We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful new restaurant”
Review of The Blue Lobster - CLOSED

The Blue Lobster
Price range: $0 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Live lobster is now available going from 1.5 kilo up to 4 kilo. Open for lunch 11Am serving international lunch and local authentic Aruban food at excellent prices,The international and lobster menu are also available at lunch time. January 11th 2013 we are going back to our good old prices honoring in this way our motto, which calls for "Good food" Good Service" and "Good prices". Kids menu is now available as well as a brand new international lunch menu.
PA18078
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful new restaurant”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lobster dishes very good. Salad served with oranges had too many seeds. Lobster Ragot had lots of lobster but was lacking in flavor. We will go back and give it another chance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lainies0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    120
    47
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
syracuse
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Haven't had a better lobster dish”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I went to The Blue Lobster 2 nights ago. When we ordered wine the wait staff poured a nice glass of wine. For an appetizer we ordered a shrimp cocktail - very good!! For our entre' I ordered lobster thermidor and my wife ordered the lobster linguini. We agreed that the lobster was as good as we have ever had anywhere and we travel to very nice locations frequently. We didn't order dessert, by the time we finished with dinner there was no room left. I must say that the dining experience here was wonderful. The wait staff was excellent and attentive, appetizer and dinner was great; as good as we've had anywhere. We have a home now in Aruba, close by in Palma Real and we'll be back for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kareng55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just spent 3 weeks in Aruba and thought we would try their $36 special on Saturday and Wednesdays. Read the fine print! Thought we would get appetizer, main course, dessert and bottle of wine for two. It was one bottle per table and since we were with another couple couldn't get a bottle each. Service was very slow. Had 7:30 reservation and never got out of there till after 10 pm. I don't mind leisurely dining but that was too long. I had never had Caribbean lobster, prefer cold water. I thought it didn't have a lot of flavor. Almost gave us someone else's appetizers, good thing I didn't star eating mine when it was placed in front of me. Needless to say, I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost Good”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went to the Blue Lobster tonight. Excellent lobster tail...excellent appetizer. Everyting was great until the meal was over. We waited 40 minutes for our dessert. No one came by the table, no one offerred us a drink, no one offered us a coffee. We finally said forget the dessert and just give us the bille and call us a cab . What a way to end waht could have been an excellent dining experience. We won't be back. There are so many restaurants in Aruba that offer excellent food as well as excellent service. If the Blue Lobster doesn't pick up it's game it won't be here next year.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kieran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gercast, Owner at The Blue Lobster, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear client.

First of all many thanks for having chosen The Blue lobster for your dinner last Night,(jan. 30th 2013) I know you and your party came to the blue lobster based on reommendatios made by other guest which have had a good expeirence in dining at our resturant.

In busiiness some times happen things that are beyond any human control. it may sound like an excusse. but is not, we had the restaurant full as you could remember. and unfortunately that day in the late afternoon a delivery truck broke the gas line and in orther to guarantee the security and personal safety of our dear clients including you and your party, we had to shut off all gas lines and cook with electric back up equipment.

We did appologize with you at the moment you were leaving, and the waiter had your deserts on her hands to be served. but you have had taken the desition to leave already.

I do understan and you are right it took longer than it shall have. for this we appologize again. and hope to count with your understanding.
at any time you are in Aruba Again, please feel free to call us and most gladly we will have you and your three other companions. to have a nice dinner on us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real Find”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

THis is an gem of a restaurant. The service and staff are fabulous. Compared to the so called
must eat restaurants e.g Chalet Swiss,Madame Janette they leave them in the dust. Theytraet you like a customer not part of a "factory experience"
Lots of Lobster specials

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Lobster also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing