We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel on the Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Favorite Hotel on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have not wanted to review this hotel because I feel like it is our family's secret treasure in Aruba. The rooms at the new Phoenix tower are huge, spacious and clean. The beach is quiet and the crowd is always calm and serene. I have visited the Marriott, Westin, RIU and Hyatt properties before and the property and beaches are jam packed with tourists and screaming children swimming in diapers... this is not the scene at the Phoenix, even when they are at full capacity. I assume because this property is NOT an all inclusive, it attracts more couples than families.

I love the very spacious kitchen in the suites, and typically hotel kitchenettes creep me out - but these are fabulous!! Exceptionally clean and modern with granite counter tops, new appliances, dishes, toaster, coffee maker, pots, blender (for smoothies & margaritas) pans, utensils - everything! We actually cook breakfast in our room during our stays and eat on the balcony... it is fabulous. There is also a washer and dryer in each unit. Though they do not work that great - it is better than nothing at all!

Pure Beach (the all white restaurant and bar) is wonderful. It has an amazing Miami vibe with great music and spectacular views. The Tuna Nicoise Salad is our favorite... it is so good we order it all week. Try it with their brisk and chilled Sauvignon blanc or an Amstel Bright.

This property is amazing and we visit it 2-4 times a year for the ultimate relaxation in paradise. We would never stay anywhere else... until the Ritz opens... I will have to try that out!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScentCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    523
    148
    55
    31
See reviews for
523
737
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I came on her honeymoon. We were immediately struck by the lobby (it's awesome, open air) and the ocean view from our hotel room. We were in the large, older tower and our balcony faced the beach. Every morning, we'd open the curtains and just marvel at the view. Our unit had a small kitchenette with a fridge, convection oven/microwave, stove and was fully stocked with utensils. The little store downstairs was limited, but you can get a taxi to take you to the Super Food Plaza to go shopping (the cab will wait, and the fare is about $36 roundtrip and with waiting). The bed was comfortable and the small bathroom was adequate. We definitely enjoyed our stay, but there were a couple of things that were a bit annoying. First off, no room service. Not that I'm all about room service, but it's really nice to have the option when you get in off a REALLY long travel day and just want to chill out for the evening. Next, the Pure Beach bar has really gross food and slow service. Also, we got at least two letters trying to get us to come to a timeshare presentation (NO THANK YOU). Housekeeping is spotty, if you request something they will take a REALLY long time to bring it (like 2 or so hours)...and you will have to call twice. However, the Sunset Beach or Pure Ocean (I'm not sure what it's called) restaurant is phenomenal and you can have dinner right on the beach. The beach wasn't too crowded, and we were always able to find a chair quickly when we went down. Would I come back to this particular resort? Probably not, but it was a good place for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for the big tower, facing the beach. The other buildings are newer, but without the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackeemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The resort was very nice! It is well maintained and clean and the people and services were great. The beach area is nice and private and away from the other high rises. There are plenty of beach chairs and lot of shelter areas. The pool is also well maintained and available all day with no time restrictions and has a pull up bar area. The resort has barbeque units available for use all day.

Aruba is known as the happy island and definitely live up to that expectations. The Island is small, very safe and people are very friendly. The resort is only a very short walk to the main strip that has all kinds of restaurants, shops, cafes, etc.

The weather is Aruba is always guaranteed to be mostly sunny with the odd shower from time to time. I have been there 3 times and I have seen rain only 2 times for a very short period.

Love Divi Phoenix Resort and would recommend to anyone!!!!

Tony

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PierriA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Divi is in a very nice location. You are away from the crowded beach but an easy walk in the evening. The beach is fabulous and the pool is terrific. The beach bar is very nice. The beach chairs are plentiful you may not always get a roof but plenty of shade and sun. I was pleasantly suprised. The Wi Fi in our room 4th floor was very good. It is definitely worth the $50 if you need the internet.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean a higher level room would be most ideal to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juslivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The place looks nice.  
I am an RCI member.  I am staying 2 weeks but could not get a room the last 4 nights of my stay without having to PAY CASH.  RCI did not have an RCI room.  The manager said there were many but he would have to charge me cash.  Orbitz and Expedia, and diviresorts.com to name a few had many rooms here also but again I would have to pay cash.   

I FEEL STUPID PAYING $17,000 & $23,500 to purchase timeshares and paying a yearly maintenance fee of $3,425 especially when I whitness non-members getting in when I cannot.  I can now see why some people say timeshares are a rip off.  

I had to pay for an additional bed and breakfast for my last 4 days which cost $600+.  It was that or go home 4 days early and pay American Airlines an additional $1,000.

First when I walked into the room there were dirty shoe prints.  

After I ate, I went to clean the dishes and the dish soap ran out of the container like water; it was heavily watered down.  Much like the drinks here are.  They pour only 1/2 shots.  I watched.  And the food is pricy.

Later in the evening I took a shower.  One of the two  "clean" towels had make-up on it or freshblood.  Regardless, it was not clean.  Then I got the hair blower out.  It was broken and because of the time of night I could not get a new one.
 
Also the TV channel menu was not down loading.

If you want internet service it costs and they do not have (VOIP) Voice Over Internet Protocol.  So no phone calls w/o having to pay $1.99 a minute.

The head of houskeeping just arrived and assured me I would not have to pay for an additional cleaning.  ☺

This is day 2 so stay tuned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathleenFras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Divi in both the tower and villas in 12/22/12 thru 01/6/13. The only complaints we have is just some of the services (telephone and tv remote problems). The tower doesn't have the modern conveniences in the kitchens, but very, very clean and beautiful views from nice private balconies. The units are nice, just not as new and modern as the villas. We were not disappointed at all. The villas are REALLY nice, well furnished, new and modern, just don't stay in the first and 2nd building (near the lobby) if you don't want to hear children "noise" all day. The units are right over the "kiddie" pool, so you can't miss it if you like to enjoy your balcony. The balconies are not very private at all. We stayed on the 4rth floor, so if you want to stay away from the noise, stay in the buildings closer to the beach in back of the restaurant. Yes I would definitely go back and stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darleen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Divi Aruba Phoenix in December, second time in Aruba but first at Divi and we will never return to this hotel. We were there for two nights and then checked into the Radisson where everything was simply better.
Everything is really slow at Divi hotel from checking in to getting a cup of coffee, everything required at least 15 minutes wait. Not to mention the wait for the elevator as well, only one out of two elevators was working one day.
Also the day of our departure an hour before check out time, maintenance people knocked on our door to come and fix the sofa bed. I asked if they can do it after we check out as we were packing but they insisted on coming in.
We travel a lot and this hotel has the worst customer service we experienced. The only slight positive for this hotel is the beach location.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Property: Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Address: 75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, West Indies, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Divi Phoenix Beach Hotel
Hotel Divi Phoenix Beach
Aruba Phoenix
Aruba Divi Phoenix
Divi Phoenix Aruba
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing