiters bring you your food, you won't see them again until the check comes.

All in all, we had a wonderful time and are planning to visit again someday. The only things we'd change are shorter lines at Customs and slightly better service at the restaurants. Bon Bini!

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2004

After doing extensive research and reading hundreds of reviews, my wife and I decided to spend our honeymoon (Oct. 4 - 13) at the Bucuti. I based my decision on the many positive reviews and the reportedly spectacular beach. We stayed in a Tara Suite which was $265/night and and opted for the breakfast package which was an additional $13 or $14 per person per day.

POSITIVES - First, let me say that Aruba is a great island. The people truly are friendly and seemed to go out of their way to help us. The weather was fantastic for all 9 days we were there and only rained for about 10 minutes the entire trip. The Bucuti is a nice smaller hotel in the lowrise district. There a a few other hotels clustered on either side and also a casino and some mediocre restaurants. As other reviews have stated, the staff (especially the concierges) are very nice and helpful. The Tara suites are newly built, nicely decorated, and all have great views of the beach and ocean.

NEGATIVES - The Pirate's Nest is awful. The flood was bland and barely edible. Since the restaurant is open to the outside, there were flies everywhere. After the third day we didn't even use our prepaid breakfast vouchers. The hotel bar is small and outdoors and closes early. The beach is large compared to some of the other hotels, but many of the guests in the surrounding hotels seemed to migrate over to our beach. Also, there seemed to be an incredible amount of smokers on the beach and they all felt the need to litter their butts in the sand. Also, be forewarned that some of the lady guests decided to go topless (and they weren't the types that should be thinking about going topless - EVER). So in short, the Tara Suites at the Bucuti are nice, but definitely not worth $265. The whole low rise area felt very cheap and seedy. For the same money (or less) you can stay at the Mariott or even better, the Renaissance in downtown Oranjestad, which has a private island available to their guests. Any of the hotels in the high rise area are nicer with many different dining or entertainment options. We spent most of our time at the Marriott.

We recommend renting a jeep for a couple days. We had a great time exploring the island. We found the natural bridge, but the natural pool is a bit harder to locate. I would definitely go back to Aruba but would not stay at the Bucuti.

12  Thank JMS1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Freehold, NJ
22
Reviewed October 19, 2004

My husband and I recently returned from a much needed 5 night stay at Bucuti in the Tara Suites. We chose Bucuti because we wanted a peaceful, relaxing atmoshepere without a lot going on around us (we left our almost 2 year old at home, and have another on the way!) The Tara Suites were amazing...a nice sized room with a kitchenette, a king size very comfy bed, 2 ceiling fans, and of course a beautiful terrace overlooking the beach! The beach was perfect...not at all crowded, very clean and very quiet (not to mention the fact that the water was a perfect temperature, the sand was perfectly white and fine and the breeze on the beach kept us very comfortable!) The service at Bucuti was terrific! The staff (especially the concierge) were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful. When they found out I was pregnant, they even sent a fruit basket to our room! The only area that could use improvement is the restaurant. We would have liked to enjoy more breakfasts there but found the food to be sub-par. For dinners, it didn't bother us because a big part of the fun of Aruba is enjoying all of the wonderful restaurants throughout the island (Sunset Grille at the Radisson was our favorite!). If you are looking for a relaxing, peaceful, get-away-from-it-all vacation, I highly recommend the Tara Suites at Bucuti Beach Resort!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fairfax, VA
13
Reviewed October 18, 2004

We stayed at the Bucuti from Oct. 11-Oct. 18 on our honeymoon. We stayed in the Tara Suites. The room was nice but it did have a mildew smell. The staff said it was because the walls were still drying. Even though the room did have that smell we still enjoyed it. The view from the room was fantastic. You could see the beach with it's white sand and crystal blue water.

The beach itself is great. You never have to worry about getting a chair and if you want they will bring drinks right to you. All you do is place a flag in the sand. The water was always warm and there were very few kids around

The staff at Bucuti was also great. No matter what we needed all we had to do was ask and the were more than helpfull. They helped us plan many of the activities we booked. One I would suggest is the Jeep Safari. You get messy but you see alot of the island. Well worth the money.

The food at the Bucuti's restaurant, Pirates Nest, was ok. We had one romantic dinner on the beach that was a five course meal. It was included in the package I bought and when I saw the price I thought it was worth what they would have charged. Overall though I felt we had better food at some other eating establishments.

Someone at work suggested I go to Carlos and Charlies. The food there was lousy but the atmosphere was great. It is touristy but it's a fun place. If you do go forget the food and just drink.

Overall we loved our time in Aruba and would recommend both the island and Bucuti Beach Resort to anyone looking for a great relaxing time.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Closter, NJ
13
Reviewed October 9, 2004

We stayed at the Bucuti from 9/28-10/5 for our honeymoon. We did alot of research before finally deciding to stay at this resort and it was the best decision we could have made. The staff is so friendly and nice and willing to accomodate you in any way possible. The rooms (except the Tara Suites) are average but that really didn't matter to us. We loved the large balcony overlooking the beach and ocean....the sunsets are amazing.
We went to the high rise area to check out all the hotels along Palm Beach and nothing compared to Bucuti's Eagle Beach. Palm Beach is very narrow and looks like people are laying out on top of each other (we were there in the low season and I can't imagine what it would be like in the high season). Bucuti's beach is so big and has dozens of palapas spread out all over the beach so that you didn't feel like people are all around. (We could never hear what the people closest to us were saying to each other.)

If you are looking for a relaxing environment, lots of privacy and no kids, then Bucuti is the right choice.
We plan on going back!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
#2 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,655 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba

Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 55 B, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $336 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-only, romantic resort, located on Aruba's spacious and beautiful Eagle Beach, is award-winning and owner-operated. The 4-star and 4-diamond resort receives high satisfaction ratings and recognition that includes #1 Hotel for Romance in the Caribbean 2017, Top 3 Beach Destinations in the World, Conde Nast Gold List, and Green Globe High Achievement Award. Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort is eco-friendly and offers a tranquil boutique experience with friendly service. The intimate atmosphere is exclusive and relaxing to couples seeking tranquility and romantic experiences. No groups and no all-inclusive packages available. Two top restaurants available on property and romantic beach dining. Breakfast is free daily.Resort's website offers you the Best Available Rate including all taxes and fees, free breakfast and free WiFi. (Not all-inclusive) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucuti And Tara Beach Resorts Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Bucuti Beach Hotel
Golden Tulip Palm Eagle Beach
Golden Tulip Oranjestad
Aruba Bucuti Resort
Bucuti Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing