We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit just as wonderful as the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Second visit just as wonderful as the first!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our second vacation at Bucuti and it was as terrific as we remembered it. We love the no-kid atmosphere, the extensive complimentary breakfast, the outdoor bar, the intimate spa, the beautiful beach, and the large quiet guestrooms. The staff is very friendly, clearly love their jobs, and really care about the experience of their guests. The new restaurant that replaced the Pirate's Nest is beautiful and the food is terrific. We liked the new beach umbrellas and the beach chair covers provided to guests along with beach towels. We look forward to a third visit in the future.

Room Tip: You won't spend much time in your room! They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SGreenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,759
    462
    113
    44
    25
See reviews for
129
3,703
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We just returned after a week at Bucuti. The hotel is nice, clean and the staff is friendly, however there are some strong detractors.

There are a few positives:
1. The beach and pool and are absolutely beautiful and the lounge chairs are comfortable and plentiful. The towels are great and clean and they keep the beach pretty clear.
2. The concierge service is nice, convenient and helpful. They helped us rent a car, make dinner reservations, recommended sites to see, etc.
3. The quiet location is nice and is a plus to be within walking distance of a few different restaurants/shops. There is Pizza Bobs, Subway, Dunkin Donuts, Ike's, etc.

There are a few negative things:
1. The staff is certainly friendly, but I wouldn't say they were amazing by any means. For example, originally only one of our key cards worked for our door. The porter said he would be "right back" with another working key. We were in our room for another 30 minutes. Another key never materialized then or in the days afterwards. Also, they are very slow with their service. We sat at the Sand Bar a few times for 5 minutes or more before someone came over to serve us. We also waited quite a long time before someone came by after we put up our red flag for service at the beach and then a long time before what we ordered came back. Also, bizarrely, we had to empty the dehumidifier in our room ourselves twice a day. It filled up very quickly and would beep loudly in the middle of the night if it was full. We left it full one day and housekeeping was in our room twice (original make up and then bed turn down) and the dehumidifier was still full (red light on) when we returned. The change filter light was also on the whole time and was never changed. Didn't think that should be our job.
2. The food at the hotel is mediocre at best and inedible at worst. The breakfast has the basic bacon, sausage, pancakes, fruit. It is all just fine. Edible. The lunch is the worst. We got the "Chicken Satay Lettuce Wrap" which was fatty chicken smothered in peanut sauce on a few pieces of wilted lettuce. Not edible. Appetite killing. We also had some other tasteless main dishes for lunch including the Ranchero Wrap and Quesadilla. This was probably the biggest problem at the hotel since we really had to leave for every single meal. It was extremely disappointing to have such low quality food at such a higher level resort.
3. There was a horrible smell in the bathroom of our room. It smelled like rotten eggs 90% of the time. We had to keep the door to the bathroom closed or else the whole room would smell. The staff even came in once and washed the room with vinegar, but it didn't help, the smell returned. I don't know what it was, but it was pretty off putting to go back to the room and shower with it overpowering the bathroom.

All in all we had a nice time, but we wouldn't go back to this resort again. We liked the quiet atmosphere and the beautiful beach and loungers. However, the food, smell and mediocre service outweighed the good in our opinion.

Room Tip: If you don't want a room facing the parking lot of the neighboring resort, we suggest calling ah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VacayCommenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewaldbiemans, Owner at Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Review “ beautiful beach, average hotel…”

We are grateful for your comments and need to apologize for the inconveniences you suffered during your stay. The apology is double since one of the disappointments you suffered is partially my fault.

I recall checking with you during one of your lunches one day and you mentioned that the chicken sate contained fat and that the sate sauce was not to your liking and I had instructed our waiter to adjust the bill for this as a common courtesy. This did not happen as I found out after reading your comments here on TripAdvisor. We certainly owe you a big apology and a lunch and will make arrangements to refund the amount via your credit card.

The other FauxPas is the fact that we used organic fertilizer to fertilize our newly planted grass in our garden after the construction of our restaurant was completed. Using natural and organic fertilizers and pesticides is in line with our Environmental Certification, but should have been handled differently and with proper notification. First we apologize for this and are perfectly willing to discuss a refund with you if you contact me directly next time you visit as you expressed in your review.

As to the dehumidifier – here is the long and the short story on this piece of equipment. Our humidity in Aruba is around 70 to 90 percent and we set the dehumidifiers to hold humidity at seventy percent for comfort, and the unit will take around 24 hours to fill up . Some of our guest set the humidity at 40 % and that will remove so much humidity that the humidifier will fill up in 6-8 hours and even if the room attendant empties the unit it will fill up again during the night.
There are two ways to avoid inconveniencing ourselves. One would be to set the desired humidity at 70 % or 80 % or two, unplug the unit or call the reception and a bellman would do so. These dehumidifiers are installed for guest comfort and to avoid mold and mildew as an inconvenience to our guests but can be disabled anytime.

The other recommendation would be to contact management on the spot – as you may have noticed, Manager Deborah , Assistant manager Arnold and yours truly are very visible and cover the shifts to resolve some of the issues one may encounter.

We are sorry to have inconvenienced you and apologize profusely for this. On the other hand we read that you enjoyed the overall Aruba Experience and therefor hope you return to our “one happy island” and enjoy the Aruban hospitality.

Respectfully yours,

Ewald Biemans
Biemans@bucuti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassano DG
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

N ot a lot more to add to previous reviews.we've been here for 10days vacation in Aruba and being the first time, we booked Bucuti trusting all very good reviews on the web. Hotel and facilities very stylish. All staff very nice and customer oriented. To be chosen if you like paceful and quiet places.hotel located on the low rise hotel area, out of very busy (Vegas style) hotels, but not too far from palm beach , that can be easily reached by cab or bus for night chill out.
Restaurant on the beach good but tried only one time. if in the future we'll chose again Aruba, we surely come back to this boutique hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airbuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We just got back yesterday from our 6-day honeymoon in the Tara Suites at Bucuti and it was the perfect honeymoon experience. After a week staying there we decided that the reason it is soooooo, well lovely, is that there is so much going on behind the scenes. Before we left for Aruba we were warned about iguanas running around everywhere (we saw 1 the whole time), crowded beach loungers (we always had options) and gravelly sand (they rake it daily)...those people obviously did not stay at this resort. Every little detail is paid attention to to ensure that every guest has a unforgettable experience. I think this is definitely due to the quality and quantity of the staff (I appreciate a place that employs not only competent staff but enough staff to do a good job!). If we left a wine glass used, it was washed for us; if we used towels, there was a replacement folded for us at turndown (yes, daily turndown!); if we needed a dinner reservation confirmed, they did it; if we were getting overheated in the sunshine, there was a cool towel handed out; if one of us got a little sunburnt, they had a recommended local remedy....We watched a film in the moonlight while lounging, we spent days sipping smoothies while lounging - ok, we did a lot of lounging...basically we got to indulge, relax and be happy - just what you want to do on your honeymoon. Breakfast had long hours (appreciated for those wanting to sleep in) and lots of options...we didn't eat dinner at the new restaurant - we did have lunch and were sorta sad that there was still construction going on past the promised finished date that did ruin a little of our 'zen' but after visiting the high-rise areas we decided it was a small price to pay! By the end of our week, we could understand completely why people come back...hopefully we will get to too!
To name drop - Mario was the perfect host to show us our room with an infectious smile and happy demeanor and Aldrich in the bar at night had a fun spirit to accompany our fruity drinks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank becksCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewaldbiemans, Owner at Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Azul Sea, white sand

Eternal happiness is our wish for you and Masha Danki for choosing Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts as the place to celebrate this all important event.

Your kind words are much appreciated! We will keep it just like this and hope to serve you again in the near future - maybe an anniversary or even a baby moon?

Thank you so much.

Ewald Biemans

BIemans@bucuti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I spent months and months reading/researching about the resort and WOW is all I can say about the Bucti. My husband and I stayed at the Bucuti July 25 - August 2 for our honeymoon and fell in love with the resort and Aruba. The reviews do not do this place justice! Our expectations were exceeded immediately!

We had an incredibly long flight coming from Southern California, but as soon as we stepped foot out of the taxi, we were greeted by a cheerful gentleman at the curb who made us feel relaxed immediately. This was where the amazing customer service experience began as he knew exactly who we were right away and told us "relax! you're officially on your honeymoon" and escorted us to the lobby where we were greeted by numerous staff members and ice cold champagne. The check in process was a breeze and they were so helpful with answering all of our questions about the excursions we had looked into doing later in the week and helped confirm all dinner reservations. After enjoying a couple glasses of champagne during the check in process, we were escorted by a very pleasant gentleman who showed us to our beautiful beach front room in the Tara Suite building. The room was AMAZING and even better than I had expected. It was also a great touch to have a "Just Married" sign on the door and a happy honeymoon gift waiting for us in the room. We spent the rest of the week lounging on the beach (which is hands down one of the best beaches I've been to and I'm relatively picky considering we live in a beautiful beach town in California.), enjoying the hospitality provided by the bartenders at the beach bar during happy hour, and ate our way around the island. We also had the most amazing dining experience at the Bucuti one night when we dined at Carte Blanche. The seven course chef's choice dinner was out of this world and made for such a great evening!

It was by far the most amazing vacation experience either of us had ever experienced. I could go on and on and write a short novel about the Bucuti, but take my word for it along with everyone else who reviews the resort, you do not want to stay anywhere else, especially if you're celebrating a honeymoon or anniversary. We're already planning to return next July for our first anniversary!

Tips:
- Book the sweetheart sunset sail that is exclusive to the Bucuti. It was such a relaxing sunset sail with an open bar on a very clean catamaran. Unlike the other sunset cruises, this was limited to just Bucuti patrons and also provided roundtrip transportation.

- If you're looking for a superb dining experience, book dinner at Carte Blanche as soon as you make your room reservations. The food and wine pairings along with the service was perfect.

- Bring a waterproof camera. We were able to capture some great pictures from the water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ashleyk949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We came here last July for an eight day stay. This was our second trip to Aruba but our first time staying at Bucuti. This boutique hotel is absolutely wonderful. Friendly staff, great rooms and a beautiful stretch of beach. We brought along our little dog and found the staff to be super accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel and am looking forward to our next stay there.

Room Tip: Tara suites are the most ideal rooms with great views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frosini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I just got back from our honeymoon last night and before I forgot a single detail I wanted to write this review to help all of you out. After much indecision we settled on Aruba and from there to the top rated property on the island, Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort. I can't say enough about this place. From the moment you arrive you are treated like royalty. We stayed in the Tara Suite building, which has 4 levels of the same styled suites (0-3) with the penthouses being up highest on level 4. Our original room was on the ground floor or level 0 and honestly we weren't really crazy about our view but that was no issue for Assistant GM, Arnold, who promptly placed up higher to the next level. I should have guessed that was going to be a very good sign of things to come. I consider myself pretty well traveled and about equally as picky in terms of my preferences. I can honestly say that on the plane ride home yesterday my wife and I both said to eachother that there wasn't one thing about Bucuti or Aruba that we would want changed. Aruba is beautiful, with great activities and restaurants and it is very safe. You are not leery at all about being outside at night and/or away from your hotel. One night we went to dinner and then a club and were very comfortable moving throughout the city on our own. We rented a jeep another day and drove all over the island and felt fine about it. In terms of activities, I would highly recommend doing some fishing while you are down there. We chartered a boat and had an awesome experience, caching a bunch of fish. Baby Beach is cool, the snorkeling there is excellent, which was something neither of us had ever done. As for the resort, besides the beauty of the beaches, the luxury and cleanliness of the rooms and high level of customer service, the place is so serenely peaceful it's just really a pleasure to wake up there every morning. We met great couples there from all over the States and Europe. I could go on and on but I would HIGHLY recommend staying in Aruba at Bucuti. I need to give a shout out to my guy Mario from Bucuti, who may just be the happiest dude on the island!

Room Tip: Stay up higher if possible in the Tara Suite building as the views are much better. Would also reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba

Property: Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 55 B, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-only, romantic resort, located on Aruba's spacious and beautiful Eagle Beach, is award-winning and owner-operated. The 4-star and 4-diamond resort receives high satisfaction ratings and recognition that includes #1 Hotel for Romance in the Caribbean 2017, Top 3 Beach Destinations in the World, Conde Nast Gold List, and Green Globe High Achievement Award. Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort is eco-friendly and offers a tranquil boutique experience with friendly service. The intimate atmosphere is exclusive and relaxing to couples seeking tranquility and romantic experiences. No groups and no all-inclusive packages available. Two top restaurants available on property and romantic beach dining. Breakfast is free daily.Resort's website offers you the Best Available Rate including all taxes and fees, free breakfast and free WiFi. (Not all-inclusive) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Bucuti And Tara Beach Resorts Aruba
Bucuti Beach Hotel
Golden Tulip Palm Eagle Beach
Golden Tulip Oranjestad
Aruba Bucuti Resort
Bucuti Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing