We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was a getaway vacation for us. Usually our default island vacations are the out islands of the Bahamas, but our timing required us to find something outside the hurricane belt. So Aruba was our choice. Based on our personal preferences, our travel agent recommended Bucuti.

Basically we wanted a small quiet place (no kids clubs, swingles partying or mega hotels with 300 rooms) with a nice beach and good service. Bucuti was perfect: It's small, on a beautiful beach and the service is excellent. Best of all it's a quiet little oasis on an island that is jammed with tourists. Staff is mostly European and native Arubian, all very well trained and attentive to guest needs. We stayed in the regular hotel, paid for an ocean view (just our preference, the garden rooms are all very nice as well) and were able to unwind. The hotel is convenient to downtown if you need that sort of thing and there were many good restaurants nearby. Overall amenities are very nice, the hotel and grounds are immaculate. The staff is as visible as you want them to be, attentive to detail and very helpful. The on-premise restaurant is very good, and the included breakfast buffet in the morning offers something for everybody. You won't be disappointed.

The guests tend to be newly weds or older travelers like us looking for peace and quiet. The presence of the newly weds is enjoyable: they spend all their time kissing and hugging or cuddling on the beach. Very cute. The older couples seem to be content to enjoy the weather, the sun and the beach side bar.

The only caution we would offer is watch out for the sun. Sun block is a must and don't be afraid to sit under the palm tree umbrellas.

Also, Bucuti is a no-cash resort. You must either pre-pay or use a credit card. The only place that accepts cash is the lobby store. We generally always pay cash to avoid the big credit card bill at the end of the month, but this was a minor issue.

Otherwise, Bucuti will delight you. We plan to return

Room Tip: Ocean and garden views in the main hotel are fine. Suites available, but in looking them over it do...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HViens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,579)
There are newer reviews for Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,001 - 3,007 of 4,579 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I came here on our honeymoon. We were immediately welcomed at Bucuti with smiles, kindness and champagne! From the front desk to the cleaning staff everyone is so happy and courteous and you can tell that the guests are their #1 priority. The resort itself was the nicest, cleanest, and quietest one we visited. If you want relaxation this is the place to be. The beach, by far, was the softest, cleanest and calmest of the whole island and we went to several! I love how much they recycle and they are very EARTH FRIENDLY. The resort is away from the loud and rowdy crowds, but be ready to pay the price, as it is very expensive and the rooms are not that impressive, but compared to the rest of the island, Bucuti by far exceeds them all!! The breakfast they offer daily, which is included with the room, is wonderful; lots of variety.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueskies33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This place was rated as a 5 star resort. I can't see that as the first time we used the toilet it overflowed. We had the foresight to turn the water off and saved the hotel hundreds of dollars in damages. They charged us for an item on the mini bar that we never used and I called them about if yet they still charged us. While this was not a lot of money, it was still a poor reflection of the resort. They had birds that picked at the breakfast in the Pirates Nest which was gross. They had a traveling staff that was there temporarily and could not answer questions. They provided no transportation from the airport. The room was expensive for the value. The spa was somewhat disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank girlingtonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewaldbiemans, Owner at Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2011

IN reply to "Never Again" from Ewald Biemans, Owner

First an apology is in order for the following reasons:

Your minibar charge should have been removed that samet day ( right there and then)and not on the 27th when you finally got notified of the adjustment - we apologize and have taken corrective action on this so that is should not happen in the future. We take full responsibility but need to clarify that "the traveling staff" was an" intern" training here from a University in Holland, who had not been trained properly and obviously did not realize the seriousness of this. Our most sincerest apology also from Mandy and the entire staff at our Front Desk.

The Toilet float was fixed right there and then, and should not have created any further inconveniences to you according to our maintenance log book /record. We thank you for turning off the water valve and saving precious distilled ( from the ) sea water.

I would like to debunk some misconceptions for the benefit of future travelers who may be reading your review.

As hotels we are not allowed to pick up or deliver guests to and from the airport nor can we provide any means of transportation to and from town - transportation services are rendered by taxi or tour bus or a limo with transportation permits and against pay. We clearly state so in our FAQuestions on our website and printed literature.

We are not categorized as a FIve Star resort - we are and clearly state so in all our literature and website info as a FOUR STAR property . Tripadvisor and other guest review sites all state the same four star qualification.

You had a choice of two breakfast venues - the Tara Lounge, which is air-conditioned and has NO birds or our outdoor restaurant which is frequented by guest who love the outdoors and ( in most cases) the birds. We agree - they (the birds) are a nuisance but unfortunately we have no way to control them - the one time we tried we got into hot water with our guest who love animals and nature .

Aruba is a bit more expensive then similar resort areas in the US mainland- we ship or fly in all our supplies purchased in the US and at US prices - add the cost of transportation - import duties and the local supplier margins and voila'. Aruba has no agriculture, no farming, no natural water and therefore we need to import our entire supply from toothpick to..... you name it.
WE establish our rates on that basis and add breakfast and taxes and wifi and internet and admit that we are not the cheapest deal in town but charge what is required to say in business.

We do hope you accept our apologies for the shortcomings you experienced and that these will not hinder you from visiting Aruba again in the future.

Respectfully ,

Ewald Biemans
Owner
Biemans@bucuti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Bucutti is one of my most favorite hotels. I have traveled all over the world and you could not ask for more here. We stayed in the penthouse. The view was spectacular.
The hotel staff is so nice and was always willing to help. I loved the cabanas on the beach that were reserved for the penthouses. It was a really nice touch. The room was very nice. Comfortable. Breakfast was included and was very good. There was a lot to choose from. The beach never seemed crowded. It was a beautiful stretch of beach. I also liked that there were plenty of restaurants in walking distance. We didnt need a car. I will be going to the Bucutti again for sure.

Room Tip: Reserve a penthouse. Totally worth the costs
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ravensfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The wedding we attended that the staff of Bucuti & Tara planned and managed was flawless. The Eagle Beach setting, food and beverages, and the arrangements were all excellent. This beach, as a location for a wedding, we would select over Palm Beach; as it is more private.

We did not stay at Bucuti & Tara because of the number of people that needed to be in our room but we did want to complement the staff there and those that assisted in the wedding ceremony. You made the wedding a most enjoyable occasion.

One suggestion that would enhance the opportunity for dancing could be a temporary wooden floor set in the sand.

We are sure we will return to Aruba in the future: wonderful beaches, friendly people, and terrific food. (We loved our welcome dinner for all in the wedding party that was at the Papliion Restaurant. Just great food and wonderful staff.)

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank FirstTimeinAruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Bucuti for 9 nights for our honeymoon and it surpassed even my high expectations. From the moment we arrived to be greeted by a champagne reception and very helpful staff, we knew we had picked the right place.

The setting for the Bucuti is very impressive. The grounds are lovely and we saw gardeners working daily to maintain them. Everywhere is clean and welcoming throughout the hotel, especially the Tara Suites. Our room was very spacious, had brand new furniture, an extremely comfortable king size bed and a balcony. The view of the sunset from the balcony was amazing and something we will never forget, although mostly we enjoyed the view whilst on the beach.

The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was of a very high standard. We had minor problems with a leaking AC vent and a faulty telephone. Both problems were fixed within 30 minutes of reporting them. When it came to asking for local advice, booking excursions or reserving a table at a restaurant, the front desk and concierge staff were very helpful, particularly Mary-Ann.

Breakfast is served from 7-10am in the Tara Lounge and 7-11am in the Pirate's Nest. I have to say we never used the Tara Lounge but it seemed busy and very pleasant. We ate everyone morning in the Pirate's Nest. We loved the fact that we could eat almost on the beach and only 10 metres from the sea! The food was of a good standard with so much choice we often skipped lunch as we had eaten so much...the cook makes fantastic omelettes! We never had an issue with the birds outside - we love nature so we were expecting to see birds. Obviously if you leave a tray with food on, then the birds will have a nibble. We solved this by taking it in turns to return inside to the food! We never had dinner in the Pirate's Nest but the setting was lovely with either the sunset to wow you or the lovely fairy lights and torches after dark.

A good beach is important to us even though we only spend a couple of hours a day on it - the beach was incredible and the best I have ever seen. White, soft sand, plenty of palapas and sunbeds, good food and drink service by way of a red flag system and fairytale clear, calm sea. The common occurrence of diving pelicans just added to the atmosphere. It is important to note that the beach here is never busy and there are few children around even though all of Aruba's beaches are public. If you like busy beaches with lots of children and watersports, then the high rise area a couple of miles to the north is for you...

We never had one bad meal in 9 nights and the standard and value of the restaurants is very high. There are several local ones including Gianni's, The French Steakhouse and Pizza Bobs, and slightly further afield The Screaming Eagle and Passions. We would highly recommend the French Steakhouse and above all Passions. This was an amazing beach experience and if you book a table for 6.30-7pm the sunset is very romantic. In the high rise section we dined at the Tandoor (Mr Huan is a fantastic waiter) and Texas de Brazil - please go on an empty stomach as the volume and quality of the food is huge!

Excursions - we did the romantic dinner on the beach, the Antilla snorkel sail, a helicopter flight, the sunset catamaran cruise and the half day jeep tour. We enjoyed every single one and I have listed them in descending order as to how much we enjoyed them. Dinner on the beach is a must, snorkelling above a 400ft WWII German ship unforgettable and the half day jeep tour covers everything the full day does.

I apologise for such a long review but my new wife and I had an amazing time in Aruba and at the Bucuti. We would highly recommend to anyone and we will definately return.

Room Tip: We highly recommend staying in a Tara Suite. The rooms are of a high standard and spacious. They fac...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ross_Payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was our first time in Aruba and friends of ours suggested Bucuti for our honeymoon (they had stayed for theirs). Also, all the Aruban websites recommended it. It was perfect! The service was attentive but also gave us our privacy, the pool was relaxing, the landscaping was beautiful.. and the beach! wow! This was the cleanest beach I have ever seen. White sand, light blue waters. The resort was not crowded at all and it was eco-friendly. Anytime we went on excursions or to restaurants the concierge was happy to make reservations or get more information. Our honeymoon could not have been more amazing. We even saw sea turtles hatch! We are glad we did not stay in an all-inclusive since the island has many delicious restaurants like Driftwood and Madame Jeanette's.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superior Room instead of a suite so we could get an extra night... so worth it! The r...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Summrbrz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ewaldbiemans, Owner at Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Thank you - thank you!
we look forward to seeing you again.

Ewald Biemans
biemans@bucuti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,052 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,548 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba

Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 55 B, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $341 - $761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This adults-only, romantic resort, located on Aruba's spacious and beautiful Eagle Beach, is award-winning and owner-operated. The 4-star and 4-diamond resort receives high satisfaction ratings and recognition that includes #1 Hotel for Romance in the Caribbean 2017, Top 3 Beach Destinations in the World, Conde Nast Gold List, and Green Globe High Achievement Award. Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort is eco-friendly and offers a tranquil boutique experience with friendly service. The intimate atmosphere is exclusive and relaxing to couples seeking tranquility and romantic experiences. No groups and no all-inclusive packages available. Two top restaurants available on property and romantic beach dining. Breakfast is free daily.Resort's website offers you the Best Available Rate including all taxes and fees, free breakfast and free WiFi. (Not all-inclusive) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucuti And Tara Beach Resorts Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resorts Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Bucuti Beach Hotel
Golden Tulip Palm Eagle Beach
Golden Tulip Oranjestad
Aruba Bucuti Resort
Bucuti Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing