We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing lazy river ride!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014

I loved the Marriott. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The pool was amazing! Frozen drinks were outstanding. Only problem was that chairs are reserved so early in the morning that by 9, there is nowhere to sit. Half of the reserved chairs are never sat in and the rest of the guests give up. Really bad idea. Most frustrating comment was NO CHAIRS AGAIN? Management had best address this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank shopaholic2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 2,823 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Marriott property is beautiful. Pool area is great but if you dont get up at 6am you arent sitting there. Same with beach palapas. Actually got down to rental hut at 530 am one day( opens at 7am) and still had 5 people in front of me. Also noticed that people will have one person get down early and than have friends meet up with them later and basically cut in line. The beach is terrible. There really isnt even sand. Its like gravel and rocks. Water is murky but thats probably from the 800 people in the water drinking and well you know. It was so crowded in water one day it looked like one giant raft in the water with everyone on it. The funny thing is you can walk 50 feet to the left in front of Holiday Inn and go on water there and theres like 10 people there and its so much nicer. Also had issue with check- in. Our room wasnt ready at 3:30 pm which was fine. Check in is 4pm. So waited in long line and at 4:30 got up to room to find housekeeping in room cleaning. So than Im told to give them 25 minutes. So now were standing in hallway with the baggage guy waiting for room to get cleaned. Guaranteed 4pm check-in I dont think so. Than the next day I went to use my key and it wouldnt work and my wife left other key in room. So waited in line for about 30 minutes and woman at desk said my key was for a different room. She than wouldnt issue new key without ID which was locked in my room. I had to wait for security to open my door than show him ID than go back downstairs and wait another 30 minutes on line. In total I spent about 2 hrs on this ordeal. It may seem like nothing to the GIANT MARRIOTT EMPIRE but myself like most hardworking people cherish every minute of my vacations and for the money they charge for everything this was unacceptable. And the best is going for their timeshare presentation and telling the salesman all these issues and still trying to sell me a $30,000 week. REALLY. Marriott cares about one thing. MONEY. This is why they have 4 properties on Palm Beach. All I know is they arent getting a dime of my hard earned cash anymore and I suggest everyone do the same. I will say that the activities staff was awesome. Kids club awesome. Last thing stay away from Marketplace. Honestly everything is double the price. Bottle of water $2.50. Same bottle at Holiday Inn next door $1.25. Cmon Mr. Marriott dont you have enough money.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank mike081376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review with us Mike. We sincerely apologize your recent visit did not live up to your expectations and would like to speak with you regarding your stay. Please email us at customer.care@vacationclub.com with your preferred method of contact and include your TripAdvisor Username. As an alternative, you may reach us directly by calling 800-860-9384. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Pros-

Great pools, lazy river, slide, fun for kids.
Beautiful grounds
Nice staff

Cons-
Most crowded hectic beach in Arbus
Constant boat traffic in and out for water sports
Most of the chairs are tagged by 8am.
Rooms are smaller when comparing to other timeshares in Aruba. Lockout is tiny. (Ok for 2 not more)


Over-all very nice.

There are less expensive equally nice options. Paying for Marriott name.

Room Tip: Ask for near elevator core or it can be a very long walk to your room as the buildings are large..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brucerap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

While the beach is spectacular the resort itself is way too crowded. If you like the thought of waking up at 7 am to stake out a spot by the pool, you will like this hotel. If you want to wait on long lines at 4 pm to get an umbrella on the beach , this place is for you. If you want to spend every hard earned dollar at the store ($18 for a box of rice crispies, $8 for a quart of milk) this is defiantly your spot. If you like being told one thing about charges and billed another, guarding your towels to avoid a $15 charge or hanging inn with more NYers than you would find in Times Square than you will most definitely love this place. On a more positive note the rooms are nice and maintained

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Ebb55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2014

Thank you for your review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club. We are sorry to hear your recent visit did not exceed your expectations due to the pool chair policy and pricing. Your comments will be shared with the resort leadership team as we continually evaluate our policies to meet the needs of our owners & guests. Thank you again for your review and for visiting us in Aruba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 8/16-8/23. Overall had a great experience. We brought our 4 children ages 10, 12, 14 and 16. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. This was perfect for our family.

Here are some tips:

- go to Ling and Sons and buy your groceries. We ate breakfast and lunch in our unit. Saves a lot of money!!

- we did not rent a car and it was the right decision. We could walk places for dinner. Car rental was very expensive for a family of 6.

- if you want drinks at the pool Happy Hour is everyday from 3-6 pm. 2 cocktails for $15 or 2 virgin drinks for $10.

- tagging pool chairs is the one negative about this place. You can start tagging at 7:00 but everyone gets there by 6:30 and starts sitting on chairs. Really annoying to spend your vacations worrying about getting up at the crack of dawn to get pool seats. Beach is the same issue. We tended to used the pool later in the day and go to the beach around 4:30.

- lots of good restaurants that are more affordable if you leave the resort.

- buy your alcohol and make your own drinks to save a ton of $$

- this is a timeshare...it's not a romantic quiet resort. We knew that going in. My husband and I would never stay here if it was just the 2 of us. This place is perfect for families.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is my 3rd trip to Aruba. The Marriott is by far the nicest Resort. We stayed at La Cabana (Mid-rise) and Reniassance (Downtown) Stayed in a 1 Bedroom Villa. Room was very nice had a private bedroom and a living room with a pullout. Also had a nice kitchen, dinning room and washer and drier. The Resort is very clean and workers are all very friendly. Beach is nice. Pools are very big and kids enjoyed the Lazy River. After staying in the High rise area I would never stay anywhere else. 20 years ago there was no night life now there is plenty to do at night. Stay at the Surf Club you will Love it! Also make sure you visit Gostoso downtown Great Food always nice when the owner is hands on. You can also never go wrong with El Gaucho or Madame Janette. If you would like a cheaper good family meal try Casa Tua or Bugaloe Beach Bar on the pier by the Radisson. If you would like to go on an excursion go on the Jolly Pirates. Last thing I would recommend is renting Quads or Razors from Georges Cycles.
You can circle the island and see the sights on your own pace. It's easy and more fun. We had two Families and we rented 2 Quads and 2 Razors and the kids loved it. George himself will pick you up! Have Fun

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVilleJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We just came back from Aruba after staying for 8 days with family at Marriott's Surf Club. Overall, we all had a great experience. We stayed in the Spy Glass building and the view from our Villa was outstanding. We were very comfortable in a 2 BR, 2 bath, living room with full kitchen villa. Everything inside the villa was fantastic. The wi-fi speed was also excellent. This resort is more suitable for families as they offer many kids friendly activities. If you are looking for a quite atmosphere, try the Marriott Ocean Club which is adjacent to the Surf Club and much more beautiful. We really enjoyed going to market in the evening. The market is just 5 minutes walk from the the Surf Club. The staff at the resort is very friendly and ready to take care of your needs.

Room Tip: High floor in the Spy Glass tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Visit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,227 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,655 reviews
3.9 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $330 - $757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing