We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here with a friend and the property to clean and comfortable. The 1 bedroom apartment was nicely sized with a full size kitchen. We were able to purchase groceries in town and cook most of our meals in the apartment. The patio was great with a side view of the beach. It was nice to be able to use "most" amenities at the adjoining Marriotts. One big negative as far as I was concerned was that beach chairs (2 chairs with a shaded hut) were $15 a day to reserve OR you could get up at the crack of dawn and get in line for a chance at getting one of the "free" chairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    267
    99
    31
    17
See reviews for
343
433
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

First of all, please note that the Marriott & Stellaris Casino, the Marriott Surf Club, and the Marriott Ocean Club are all on the same property. If you are staying at any one of the three, you will have access to most amenities at the other two except there is a lazy river and large pool at the Surf Club that only surf club visitors can use and another "adult only" serenity pool at the Marriott Hotel that only those guests can use. Besides that, all visitors can feel free to go to any of the three properties if they choose. Marriott Surf Club has only a pool bar and I don't think they have any other restaurants - we barely went through this property.

Stellaris Casino: This casino is just ok. It seems clean and nice enough but it's mostly filled with slots. I saw a few $10 blackjack tables and one or two roulette tables but no craps and the electronic poker/blackjack machines were limited. However, the casino had a special going on where if you sign up for the VIP card and play for at least 30 mins on the slot machines then the next day they will reimburse you for up to $50 of losses per person. We both lost $50 the first night so we were down $100 but then the second day we cashed out around $175 so it wasn't a bad deal for free entertainment.

On Property Food: The food on property is pretty expensive. The first day here we spent $26 just to get two bagel & egg sandwiches with a bottle of juice. I strongly recommend driving down the street to the Super Food grocery store and stocking up your fridge with breakfast and lunch supplies. There's a sports bar with decent (but still expensive food), a sushi bar (around $12-$15/roll), a Ruth's Chris steakhouse, an oceanfront seafood restaurant and a few other places you can get sandwiches.

Beaches & Views: The beaches here sure are beautiful and clean! The sand is very fine and soft yet somewhat hard packed near the surf so it's easy to walk along the beach for a while. All the beaches in Aruba are public beaches so you can go wherever you want. This also means there are many vendors for snorkeling and such all along the beach - these are not affiliated with the hotel but most of them seem really good. The views from this hotel are on the side of the island such that the sun SETS over the water so you don't have to get up early to watch the sunrise, yay!

The Rooms: The lobby and hallways at the Ocean club are in the process of being remodeled but right now they aren't very impressive and the hallway was a bit smelly. Approaching our room I was a little nervous but I was pleasantly surprised when we entered. the rooms are nicely remodeled with clean updated furniture. The couch isn't the most comfortable but the beds and pillows were fine. The kitchen appliances are new and clean and the cabinets were all stocked with pots and pans (we are in a one bedroom interval timeshare exchange room - not sure if all the rooms are like this). However we sadly have no view, our windows look out onto a sidewalk between two resorts and we are on the ground floor. Try to ask for a room higher up, it's a bit noisy from the ground floor (although it is nice not having to wait for an elevator).

One more note about the resort: don't feel obligated to go through the hotel to book anything. You can easily find pretty much everything you want to do either online through Trip Advisor or right on the beach. I do recommend renting a car here if you don't want to have to take a $30 cab ride to and from the airport plus to each activity.

Overall a pleasant resort, Aruba is a fun and safe place to visit

Room Tip: Try to get higher up so you can see more and oceanfront is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ashley32905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
216 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed with friends at the Ocean Club and found the rooms to be very comfortable. This was a one bedroom suite with an adjoining studio. The one bedroom suite was spacious with a full kitchen and everything you need to serve six people. Great bathroom but the jacuzzi was kind of in an alcove in the bedroom. A little odd but fine with me. The studio features small appliances, a sofa and another well arranged bathroom with double sinks. Then there are the amenities, pools with nooks and crannies so you can converse with your significant other or a couple of friends. An adults only area where it is very quiet. Of course, you have swim up bars, snacks, and all that to keep you well-fed. The shops in the concourse area supply you with everything from gifts to candy bars. All in all, this is a well-run property with friendly staff, tidy rooms, and a tranquilo atmosphere. I enjoyed my short stay very much and would be pleased to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanNic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, AL
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have owned here for 4 years. Last year we decided to go to the St. kitts Marriott. It does not compare. This resort is wonderful. It has plenty of bars and restaurants between the two adjoining Marriott prop ties to keep you satisfied for the week or two. We love the friendly staff and the accommodations are beautiful. Be sure and ask for a high floor as it gets a bit loud from the pool and the views are better the higher up you are. Be prepared, this is a timeshare, ,bring enough shampoo and soap for your stay. They clean the room once a week. We like having a kitchen and feeling at home. If you'd rather have maid service I'd opt for the hotel next door. Bon Bini!

Room Tip: Ask for 5th or 6th floor and ocean front are best if you can get one, if not try for as near the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carobama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was our first trip to Aruba... and it was amazing! We had a one bedroom suite with a view of the ocean! Could of sat on that balcony and looked at the clear blue sea forever! The room was spotless and the staff at the hotel where very friendly. Wish we could of stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmyzmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

After numerous trips to Aruba and stays at other Marriot properties in Aruba, we decided to stay at the Marriot's Ocean Club. This Marriot property is adjacent to the other Marriot properties (Surf Club and Stellaris) and you can easily walk from property to property.

The Ocean Club was recently updated but was still built prior to the Surf Club. The Ocean Club is definitely a lot quieter and the clientele is a lot older. We did not see many children on this property like we saw at the Surf Club. It is a very quiet property overall. The pool is nice and of average size and features a swim-up bar. Again, very quiet!

We had a one bedroom villa and the room was updated and complete with a full size kitchen, granite countertops and new appliances. One thing we did not like was the lack of a clothes washer/dryer which is featured in every villa room at the Surf Club. The hallways were dark and the rooms were not brightly decorated. The bathroom was not as nice as the Surf Club bathrooms. The elevators were recently equipped with a security swipe requiring a room key to activate the elevator to the higher floors.

If you are a guest at the Ocean Club, you are free to visit the other Marriot properties and utilize their facilities. You are NOT allowed to use the lazy river at the Surf Club. The Ocean Club has a few good restaurants like Champions, which is standard at many Marriot properties worldwide, and is your typical sports bar. The Ocean Club also has a great buffet which is an excellent deal for breakfast and features different themes and cuisines for dinners.

The Ocean Club is also conveniently located across from the main strip of restaurants and you can easily walk to each of them (Smokey Joes, Texas deBrazil, Petit Cafe, etc.). It is also features one of the largest beaches on the entire strip of high rise hotels. Cabanas on the beach can be reserved and the ones closest to the ocean water book first (must do so the day prior).

Overall, you will be happy with the above average quality of rooms, friendly & helpful staff and location of the property itself. If you are looking for a wild party, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing time in Aruba with good accomodations, then I would recommend the Ocean Club.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJD2076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our first visit to Marriott Aruba Ocean Club was a real treat and somewhat surprising. Meaning , we didn't expect to enjoy it so much!! This Marriott property was especially enjoyable due to the choices of restaurants, pools, and beach area , all within easy walking distance.
Also, the people of Aruba are the most hospitable, warm and friendly that I have had the privilege to meet. Every person we encountered was exceptional in all of the above mentioned .
The property was well maintained. The beach area was well maintained. We ate at La Vista for breakfast and dinner several times and had excellent food on each occasion. We had dinner 2 nights at Simply Fish and had an excellent experience both times. For us , this was a vacation to just chill out and relax and this was a great choice of places to do just that!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babyDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#15 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#16 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,249 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Property: Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Address: 99 LG Smith Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Ocean Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Hotel
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing