We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty room, check in iffy, not for me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Essex UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very dirty room, check in iffy, not for me”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Was booked into hotel for one night only by a local agency. At checkin I was told that myself and a colleague had only one room and that there were no others available. A call to the agency, Majuro (who were also not to impressive) secured us another room. My room I found to be dingy with the walls covered in spider webs and fixtures and fittings to be substandard with wobbly doorss on cupboards, bare wiring on electrical fittings and a tile floor that looked like it needed a deep scrub. I also found a ladies hair in my bed. Worse was my room was full of my nemises...... bloody mosquitoes! I hate them creatures and in spite of a sweep I was awoken by that pesky "whine" and ended with a fine selection of bites. I just felt overall that this was just a tired old hotel with not a very good location. I dont know how much it cost as charges were already covered but I hope it wasnt to much

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bewise56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    341
    180
    79
    72
See reviews for
134
432
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband just got back from a 10 day stay at Brickell bay and it was perfect . When I first booked this trip I emailed The hotel to inquire about a fridge in our room and then a few rentals companies for a jeep they could recommend I received a response in under an hour from email from Juan the owner and I knew immediately that Brickell bay was going to be great place to stay When we arrived checkin was no problem not long at all the girls at the desk ROCK ! The room was great clean and just exactly what we needed for our stay. We ordered room service from Tomato and Charlies which was very nice. The pool area is very nice and peaceful Brickell bay is doing work to add an addition attached to pool area so there is some noise but when all said and done it will be awesome looking so be a little noise for a little bit isn't that bad. Laundry room was out of order during almost our entire stay but we dropped our laundry at front desk and was done for us that same day ...perfect ! The girls at desk the two Jessica's were awesome my husband loved talking to them They assisted in any requests we asked from making dinner reservations to places to see Thank you ladies ! Joileanne from the spa is super nice and so pleasant . The spa is great $30 for a manicure and polish what a great price I could go on and on Brickell Bay is an amazing place and a great stay and the staff put it above and beyond . Keep up the great work it is appreciated. I am a picky person with vacations I love quiet ,smaller places and happy employees because you interact with these people everyday of your stay so if there not happy you probably wont want to stay there either so if a place has it all I want to be there. Brickell Bay has it all Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spirosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is clean and it is in a very good place, close to the beach, the restaurants and shops. The breakfast is great and you get a lot of food :) You get a free cocktail at the pool and some invitations for casinos nearby. The staff is very friendly but some of them are not well informed (no bus schedules, or routes)...Free wireless in common areas is great. The bad thing was that the humidity inside the room was horrible, the walls were all wet in the morning, it got better the second night after we turned the AC off.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've stayed here four times now and I have enjoyed it tremendously. My average stay is 10 days. The hotel has just made some upgrades and they are adding a few more. It is across from the strip of hotels and you have a beach access road between the Hyatt and the Occidental. Tomatoe Charlies is a great place to eat, the food is delicious. You can also visit upstairs at Hooters and down stairs at Benihana's. You are centrally located in the high rise area. You can walk almost anywhere. The bus is across the street, the mall is down the street with movie theatre and bowling alley. The staff at the Brickell Bay is courteous and they really take care of your requests. Restaurants galore around you within one to two blocks. I've told too many people about ARuba and now many are coming and sometimes I can't get a room. Shhh- don't tell anyone about this little gem of a boutique hotel...BTW- get a massage here- worth the price.

Room Tip: I like the upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank frkrknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The price of a room at Brickell Bay is one of the reasons we keep coming back. Other reasons are the clean rooms and the size of the rooms. The staff is helpful and seem content while doing their jobs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herkimer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argenis G, Manager at Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Google Translation
Gran estancia + personal = mejor precio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I am sitting here outside the lobby of BB now enjoying the Aruba sunset. This hotel is just fine for what you are paying for. I booked the trip last minute to surprise family and this was available and cheap. Now I have been to Aruba many times and stayed at the Hyatt, Raddison, Renasance etc and yes they are all gorgeous but also very expensive. Brickell was just fine for what I was looking for. Clean and comfortable and a great staff.

Pros
Price
Location
Room service
Cleanly person was terrific. Turndown service every night and always clean.

Cons
Small
Not beach front but I knew this
Little outdated but it looks like they are remodeling one side now


I am right across the street from Palm Beach. Walk across and you can sit where you like or see iTito and rent a chair and umbrella. The location is in the middle of everything in the high rise section. I can't complain. Yes if you want beach front or palapa's etc you would want to stay on that side of the beach but for a price saving hotel. I can not complain. I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the the same but I would say stay away from the street facing side of the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bostonshovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Took a Feb 4-11/2012 break from our Canadian winter at the Brickell Bay with our teenage daughter. We got an exceptional rate, probably due to the fact that Brickell Bay was undergoing renovations, fresh coat of paint etc.
Upon our arrival, the front desk was very polite and we an upper floor room with 2 double beds.
The bathroom was very nice, the beds were comfortable, but there were only a couple of draw backs to this room. One was the air conditioner blew directly over you if you slept on the closer bed, and only seemed to have a high speed. The other fact was that there was no included mini-frig , although you could arrange for one at an additional fee. The last problem was with our safety lock, that kept falling on it's own in front of the door, so our room key was unusable at times, however, my husband being a handy man fixed it temporarily. Our room and the rest of the bathrooms, pool area and hotel were kept very clean.
The major plus sides to this wonderful Oasis is that there was a wonderful quiet pool area, which gave us a complimentary first welcome drink, and aft. snacks such as frozen blueberries etc. every afternoon. They had plenty of shade with umbrellas and cabanas. This pool area was well hidden in the midst of a bustling area of Palm Beach, you would never know it was there.
This hotel also included a free breakfast at Tomato Charlies (connected to the hotel) which was very suitable to our needs. They also make wonderful pizzas!
This convenient location, although not situated directly on the beach, was a close walk to everything. There is at least 35 nearby restaurants to choose from as well as shops and nightly entertainment with dancing fountains. There is also movie theaters nearby where we were able to get 2 for 1 tickets and watch "The Vow" before it was even officially released back home! No long line ups and we were even able to enjoy a glass of wine while viewing! Where can you do that in Canada?
This hotel also had a free shuttle to the beach, but it is a very close walk, as well as having it's own reserved section on Palm Beach right by the pier and boardwalk.(although there is a fee to reserve chairs with an umbrella).
We were also able to watch the Superbowl with our feet in the sand on a screen right on the beach with a full moon overhead!
The internet is free in the hotel lobby, although not in the rooms. Our daughter, thought she was getting free WiFi on her blackberry phone and was shocked to come back to a $700 bill from Rogers! There is a phone tower next door to the Brickell, and I believe it was pulling her signal! Of course my ipod was perfectly free. :) After some struggle with Rogers, we did get the bill reduced to $200.
We were able for a couple of dollars to take a bus right in front of our hotel to downtown and go in the Renaissance Mall as well as have a view of the sunset and departing cruise ships in the harbour at THE PADDOCK
This casual open-air Dutch “eetcafé right” on Oranjestad harbor is the perfect spot for a light bite, cocktail, lunch, dinner or late night snack.
Although the Brickell Bay may not have all the resort amenities of the nearby beach front high rises, neither did it have the crowds of screaming children by the pool, or the high prices of the resort drinks and food. It also was located near grocery stores, so with our ice bucket we could buy a bottle of wine and gouda cheese to enjoy a glass of wine and cheese and crackers by the pool in the evenings, very quiet and relaxing and a compromise on the fact that none of the rooms have balconys, and we are balcony people!
Over all, the Brickell Bay was quiet, laid back, close to everything and a good bang for our buck, and we would return again if we found another deal for this establishment!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room as there is night life live music most nights and can be loud if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Blondie577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
1.8 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
843 reviews
4.4 mi away
Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club
1.5 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mill Resort & Suites Aruba
The Mill Resort & Suites Aruba
#23 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa

Property: Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd 370, Palm - Eagle Beach 12000, Aruba (Formerly the Stauffer Hotel Aruba)
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa offers a true boutique experience with FREE high-speed Wi-Fi internet in all room, FREE calling to the USA & Canada, complimentary Continental breakfast daily, turn-down service, and free business center, bell service at no extra charge. The hotel is located on the prestigious strip of Palm Beach, surrounded by over 35 top rated restaurant and world class casinos and all within 3 minute walking distance. Enjoy snow white sandy beaches across the road with beach service, and free beach lounge chairs. Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa boutique offer added value rates with all the extra amenities you will come to expect from such a unique hotel.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickell Bay Beach Club And Spa
Brickell Bay Beach Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Brickell Bay Beach Hotel Aruba
Brickell Bay Beach Palm Eagle
Brickell Bay Aruba
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing