We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three times and likely to be more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Palmyra, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three times and likely to be more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Bucuti three times and we are certain to come back. Every stay that we have had has been a terrific experience.
The staff has always greeted us warmly from the minute we arrived to every day we see them. The first time we stayed there we were treated like old friends who had come back again. They made it very comfortable for us. On our last visit, the young man who greeted us when we first pulled up was a "security guard" but he was so friendly and chatty that you forget that he is there for security (it is a shame that security is needed but that is not a fault of the Bucuti or Aruba, that is just the world we live in now.)
The beach is just lovely. You cannot say enough about it. We always managed to find a spot not matter what time of the day we show up. The water is warm and amazing to swim in even for my wife who is not a big swimmer.
The food in the restaurant is great. The only "disappointment" was the first time we stayed I had the chicken alfredo every night we had dinner there and it was off the menu on our last visit. That's okay though. I need to eat something different for once.
The rooms are comfortable and clean and well cared for by the housekeeping staff when you are away. We have not stay in the Tara section because our philosophy for traveling is that you should not spend much time in your hotel room so there is no need to over do it.
As for Paco, well sometimes I think that is why my wife keeps us coming back. He is a real joy.
The resort overall is terrific and that is why we keep coming back. They keep the entire property spot less. The eco-friendly theme is so refreshing (we still have our complimentary water bottles from our last visit.)
We always come down for our anniversary in August and we will definitely be there again. I have recommended the Bucuti to all of my friends and co-workers and I recommend it highly to all of you. I cannot say enough good things about this place. It is very special to us.
August 2011 was our last visit. We are due to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,730
    461
    112
    44
    25
See reviews for
127
3,678
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is our first time in Aruba and our first stay at the Bucuti. And we are sure happy to have booked the Bucuti in the low rise area. There are many things we love about this resort. First, it is an adults only resort. No screaming kids at the pool or in the restaurants. We love the fact that beach chairs are fairly wide apart. Resorts in the high rise area have people packed in like sardines. And because it has only 104 rooms, there is enough lounge chairs for everyone. Thursday and Sundays they have movies on the beach, which we loved. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is a place to come to relax and de-stress. If you want crowds, nightly entertainment and big resorts, definitely book in the high rise area. This resort has a relaxed flow to it...service is good, but clearly they operate on island time. The younger staff could use a little more customer service training. They have two restaurants, Carte Blanche is very upscale and requires reservations well in advance. Their beach side restaurant is lovely and right on the beach. Their daily breakfast is quite good. I especially liked the latte machine and the Dunkin donuts they had out each morning. I do think that Eagle Beach is better than Palm Beach and again, not nearly as crowded. There are many fabulous restaurants within walking distance and also by a 10 minute cab ride or bus. If you are looking for a relaxing place to spend a week, this is the resort for you.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of property facing the beach are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AASeattleFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I’ll start this review with our departure from the hotel:
We are waiting for our taxi to take us to the airport when the hotel manager, Deborah, approaches me and says “you’re leaving without even saying goodbye to me?”
I respond that “we’ve been here five days and you never said hello.”
Deborah says “I’d been told to keep away from you because you are trouble and it seems that you are”.

Quite a way to interact with a guest who has been quiet and respectful of everyone.

I am not surprised by her defensive and unapologetic attitude. All you have to do is read some of the negative reviews of the Bucuti and her responses to understand the ambience of this hotel.

I am truly astonished at all the glowing reviews. Yes, this is not a 4 star hotel, it is barely a 3 star hotel. The rooms (Tara Suites) are fine, but pedestrian. The food is not very good and the service is extremely slow. Some of the employees are really excellent and friendly while others follow the example of Deborah. We waited 30 minutes after ordering a hamburger and chicken sandwich and had to leave for the airport. When we explained our situation to the server the response was that hamburgers take a long time to cook. No apology.

All this could be somewhat forgiven if the beach and other facilities were topnotch. But, the chaise loungers on the beach are truly uncomfortable and people are allowed to get towels at 7am, claim the best spots, and not show up until 11am. The pool is tiny, there are no hot tubs, the restaurant chairs are uncomfortable, and the bar is rather boring. (Breakfast was adequate.)

Maybe it was the timing, but there were red flags at the beach the entire time we were there and people were warned not to enter the water. The water at the High Rise section of Aruba was incredibly calm and beautiful. Further, there are some really fine independent restaurants in the High Rise area while the restaurants near the Bucuti are all part of other hotels and are generally pretty bad.

Again, I am at a total loss as to why people rate this hotel so highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewaldbiemans, Manager at Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Manager Deborah Dintelman, In reply to “ why do people like this resort...?”

I am despondent and distressed from reading your posting on the Trip Advisor.    Please accept my sincere apology if my conduct at your departure was inappropriate and offended you.   It was my intention to thank you for staying with us and to find out why you looked unhappy, but never to offend you. I customarily welcome all arriving guests and try to say goodbye to all departing guests as well.

I understand that just prior to our conversation you left the restaurant without eating because of a 30 minute wait for your lunch and the need to get to the airport.   Our 8 oz hamburgers are made to order and in order for us to be sure that you have a well cooked burger it take 20 minutes to grill.   I apologize for the fact that our server did not inform you of this when you ordered the hamburger.
This will be addressed with our team so that we can better inform our guest. We appreciate your bringing this to our attention.

I need to also apologize for the uncomfortable beach loungers that you mentioned.  We recently received all new beach loungers and ordered cushions from a different supplier as the vendor for the loungers does not provide cushions.  The cushion arrived separately and are currently at customs waiting to be released later this week.   

The restaurant on our beach along with the Sandbar is scheduled
for a complete renovation this summer and will be replaced with a
contemporary facility for our future guests to enjoy.    I hope that you will return and allow me to show you our new facility and to allow me to apologize in person.

Sincerely,

Deborah Dintelman

Resort Manager
Manager@Bucuti.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I spent six wonderful nights in a Tara Suite at Bucuti at the end of April 2012. We had never been to Aruba and were looking for a quiet, adult only resort with a beautiful beach and safe environment. Our travel agent, Jennifer Doncsecz of VIP Vacations, has never failed to find us the perfect place to meet our needs, and she hit the mark again with Bucuti!

From the moment we arrived at Bucuti, we were warmly welcomed by Peter who took our luggage and showed us to our room. He made us feel as if we were special guests and not just nameless faces he needed to schlep to their room and repeat the usual routine. In fact, all the staff members we encountered during our stay seemed genuinely happy to be a part of such an amazing resort. While I don’t recall his name, there was one gentleman that set up the red flags on the beach in the morning that had a perpetual smile that could brighten anyone’s day. He could very easily be the happiest person we encountered on the already happy island!

The Tara suite was beautiful, well maintained, and exceeded our expectations. While we could have just as easily been happy with a garden view room since the beach is only steps away, the oceanfront view from the suite was worth the extra expense.

We appreciated the complimentary breakfast and the option to dine either oceanfront or in the comfort of the Tara Lounge. We ate most of our breakfasts in the lounge however just to avoid the hungry birds waiting to swoop down and grab any unattended food outside at the Pirates Nest. It was entertaining but not all that sanitary (no fault to the resort, but a bit disappointing that eating outside was not the best option).

Bucuti is not for someone that wants to experience an upbeat party atmosphere, or someone that expects nightly entertainment or constant scheduled activities. The high rise area is clearly the better option for that kind of vacation. Bucuti is for people that want to experience the serenity of a Caribbean paradise as it should be experienced - lounging on the soft white sands of Eagle Beach, warm trade winds caressing your face, and the soft sound of lapping waves from the azure ocean in the distance. If I close my eyes and concentrate hard enough, I can almost transport myself there now. Oh wait…I’m still in snowy Pennsylvania. But based on our perfect experience in Aruban paradise, we will be back at Bucuti soon enough!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chrilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

we spent 7days in the Tara suites in February. The staff were very friendly and always had a smile. It was good to have the actual owners on the property every day and they genuinly wanted feedback from every guest. First class!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well, I'll try this again. I tried to write this yesterday - or the day before - you lose track of time here. I am not sure the first one got through, but Bucuti & Tara is worth the effort the 2nd time just in case my first writting did not go through.

My wife and I have had the privalege to visit several of the Caribbean Islands and we have enjoyed each of them. Although Aruba is not quite as senic as some of the other islands it is a beautiful place and the beaches and water are unsurpassed. The people of Aruba are the friendlist that we have met in any of our travels, and they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. If you are from America you will find that Aruba is European enough to make you feel like you are in another country, but American enough that you are in no way uncomfortable.

We selected Bucuti and Tara because of trip advisor and they have hit a home run on this one. I cannot imagine a better place to stay on this Island. Bucuti Tara is absolutely beautiful, absolutely well ran, absolutely clean. The beach is wonderful and not crowded and unlike the high rise area you do not have to get up at the break of dawn to get a beach chair - there is ample for all, and what else is nice they are spaced so that you are not two feet from your neighbor. The pool is not huge, but this is an adult only resort and it is never too crowded.

The entire staff never misses an opportunity to smile and say hello in any of the 4 languages that are common on Aruba. We have already made our reservation for next year which is something that we have never done before - we were very impressed with this beautiful, friendly, peaceful resort. Unless you are a fan of big hotels and big crowds Bucuti & Tara is the place on Aruba that you should definately consider.

ARUBA - ONE HAPPY ISLAND
BUCUTI & TARA - ONE FANTASTIC RESORT

Room Tip: If you book far enough in advance and care to spend a little extra they have 4 penthouse suites whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

it is our first time to Aruba and love the climate, We stayed in the Bucuti, and the hotel is clean comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful. Beach is second to none, free sunbeds for guests, although there is the usual towel saving beach lounges, (supposingly adults) who must save towels from night before to get up at the dead of night to claim their real estate for the day, half the time the seats are sat empty.Food in hotel and surrounding area is excellent, with plenty of choice. A little gem of a 9 hole golf course at Divi resort with good equipment to hire, also excellent restaurant called Windows at Aruba, at the golf course.Bucuti is in the low rise district, its so much more relaxed, than the high rise district, this area is wall to wall sunbeds on the beach, whereas low rise there is loads of space on the beach, its lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroleAnnek57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba

Property: Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 55 B, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-only, romantic resort, located on Aruba's spacious and beautiful Eagle Beach, is award-winning and owner-operated. The 4-star and 4-diamond resort receives high satisfaction ratings and recognition that includes #1 Hotel for Romance in the Caribbean 2017, Top 3 Beach Destinations in the World, Conde Nast Gold List, and Green Globe High Achievement Award. Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort is eco-friendly and offers a tranquil boutique experience with friendly service. The intimate atmosphere is exclusive and relaxing to couples seeking tranquility and romantic experiences. No groups and no all-inclusive packages available. Two top restaurants available on property and romantic beach dining. Breakfast is free daily.Resort's website offers you the Best Available Rate including all taxes and fees, free breakfast and free WiFi. (Not all-inclusive) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucuti And Tara Beach Resorts Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Bucuti Beach Hotel
Golden Tulip Palm Eagle Beach
Golden Tulip Oranjestad
Aruba Bucuti Resort
Bucuti Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing