We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A wonderful time, the place to stay in Aruba.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful time, the place to stay in Aruba.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The past two weeks have been amazing! I love Divi Phoenix. I must say that if you are always on fast pace NY & Chicago time, you need to prepare yourself to slow things down. Waiting for things, particularly food/service at PureBeach Grill & Bar as well as at the coffee shop takes a while. The beach is the best. Get out there early for chairs but don't be those people that save beach chairs at 5am and you don't come down from the room until 1pm. It's not polite or considerate. Being the last on the strip keeps things mellow in the best way possible but you can walk to any of the hotels within 5 minutes. Let me know if you have questions, it was my 10th year on the island and can't wait for my 11th in 2013!


Best,
Nicole Poull

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    474
    135
    50
    26
See reviews for
464
635
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Let me preface this review by first saying that we have been to Aruba 4 times and have always stayed at either Occidental or the Hyatt. This was the first time we brought our 3 children along, so I booked at the Divi since the rooms were spacious to accommodate our family and also less expensive. All I can say is, we were so disappointed. Our room, although spacious, was not as clean as it could have been. Food and service at the pool restaurant was DEPLORABLE. We sat for 20 minutes before anyone came over to our table. My husband sat and waited another 20 minutes at the pool bar before the bartender even glanced at him. They served him our drinks in horrible melamine cups that looked cloudy and dirty. The beach and pool area was littered with debris. JUST HORRIBLE!! That's when we decided to look elsewhere for a room. I will say, when I checked out early with the front desk, they were very polite and expressed their apologies for our unhappiness.
The hotel kindly refunded us for the 3 out of 4 night stay.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank steallm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our first stay at the Divi Phoenix where we own a time share. We were there for two weeks, including the Christmas week. Our first floor one-bedroom unit was spacious and comfortable. The kitchenware did not include a spatula, but they provided one when we asked. I think a spatula should be included in every room. Cooking is on a cooktop and a combination microwave and convection unit that cooked, grilled, defrosted, etc. It worked quite well.

The only appliance that is terrible is the combination washer and dryer. This is not two applicances stacked on top of each other, but one unit that washes and then attempts to dry. The washer is fine, but the dryer is completely inadequate. I wound up taking a load of wash to the Tower building where they have regular dryers. The only other criticism is having to pay for Wifi. We hope this will change for our next visit.

The location is ideal. It is at one end of Palm Beach, with its own large beach. There is a public beach and police station that separates it from the strip of high rise hotels. You can walk to everything but it is quiet and far away from the frenetic activity. We like to have a car, but you can definitely get by without one and use cabs and the bus.

It is an ideal family place; the Christmas week was awash with kids, so avoid it if you just want to be quiet. The week before was much quieter.

We had excellent weather with just one rainy day. We love Aruba and have gone at least 9 times. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The villas are the oldest section, then the Tower, and then the newest buildings which I recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This location is fantastic, right on the beach, open air lobby and hallways, ample parking, beautiful well-appointed rooms, multiple pools, one with a swim up bar! This resort/hotel is worth every penny, I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: My spouse and I had a full kitchen and cooked for ourselves for breakfast and lunch and saved $$ to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CS_traveler298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked our Studio Suite, Room 105, as an Extra Vacation through RCI, since we couldn’t find an exchange that met all our criteria. What luck!!

We were looking for pure R&R and we found it. Our suite, located on the ground floor of the older Beach Villas is perfect for us. Sadly, we leave tomorrow (moving to another resort), and we definitely plan to return.

PROS
• Suite was spacious and well equipped with everything we needed to prepare our meals.
• Extremely comfortable queen bed.
• Loved the plugs in the lamp bases for charging ipod, computer, etc.
• Lovely patio facing the villas’ pool and beyond the beach.
• Lots of closet and drawer space.
• Jacuzzi tub in bathroom, with a great shower. Loads of towels and soap.
• Spectacular turquoise beach to wade in and cool off; perfect for kids. Loads of available beach chairs and palapas; we especially liked the quiet beach to the south of the resort.
• No beach vendors. A couple of days vendors did set up near our unit, but they were quiet and did not bother us in anyway. I did buy a lovely bracelet with numerous coloured stones for only $12.
• Ice cream in the Pure Deli.
• Coin laundry a great plus, since we’re in Aruba for two weeks and prefer to pack light.
• Welcome party on the second night for timeshare members – open bar, dancing, prizes.
• No timeshare sales pressure. We only had to say once that we weren’t interested in attending the “update meeting”, and that was that.
• Enjoyed evening strolls along the boardwalk past the high rise hotels, giving us a sneak peak at some other hotel options, and convincing us further that the Divi Phoenix is the perfect resort for us.

CONS – note these are all very minor, and in no way took away from a wonderful relaxing experience.

• Construction noise at the Sun Splash bar and Sunset Grill, both of which are currently undergoing major renovations. It was easy to escape the noise, so not a problem, but I wonder why this work wasn’t completed prior to high season.
• The fridge door swings the wrong way making it awkward to use. Since the door is reversible, this could easily be fixed.
• The over-counter light takes about 15 minutes to light – weird.
• The room thermostat is hidden behind the large and heavy TV/dresser cupboard. We would have preferred to be able to turn off the AC and open the patio doors during the day and evening. However, I understand this is done deliberately to prevent humidity build-up in the room, leading to that nasty mustiness found in many Caribbean ground floor rooms.
• $50 for a week of WiFi – I think times have changed enough that WiFi should be included everywhere – but that’s me. On the plus side, it worked easily and consistently, unlike many other resorts we have been to in the last few years.
• The hot tub in the villas area was too hot!
• The recommended grocery stores were dreadful! Luckily we found Kong Hing supermarket, next to the old Super Foods, which has great selection and reasonable prices.

We rented a car, but it’s not really needed. For the same price or less you could take a coach tour of the island, taxi to/from airport and to the grocery store. For those who prefer to eat out, there is a good selection of restaurants and bars within walking distance, although I would taxi back after dark.

Room Tip: We would definitely prefer a ground floor studio in the Beach Villas again, but I suspect that all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeenThere1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

we go there every march for 2 weeks because its right on the beach and weather is always suure of no rain.the accomodations are great and the area is lovely.people are friendly and helpful at the resort.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 456Donna1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful week at the Divi Phoenix in Aruba. The hotel was great. the one-bedroom suite was nice because we brought another couple and they were able to have their own bathroom. They said that the pull-out sofa was comfortable. I liked the Divi because of the room, beach and pool. This resort was small but had all of the amenities. The beach was close to the pool and room so you didn't have to walk far. The hotel was clean. The front desk people were frienlyy and helpfut-especially Lakaisha. The only problem was with the service at the poolside restaurant. They were nice but extremely slow. You had to wait for drinks and food for what seemed to be over a half hour. This should not happen especially since there weren't many people there. The food was just average. We would definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
1.3 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 5,069 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#16 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,873 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort

Property: Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Address: 75 Je Irausquin Blvd | Palm Beach, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Divi Phoenix Beach Hotel
Hotel Divi Phoenix Beach
Aruba Phoenix
Aruba Divi Phoenix
Divi Phoenix Aruba
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing