We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vacation ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We never heard of this place, nor did anyone else. Read the reviews and the travel agent recommended it. When we arrived we heard other guests greates by welcome back. So many people come back year to year. We can understand why and didn't want to leave. Beach was spectactular! You didn't have to get up early to get a spot on the beach under an umbrella. Tara rooms were beautiful. Beat of all no kids! Great breakfast included. Everyone was so friendly. The gym wasn't what we expected, not air conditioned and dark. This was the only negative, which we heard they are changing and air conditioning. It's 10 minute cab ride to the high rise area hotels and action. Glad we didn't stay there. It reminded me of Las Vegas, no personal attention,crowed, hundreds of people on the beach. We ate at ther restaurants there and walked around. We prefer the low rise area for a real vacation. The bucatini reccomended a diving place that was very safe and gave us personal attention. We had 2 people on the dive. 15 dollar cab ride to the golf course and a walk over to the 9 hole course. Casino within walking distance. Staff reccomended excellent restaurants! We had dinner at the hotel restutant and the food was GREAT! we were also 5 minutes from downtown upscale shopping. Very romantic with weddings on the beach, and we can see why. We can't wait to return next year, and already called the travel agent.

Room Tip: Stay in the Tara part. Your room looks at the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,667
    456
    111
    45
    26
See reviews for
124
3,616
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I found the rooms of this hotel to be quite dark and gloomy but it was a wonderful beach setting. Lots of sunbeds, a great outdoor restaurant for breakfast and an amazing outdoor beach bar to watch the sunset every night. Very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Our first vacation to the island of Aruba and the Bucuti &Tara exceeded our expectations in every way. Not only were we met with warm greetings from a genuinely caring staff, our spacious suite (Tara 336) had unsurpassed views of Eagle Beach and the beautiful Caribbean beyond. Our every need was met by their gracious staff, including Anki, Mario, Tracy Ann, Fabian, Althea, Marguerita, Anel, Nancy and Robert. We would highly recommend this resort for any special occasion or ultimate romantic escape!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DCB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Bucuti was exactly as the reviews have described - do NOT stay at the high rises, this place is perfect. The beach here is larger, there is a smaller and more mature crowd, and the beach side drink service was perfect.

Rooms: We stayed in an even-numbered room in the Bucuti wing (so we had a garden view and not a parking lot view). The view was fantastic, the room was always clean, we did not feel like they were missing any amenities. There were no humidity problems and our dehumidifier was not bothersome whatsoever.

Beach: Large, well-groomed, Travel Channel water color :) - as an aside it's hard to pick between time at the pool and time on the beach. You do have to get up early for a front-row palapa, but on two days we were able to move up around noon when older couples headed back to their rooms.

Service: Exceptional the entire trip, special thanks to Gregg at the Sand Bar, Orville on the beach, and Donald at the Pirate's Nest for making our honeymoon exceptional. In addition, the concierge desk was very helpful as well.

The price was competitive with many of the all-inclusives when comparing the Bucuti wing to the middle or upper-middle tier rooms at these resorts. This includes the significant damage we did at happy hour everyday.

ADVICE:
- Bucuti wing even numbers on the higher floors has a good view
- Make the most of happy-hour, drinks can be pricey otherwise - our favorites were long islands and mojitos, as well as the sugary frozen drinks on their menu. We spent most of our happy hours on the lounge chairs on the deck facing the sunset.
- The environmental thing wasn't that bothersome, the humidity wasn't that bothersome
- The birds at breakfast are still an issue - just eat the Tara lobby breakfast, quiet and air conditioned, you'll be outside the rest of the day
- Don't do the dine around program, the Pirate's Nest is good not great. Our moonlight dinner on the beach was so-so, go to Passions instead (you can walk down the beach). Screaming Eagle was good not great. For some less expensive dinners we did Ellioti's (average italian), Pizza Bob's (surprisingly good pizza), and a good bit of the people we met went to the nearby market to grab a whole chicken one night.
- The local market sells cheaper alcohol and beer for your beach days, the 20$ beer buckets can add up from the Sand Bar.
- You do not need to rent a car, all of the excursions pick you up and cabs are cheap in Aruba (6$ to Passions or Screaming Eagle, 24$ to the airport)
- We ate at Ellioti's and Pizza Bob's(across the street), Passions (walking), Screaming Eagle (walking), Pirate's Nest (on-site)
- The excursions really made our vacation memorable, don't do one everyday but 1-3 excursions for a one week vacation was perfect. We did Antilla Snorkeling with Red Sail, the drunk bus (Kuku Kunnuku I think, don't do this unless you like to dance but very good for people that start to move after one or two drinks), and horseback riding with Rancho Notorious (amazing, the countryside is a must see).
-For nightlife we did Alhambra (not great but cleaner and newer than older reviews suggested) and the drunk bus excursion - wish we had done Sopranos (10$ cab) and Fusion wine bar (walking)
- The on-site spa was average, wish we had saved that money for happy hour :)

Room Tip: Even numbered Bucuti wing, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Devon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Bucuti for the 2nd time for 5 days in April 2011. Bucuti continues to exceed expectations. Our room was on the 1st floor of the main building – not the Tara Suites. We has asked for a 1st floor room near the beach with a king size bed and Bucuti was able to accommodate us. The room was immaculate. We were only steps from the beach and could access the beach directly from the patio. The included full breakfast every morning had a wide selection, and eating on the deck of the Pirates Nest before the heat of the day was spectacular. One of Bucuti’s advantages is that the beach is large relative to the size of the hotel and palapas were always available no matter what time of the day we arrived on the beach. Being fair skinned, the availability of shady palapas is critical to me . Availability of shade on the beach can be a big problem at other resorts: if this is important to you be sure to ask the question if you are thinking of booking somewhere else. Although Bucuti itself is quiet, the desk staff was helpful with advice on excursions that matched our interest. We booked a snorkeling trip through the desk and the shuttle picked us up right at the hotel lobby. Upon check in, guests are offered the use of a tablet Computer or netbook (I can’t remember which and not sure I know the difference). This saved us from lugging our own laptop all the way down from the states. We like to keep in touch with family, check weather, and local events, so we used the computer every day. Despite other choices, most dinners were on the deck at Pirates Nest. The food was excellent and the setting could not have been nicer, right near the water watching a spectacular sunset every night. Later, we would sit in the lounge chairs on the deck and just mellow out in the cool breezes. The deck at the Pirates nest also has excellent retractable shade, so lunchtime outdoor dining is very comfortable. The staff at Bucuti is universally friendly and accommodating. They were a joy to interact with and we praised several of them to management at the end of our stay.
This was our 2nd stay at Bucuti and our 2nd trip to Aruba. Staying at Bucuti was a home run and we’ll definitely return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sandyandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Aruba and I chose this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. Of course, I read the negative reviews also and became a little concerned that maybe I should choose a hotel in the high rise area, but I am so glad I did not! We loved it at Bucuti and after touring the high rise area decided we would stay here again on a return trip. The beach setting was perfect with well spaced palapas that were always available. Despite others reviews we never had a problem getting one in the front row, no matter the time of day. The grounds were very well kept, we constantly saw staff cleaning. The whole resort was very quiet and peaceful. There is a high amount of return guests which says a lot!

Food: Breakfast had a great selection, friendly service and mostly was very good. I ordered lunch from a palapa, fish sandwich, and it was very good. We had a private dinner on the beach at sunset and it was good food and a very romantic setting. Happy Hour at the bar was the only time we saw a crowd at Bucuti. It could take a while to get a drink sometimes.

Room: We stayed in the Bucuti building on the top floor and I was very pleased. Not sure why all the complaints about the dehumidifier, ours was on the whole time and I never noticed it. I liked the decor and had no problem with the bathroom products as some have complained about.

Service: Very pleased! Most were very friendly. I like that they left you alone but if you asked for something, they seemed more than happy to help. The owner thanked us as we were checking out and was inquiring about any improvements we could suggest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DRF1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We celebrated our Wedding Anniversary and enjoyed the beach. Beautiful sunsets!! The service was so friendly we left feeling like we left family. We are already planning our return visit next year This is an excellent hotel for couples that do not want all the hassle of a crowded beach. If you want peace, relaxation, and a natural environment this is an excellent choice. If you want all the action such as Casinos, water sports, fancy pools and lots of noise the high rise hotels may be a better choice for you.

Room Tip: Select Deluxe or Tara Suites for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard-Cindy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
2.2 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba

Property: Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 55 B, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-only, romantic resort, located on Aruba's spacious and beautiful Eagle Beach, is award-winning and owner-operated. The 4-star and 4-diamond resort receives high satisfaction ratings and recognition that includes #1 Hotel for Romance in the Caribbean 2017, Top 3 Beach Destinations in the World, Conde Nast Gold List, and Green Globe High Achievement Award. Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort is eco-friendly and offers a tranquil boutique experience with friendly service. The intimate atmosphere is exclusive and relaxing to couples seeking tranquility and romantic experiences. No groups and no all-inclusive packages available. Two top restaurants available on property and romantic beach dining. Breakfast is free daily.Resort's website offers you the Best Available Rate including all taxes and fees, free breakfast and free WiFi. (Not all-inclusive) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucuti And Tara Beach Resorts Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Bucuti Beach Hotel
Golden Tulip Palm Eagle Beach
Golden Tulip Oranjestad
Aruba Bucuti Resort
Bucuti Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing