We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lighthouse tower with pool view is where to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lighthouse tower with pool view is where to stay.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

It was our first trip to Aruba. We arrived with our 17 month old son. They thought of everything, they had a high chair and a pack and play in the room for us. It's very family friendly, so easy to get to the pool from the room. They have a kiddie pool separate from the regular pool. And if your not traveling with kids they have the adults only serinity pool. The beach is close and conveniate and also one of the best beaches on the island with plenty to do on the beach. Overall 4.5 out of 5 stars.

The setup is better than St. Thomas but the water on the beach isn't as clear.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landonsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    901
    274
    120
    72
See reviews for
1,277
852
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to Aruba the week before Christmas 2012 and were surprised, after all the stories of having to get up at 5AM to reserve your pool or beach location, that it was somewhat quiet and less occupied than expected. We never had an issue finding a place to to sit or lounge at either the beach or pool.

The location of the resort is great, as said, It has both a beach with many activities - jet skis, paddle boats, boating excursions, etc. - and 3 pools and a lazy river. Th only downside of the lazy river is that you must purchase your own floatation devices/tubes (or bring them with you). Relatively inexpensive ones are available at the on-site convenience store. Alternatively, people checking out sometimes leave theirs behind intentionally and you can snatch these up. These areas are very vlean and always have staff c, especially cocktail waiters, circulating. the staff is very congenial and willing to chat and share info about themselves and Aruba.

The room we stayed in was small for three adults to share. It was the studio side of the resort's 2 bedroom lock-off units. Despite bumping into each other continually, the view from the balcony was grand and there was always a warm breeze to refresh you. The room was clean and well appointed with a queen bed, pull-out sofa, TV, small refrigerator, microwave and sink. Room service is available even though this is a timeshare property. It was very prompt.

Dining at the resort is pretty good. Most is available at the adjacent Marriott Aruba Beach Club - just a quick 5 minute walk around the property. There is a Champion's sports grill ( a chain common to Marriott), a seafood restaurant, Ruth Chris Steak house and an Italian buffet style restaurant. The buffet was very good with many choices (from pizza to polenta) that were all tasty. Champion's is pretty run of the mill, but ok for a hamburger or chicken tenders and fries, Ruth Chris is another chain restaurant and is a bit less casual and more expensive. My husband did not enjoy his steak and potato. I had a shrimp dish that was very good and the crab cakes were excellent.

There are many other dining options, just a short and inexpensive cab ride away. We had a good and inexpensive meal at the Hard Rock cafe and an excellent meal at El Gaucho (an Argentine steakhouse).

The resort has excellent concierge services that will help with most activities, tours and dinner reservations. They will not help with diving, jet-ski horseback riding etc. because they consider these high risk and do not want to assume liability. They do, however, have brochures for these activities so you may arrange for them yourself.

There is a Casino at the Beach Club which is a godd occasional diversion. It is small, but offers most games.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will likely return, but only if a larger unit is available. Next time we would also dine at more locations off- resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilytravelerMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a horrible horrible place. Service is bad staff poorly trained the palapas disaster is just that a disaster. The property actually smells of feces. It's gross. There selling point is there lazy river otherwise known as the river of urine. The rooms are run down. We are in building 9. It never sees the light of day, which coming from the north is part of the reason I'm here. They don't care because they're full and you can pound sand. Avoid like the plague cause that is what this is, a plague.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PlcOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I am not sure what motivated your comments as we have never had someone complain about the issues you described and they are simply not true. If you have an issue with your resort stay, please feel free to contact our customer care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We would be happy to appropriately address any concerns or complaints you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We FINALLY got to exchange a week somewhere we wanted to go, and I was prepared to be happy with whatever we got but I didn't expect to get much. We got the surf club, and I poured over all the reviews taking note that the surf club was about mid way in the ratings for hotels in Aruba. I also went prepared (as an exchanging non owner) to be in a cruddy spot etc. First of all, we just missed "hell week" thank goodness, because I heard some first hand accounts of how bad it is when you are there during that week. Secondly, we got a lovely room on the 4th floor, not in the Lighthouse Tower but the next one in. We overlooked the lazy river and had ocean view, NEVER had any issues with noise, and had an awesome view. We were in the studio, but that was enough to allow us to make a little lunch each day and keep our snacks etc. We LOVED the Surf Club. I'd say we travel a fair bit and have been to Hawaii numerous times, all over Mexico and the Carribbean. LOVED IT! We thought the Surf Club just perfect. The staff was outstanding, everyone friendly as can be. We were there for relaxation so spent most of our time at the adult pool. We brought our own drinks down to the pool in our little containers, and sunbathed, swam, visited and just thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes, as the week went on the club got progressively busier so my husband who took on the assignment of "chair reserving" had to get up earlier and earlier, but he didn't mind at all. We got the chairs we wanted each day, and would come up for lunch but if we were leaving for more than 2 hours we were courteous and gave up our chairs. I noticed most everyone did that. And the morning "chair reserving" process became a social time anyway! We actually worked out several days while there - they have a wonderful little workout room. Not really "little" by hotel standards. The time share folks do NOT drive you crazy to do a presentation. There is no restaurant (unless you go over to Ocean Club or eat at pool) but we had our supplies in our room and were busy trying all the wonderful restaurants in Aruba for dinner. We did not bring floaties as we didn't want to pack them with us - but they were reasonably priced in the gift shop. Then people leave them behind for others, like we did. In fact there are quite a few supplies in the gift shop, and a deli - and I thought the prices very reasonable for this type of thing. We did learn that Super Foods is not the place to go - you will probably be happier at Ling and Sons. We saw someone with these cool "Clippies" to keep their towels from coming loose on the pool chairs - and those were well worth purchasing (they had them in the gift shop) as the winds do blow every day. I'd probably pack a few little spices with me next time, and my own coffee supplies. Had a misunderstanding on maid service, but easily got it straightened out. The river was fun to float, even at evening. It was 86 degrees with a little wind every single day; no rain. It rained a bit during the night twice I think. In general, Aruba is not an easy place to find "fine wine", so you will find it is also fairly expensive in restaurants. We enjoyed Texas De Brazil, Madame Jeanettes, Papiomento (sorry for spellings), and Flying Fishbone. I would NOT eat at the LG Smiths in the Renaissance in Oranjestad. We rented a jeep and trekked to the other side of the island, had a blast doing that. The few vendors who displayed their items at the surf club were nice, although I bought a bracelet that was not "cheap" and fell in love with it, only to have the stone fall out on my way home. And forget trying to call there from the States and get anyone to answer at the front desk :( Anyway, we met wonderful folks at the pool who had been coming for YEARS - boy I wish we had bought here way back when! We can't wait to go back, but will stay 2 weeks next time. Ignore the whiny reviews - go prepared to relax and have a good time. Don't act like you're in the States and just go with the flow.... you'll enjoy!

Room Tip: 4th floor or higher. Odd numbers face the view. Go to Ling and Sons for supplies. You'll find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Akgambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
567 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been staying in the Surf Club since it opened. Many pros and a few cons.

Pros: A lovely resort--wonderful lazy river pool, nice beach, & adult pool, beautiful and clean rooms (well thought out), Surf Club is in a great location on the island, friendly locals & staff, very safe island, no one hawking guests on the beach and not "locked in" like other beaches in Jamaica and other islands, fantastic weather every single day--85, sunny, with an island breeze, nice restaurants.

Cons: Palapas on the beach--not easy to get and not fairly distributed, stay away from Hell Week (end of January)--we've been there once or twice and will not go back that same week (scroll down to read reviews re: this), and unfortunately, we always seem to get a condo in a poor location--near the elevators and not on one of the top floors (although every year they assure us they alternate locations for owners).

All in all it is one friendly island and a beautiful place to vacation. Highest number of repeat vacationers than any other island, and I can see why.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annehassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I decided to call this resort the concrete jungle, clearly over rated. Yes pretty, but nickel and dime you for everything, and we didn't find staff to be helpful. We were stranded with the Boston blizzard and no place to stay after spending 2 weeks there and thousands later. They were no help what so ever and truly did not care. They mislead us saying not to worry we will find you a room, very upsetting. Never came through, but called the villa everyday wanting us to buy there timeshare. Jammed in like sardines on the beach. Word of advice. Pay the 40.00 per day and rent an umbrella right on the waters edge from monte. Marriott doesnt own the beach, but you can use there lounge chairs. Be careful ordering a frozen margarita 15.00 yes I said 15.00 for 1. The villa was decorated beautifully,nice to have a washer dryer but I really can't say there was anything that I would rush back to surf club for, further down the beach there were much nicer smaller resorts and allot less crowed and cheaper than 800.00 per night. I would have thought being a rewards member they would have stepped up to the plate, but they didn't. Front desk staff very rude as well, except for hank, who was always apologizing and trying to accommodate.just be aware,

Room Tip: Try and get light house tower, closer to beach, then you don't have to walk a mile
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank livingoncapecod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had the distinction of visiting Aruba during the so called "hell week" and I must say that this distinction is very inappropriate. The hotel was packed with this large group, but I found the group to be well behaved and organized. They were playing backgammon on the beach, and they all had charming Arabic accents. I went to the casino on Friday night and it was nearly empty. I did not see any underage children gambling. Our experience on the beach was very pleasant, a group on teenagers bought us a round of shots, and guests on the beach were offering food and drinks from their native country. A gentleman named Asslahn offered us a shot of this drink called "Arack" and it was delicious, tasted like black licorice with alcohol. We left Saturday afternoon and the airport was very calm. Flight home was a pleasure, and we would certainly want to come again!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Property: Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Address: 103 LG Smith Boulevard, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Surf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Surf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Surf Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Surf Hotel
Marriott Aruba Surf Club
Marriotts Aruba Surf Club
Aruba Surf Club
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriott Surf Club Aruba
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing