We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great time and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

I can't complain beautiful location and it wasn't overcrowed. You could aways grab a palpa. The new construction will be finished soon and then they will have a swim up bar. This isn't the Ritz but if you go expecting the basic's and have an open mind then you won't be disappointed. The only problem we had while we were there was no hot water for 5 days but it is Aruba so the water wasn't freezing it just never got real hot. Real friendly island this was our second trip. We might be going back in May.

  • Liked — kitchen so you can prepare your own meals.
  • Disliked — The lack of hot water during our stay.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bill2ttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    521
    147
    55
    31
See reviews for
521
732
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

My 50th birthday and our 25th wedding anniversary. our room was perfect. 14th floor with beach/sunset view. the staff was friendly and helpful. they helped us book a scuba trip, rent a 4-wheel jeep, gave excellent directions to anywhere we wanted to go, checked current airline status. We chose this over an all-inclusive because we wanted to be freed up to do things all over the island. If you are adventurous and want to explore all the island has to offer, this is perfect. The kitchenette in the room was a great convenience and helped save money for trying different restaurants. the local supermarket offered fabulous beef and local traditional foods . I would stay here again

  • Liked — location and view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaeglew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

My wife and I are Divi owners in St Martin. We exchanged thru RCI to stay at the Divi Phoenix in Aruba Oct 25 - Nov 2. The ongoing construction was noticeable but no a bother at all. We stayed in unit #1306 which had beach and city views. The 1BR unit was well kept recently upgraded and had no issues. The beach was awesome offering no waves and perfect hanging out all day. The crowd is 55+ (as are we). Many of the huts have towels reserving them by 9am. However we had no problem finding one everyday around noon. The pool and hot tubs are small but nice. We enjoyed our stay in Aruba HOWEVER The Divi Phoenix has a few issues that experienced timeshare owners need to know about.
1. This is the last unit in the high rise area of Aruba. The others are a short 10 - 15 leisurely walk away. The beach side offer a concrete boardwalk which ALL propertities except the Phoenix keep well lite. Meaning in the evening you walking in the dark for about 3-4 min before getting to a lighted area. No a very safe feeling even in a safe place. If you choose to walk the 10 - 15 min in the front of the buildings you walk along the road in loose sand and gravel. Not very appealing in the evening especially after a light rain when you walk in puddles. Your other options include renting a car or taking the bus which stops out front for $1.50 ea way.
2. The French Market offers very little except soda, beer, chips.
NO BREAD , MILK ETC ETC. Cereal $4.59 BOX. SINGLE SERVING FRUIT $6.75 etc etc etc.
3. The sunset Bistro offers a 3 course price fix dinner ONLY.
We walked along the beach daily next door to the Westin . It was a breath of fresh air which leads to #4 the people.
4. The people in Aruba are very warm and friendly. Except at the Divi Phoenix. Everything and Anything seemed to be a bother to all of them. Nobody at this property spoke to us unless we first spoke to them saying GOOD MORNING, GOOD EVENING ETC ETC. Speaking also appeared to be a bother. Walk ten minutes to the Westin have a great Buffet Breakfast for$15.00 and they could not do enough for you. They also have a great outdoor terrace for Lunch and dinner. We loved our week in Aruba and will return. The unfriendly staff did not hamper our awesome week. Aruba offers so many better option Playa Linda, Costa Linda, Riu Palace etc why stay where your a bother. Don't miss having dinner on the beach at the Marriott (Simply Fish)

  • Liked — The beach was awesome
  • Disliked — The staff was unfriendly, the resturant was overpriced compared to others, The market had no inventory.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank webpro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

When we arrived at the Phoenix resort after being up for 14 hours, they told us that they over booked and they did not have a 2 bedroom villa for us. I booked this last year, almost a year ago. They then said that they would give us a one bedroon and a studio. Well thats not what I paid for. They shipped us over across the street to the Divi Golf resort. If I wanted to play golf, that would of been great, but we wanted the beach. So then they shipped us off to the Dutch Village, with a eroded beach, and no place to lay out. Yeah that was a great vacation. I called the manager up at the Phoenix, and told him that we should be compensated for all this mess, he told me he already did. I asked what it was, He said, I offered you a different room and you refused it. That was my compensation.

I will never , ever, never, ever, go to a Divi resort in my life again. The only good thing was that the housekeeping was good. Other then that, I guess the bottle of wine was suppose to make the boo boo better. It didn't.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank pansy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

When we arrived we were given a room and then told that the following day we would need to switch rooms, because that was their policy. As if that was not annoying enough, my sneakers got stolen and when I alerted the staff they did not do anything about it until my last day. The only thing they did about it my last day was tell me that I had waited to long to report it, even though I had reported it 4 days earlier. They never apoligized or did anything to try and make it better. The hotel was under construction at the time, and sometimes the elevators would not work. I have never stayed at such a horrible hotel.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank luckybra5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2008

When we arrived they did not have our room confirmation,actually our room was in the process of being built, this was RCI error. To continue though the personnel (some bar help) acted like they didn't know places and things to do on the island. Did not want to be bothered. The service was terrible and attitudes to match.
We found the taxi drivers were the nicest. The construction of the four buildings next to our room was annoying. The pool was filled with debris and it blew into the Sunset Bistro area where you eat. When we did eat out on the sand at Sunset Bistro we were approached as if we didn't belong. We went to breakfast and all the help was just standing around, we waited and waited, no Good Morning no coffee, got up and left ,walked down to the Westin and what a change that was. Good Morning and no wait.
The 2 elevators were so slow and small and break-down. We were on the 14th floor in the tower. I could probably go on and on. The beach is beautiful and no problem getting a good spot.

  • Liked — The Sunset
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank happygolucky61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Divi Phoenix Resort and are already looking forward to a return trip. We waited 20 years for a timeshare exchange and just hoped that Aruba would be all that we were told it was by friends who had visited the island before. Well, we lucked out! Our studio unit was located on the ground floor of the low-rise building which meant that all we had to do was open up our sliding glass door and walk onto the patio/pool area and over to the beach.

The Divi is the first property in the "high rise" section of the "strip." Although it was not in the middle of all the activity, it was perfect because we got our exercise every night walking to the other properties, restaurants, shops, and casinos. There is some construction going on at the present time; however, we could never hear it!

The Divi's beach is by far the best!! It is the most spacious, had plenty of huts under which to sit, and best of all, you didn't have to get up at 4:30 in the morning, as you need to at the Marriott and the Holiday Inn, in order to secure your spot and chairs for the day!! The two pools and hot tub appeared to be well attended and clean. In fact, the entire resort was spotless!!! Our unit was well kept, and the bathrooms are currently all being remodeled.

All of the staff member whom we encountered was lovely! They were friendly, warm, helpful, kind, and considerate, always willing to go the extra mile, quite different than the staff we encountered on a trip to St. Maarten!! Every staff member greeted you as if you were old friends!!

In conclusion, my husband and I would highly recommend staying at the Divi Phoenix on your next trip to Aruba, and if possible, try to stay in a unit on the ground floor of the low rise building. Easier than shlepping up and down on the elevator!

  • Liked — Our unit and the beach!
  • Disliked — Because of location, it would have been nice if resort had shuttle to restaurants, etc.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Psychdeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,592 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Property: Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Address: 75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Divi Phoenix Beach Hotel
Hotel Divi Phoenix Beach
Aruba Phoenix
Aruba Divi Phoenix
Divi Phoenix Aruba
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing