We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Taste of Belgium Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Taste of Belgium Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I had high hopes for this place after seeing reviews. First of all, it moved to the plaza behind the one it used to be in apparently. We wandered for 30 minutes before we broke down and asked someone. We walked in and are seated and drinks are brought. We didn't particularly see anything on the menu that we wanted so we did apps. The grouper sticks, croquettes, and we ordered Belgian fries but they never arrived. After we finished and played were cleared it took our waiter 30 mins to bring our check. The food was ok but this is one of those places you don't get a lot for what you pay for. Not like other places on the island anyhow. The only thing that really blew us away was the beer selection.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mandabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner V, Owner at Taste of Belgium Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for your review.
Glad you enjoyed our beer selection. We are very proud to serve them here on the island.
Sorry that some things did not go as they should. We do hope you will give us another chance so we can make sure you will have a fantastic memorable experience at Taste of Belgium Restaurant.
Please contact werner@mparuba.com
Culinary Regards,
Werner and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,153 - 1,157 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Perfect from start to finish. Fantastic, friendly service, and the food tasted as great as it looked! Loved it here - planning to come back again before our trip is over!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jerseytraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner V, Owner at Taste of Belgium Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear,

Thank you so much for your review.
Always so great to read that our guests had a terrific experience at our restaurant.
We are looking forward so seeing you again very soon.
Culinary Regards,
Werner and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The food, atmosphere and wait staff are all excellent. The only bad thing I could say about this place is that the service is slow, however I like that about them. They give you plenty of time to enjoy your appetizers or salad or drinks. You have time to talk, digest, and relax between courses. The atmosphere is really nice. It's a great place to just relax, hangout and socialize while enjoying excellent food. They also have a "dinner and a movie" special which includes the movie ticket, however, you could still eat off the regular menu and buy your own movie ticket for about the same cost. (the movie tickets are really cheap - $5.00 a person US dollars. Much cheaper than NY). I would definitely recommend you try this place at least once. We've been there 3 times so far (twice last year and once so far this year), and I will definitely keep going back year after year.

1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner V, Owner at Taste of Belgium Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for your review.
Great to read that our guests had a fantastic experience at our restaurant.
The Dinner & Movie package is indeed a great way to spent you evening.
A must try.
We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Culinary Regards,
Werner and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stumbled on this pkace by accident one morning for brunch. It was a delicous meal with grwat service. This place offered both indoor and outdoor seating and is located in the little shopping center by the Marriott. We will definetly return here on our next trip to Aruba.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank staces_480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner V, Owner at Taste of Belgium Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for your review.
We are indeed located very close to the marriott and all the highrise hotels.
Breakfast at Taste of Belgium Restaurant is indeed a great way to start of your day in Aruba.
Looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Culinary Regards,
Werner and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stopped by at this place for breakfast and had the european style pancakes- which were really just crepes) , an Omelet and waffles.

Crepes were very average and the batter was a bit doughy. Waffles were the opposite, a bit too airy - not what I was expecting after eating them in Belgium, where the waffles are doughy :)

Omelet was a bit over- fried but not bad.

Wheat toast, OJ and Coffee were all wonderful. Service was great though- unhurried, smiling, courteous and friendly.

Overall, nothing to write home about. Save money and go elsewhere…

Breakfast tip: The super market across the street ( almost) called Super foods has a breakfast bar where the croissants, OJ, eggs and coffee are superlative and cost a fraction of the price. Also saw ham and chicken stuffed croissants as well as bacon at the place.The seating in there is reminiscent of Ikea and they have very interesting condiments such as curry flavored Ketchup! Try this for breakfast...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank srohrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner V, Owner at Taste of Belgium Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for your review.
We do hope we will see you again whenever visiting Dushi Aruba.
Culinary Regards,
Werner and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Belgium Restaurant also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Taste of Belgium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing