We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice vacation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I stay in hotels over 100 nights per yr. My overall rating is good. Somewhere between 4-5 stars but not a five. Clean rooms, friendly staff, pools and beach access is excellent, location to other activities is just ok. The dining choices were decent with exception to the sports bar called Champions. The rooms are competitively priced with other brand name hotels in Aruba. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mlcrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    301
    110
    35
    19
See reviews for
385
491
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jersey shore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 9 days at the Ocean Club (an exchange through Interval International). Our 1 bedroom unit was on the second floor facing the Marriott Hotel adult pool and the walkway to the hotel. It was very quiet and relaxing while in the unit. The unit was clean and spacious. The 1 bedroom unit does not have a washer/dryer, so I made use of the laundry room on our floor. Very convenient! The pool area was always crowded, so we went to the beach every day. The water was wonderful and we floated for hours in our tubes we brought from home. We had no problem securing a palapa near the water. There is a seaweed odor problem at times, but we made sure not to swim in that area. The Marriott properties do have the best beach (very deep). The Ritz Carlton is being built next door to the Marriott Hotel, so there will be 4 properties adjacent to each other. The Ocean Club is the smallest and seems to be the better choice for couples/adults, while the Surf Club seems to be geared towards families with children.

We used the convenience store on the property (we did not rent a car) and bought eggs, cereal, snacks, etc. We ate lunch and dinner out.

The grounds and beach are very well maintained and all who work there are extremely friendly and helpful.

We visited the hotel next door which has a casino and Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. The first night we ate on the beach at Simply Fish and enjoyed our dinner.

We played golf at Tierra del Sol twice, the only 18 hole golf course on the island. Very windy and challenging!

Free WIFI was a great plus, since my husband brought his laptop.

We are already planning our next trip to Aruba!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyshoregolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet Valley, Pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just returned from a week at the Ocean Club celebrating our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We own two weeks at the neighboring Surf Club. This was our first time staying at the Ocean Club. The Ocean Club is smaller and quieter. We were on the 1st floor, Ocean Front which at first we were disappointed with the low floor but we liked be able to walk out of our room and almost instantly be on the beach. Make sure you check in with the Concierge as they will give you a discount card for 10% at the Marriott Restaurants and some additional retailers/restaurants. This card got us a free desert at the Aqua Grill (off site) which was our favorite restaurant. We also had a great meal at Ruth Chris next door in the Marriott Hotel. We reserved a hut the first 3 days but just did the last 3 days in the morning which is free. We didn't use the pool (which is very nice) but preferred the beach, the ocean water is warm and their are no waves. We bought two inexpensive floats and spent a lot of time in the ocean just lounging.

The rooms are typical Marriott Vacation Club suites. Since it was just the two of us for this trip we had a 1 Bedroom suite. The full kitchen is well stocked. The units are clean and large. The Wednesday light cleaning (new towels etc...) was more than adequate for us.

The only complaint would be the WiFi was a little spotty the last few days. I do not believe this was limited to the Marriott properties. The airport lost internet on the Saturday we departed causing major delays at US Customs. The customs guys say internet on the island is a constant problem. When the WiFi was up it worked great and was fast. We even had a good signal on the beach most days.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We loved the Marriott's ocean club! if you are staying at one of the properties, stay at either the Stellaris or the Ocean Club, much nicer than the neighboring surf club.

The units were lovely and well maintained, great that you get free WIFI throughout the property. Grounds are well maintained, and the whole property is well organized and the beach is wonderful!

I would come back here again and again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ihavethetravelbug_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just spent 2 weeks in Aruba at the Ocean Club. For the most part it was great. The staff was wonderful, friendly and happy. I agree with others that the Activities could have been better organized. Some times they started early, some were not done, and yes letting people know more about going over to the other places (surf club) and what they had to offer would have been nice. Rooms were very nice. We had a great time

Room Tip: Ask for high up and on the inside, if you want to see the ocean, On the bottom floor on the outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NHGirlathrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our fifth trip to the island and first stay at the Ocean Club. We previously have stayed at the Surf Club, Paradise Beach Villas, Renaissance Hotel, RIU and Occidental. Our party consisted of my wife and I, our seven month old and my parents.

Pre-arrival, we exchanged two units through Interval for a one bedroom and a lock out and I requested the units be connected, on an upper floor in the north building. The staff honored our request with the units being connected to create a 2 bedroom and we were placed in the north tower. However, we were placed on the first floor. There are a total of six floors and after talking to some folks it sounds like Owners were given floors 3 - 6 and all others were on floors 1 - 2. Floors 5-6 appear to have the best views. Being on the first floor did benefit us as we did not have to deal with the elevator (except trash and laundry were on floors 2 - 6) and we were steps away from the pool which was great with the baby. I should note my parents started to receive calls 3 days prior to arriving to sign up for a timeshare presentation and continued to call multiple times even after they told them they were not interested.

Unit Description: The unit itself was real nice with granite counter tops, flat screen tvs, and newer furniture. The beds were very uncomfortable and are in desperate need of replacement. They also do a midweek tidy clean up midweek which was nice (included basic cleaning, towel replacement, but did NOT include linen replacement). The air conditioner was very sensitive too. We received a crib and high chair and both worked out fine. Be careful with the crib as our son got his leg stuck one night in the railings. We also brought a pack n play from home and used it in the room, pool and beach and it was a life saver.

Facilities: The facility is real nice. Both the pool and beach felt a lot more spacious then the Surf club. We never had a problem getting a papala (just don't expect first or second row), but it was difficult getting chairs around the pool after 7:30 AM. The pool was real nice and is open til 10 PM, but the pool bar closes at 6:00 PM (meaning they start shutting down at 5:30 PM). I would like to see them keep the pool bar open til 7:00 PM. As a perk, guest at the Ocean club can use the Marriott's Hotel pool. The Adult Only pool at the hotel and the pools at the Surf clubs are off limits. You can also charge your meals between the three resorts to your room. I did notice the Surf Club pool bar was under construction and when I inquired about it was advise it was closed for two weeks.

Restaurants: We ate breakfast at La Vista (ala carte), dinner at Champions a couple of times, did the pizza special at the surf club (you get more for your money there than at champions). All were decent but pricey. We ate at the following offsite: Tango Argentine Grill (great food but poor service), Sole Mare (above average italian, service was good but the waiter spilled what he stated was water and went to clean it up. Not until we got home did we discover some of it spilled on my son who was sleeping in his stroller and it definitely was not water but some sauce. Probably won't go back there due to this reason), Linda's Pancake House for breakfast (great as always), Rum Reef Bar & Grill at Baby Beach for lunch (limited menu... food was OK but great drinks), Iguana Joes for drinks (a tradition of ours), Iguana Catina (food was decent), and the breakfast buffet at the Radisson (decent but very hot inside and out).

Other: The weather was great overall and tourism is booming in Aruba. We rented a car from Top Drive for the week and service was great. It was the 2nd time we used them and will use them again in the future. The road in front of the airport is a bit funky with the construction of the new round-a-bout but it should be completed by early next year and the same can be said with the new trolly being installed in Oranjestad - just a bit more difficult to drive with the construction.

Final Thoughts: Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying the Ocean club in the future. It is very laid back and quiet, but still close to the action.

Room Tip: If you want to be on a higher floor, do not request a tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Ocean Club and we were very happy with our accommodations. The staff was friendly especially at the pool and beach and they had plenty of fun activities.
I think they could of done a better job communicating the activities because we missed things especially those shared with the surf club. I was also confused about the beach set up. You Do Not have to pay unless you want a hut right up front. My suggestion is take a hut in the back and bring your beach chair up to the surf if you want to.
The Marriott hotel that was next store was the only place for a nice cocktail lounge but that needs some help. Very slow service and music stops at 9:30

Great location, be sure to ask a few people before you take a taxi. A lot of places you can really walk too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
#16 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Property: Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Address: Smith Blvd 99 LG, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among beautiful Palm Beach is the immaculate Marriott's Aruba Surf Club. With a variety of on-site activities, filling your day with fun is no obstacle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Ocean Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Hotel
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing