We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just spent 2 weeks in Aruba at the Ocean Club. For the most part it was great. The staff was wonderful, friendly and happy. I agree with others that the Activities could have been better organized. Some times they started early, some were not done, and yes letting people know more about going over to the other places (surf club) and what they had to offer would have been nice. Rooms were very nice. We had a great time

Room Tip: Ask for high up and on the inside, if you want to see the ocean, On the bottom floor on the outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHGirlathrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our fifth trip to the island and first stay at the Ocean Club. We previously have stayed at the Surf Club, Paradise Beach Villas, Renaissance Hotel, RIU and Occidental. Our party consisted of my wife and I, our seven month old and my parents.

Pre-arrival, we exchanged two units through Interval for a one bedroom and a lock out and I requested the units be connected, on an upper floor in the north building. The staff honored our request with the units being connected to create a 2 bedroom and we were placed in the north tower. However, we were placed on the first floor. There are a total of six floors and after talking to some folks it sounds like Owners were given floors 3 - 6 and all others were on floors 1 - 2. Floors 5-6 appear to have the best views. Being on the first floor did benefit us as we did not have to deal with the elevator (except trash and laundry were on floors 2 - 6) and we were steps away from the pool which was great with the baby. I should note my parents started to receive calls 3 days prior to arriving to sign up for a timeshare presentation and continued to call multiple times even after they told them they were not interested.

Unit Description: The unit itself was real nice with granite counter tops, flat screen tvs, and newer furniture. The beds were very uncomfortable and are in desperate need of replacement. They also do a midweek tidy clean up midweek which was nice (included basic cleaning, towel replacement, but did NOT include linen replacement). The air conditioner was very sensitive too. We received a crib and high chair and both worked out fine. Be careful with the crib as our son got his leg stuck one night in the railings. We also brought a pack n play from home and used it in the room, pool and beach and it was a life saver.

Facilities: The facility is real nice. Both the pool and beach felt a lot more spacious then the Surf club. We never had a problem getting a papala (just don't expect first or second row), but it was difficult getting chairs around the pool after 7:30 AM. The pool was real nice and is open til 10 PM, but the pool bar closes at 6:00 PM (meaning they start shutting down at 5:30 PM). I would like to see them keep the pool bar open til 7:00 PM. As a perk, guest at the Ocean club can use the Marriott's Hotel pool. The Adult Only pool at the hotel and the pools at the Surf clubs are off limits. You can also charge your meals between the three resorts to your room. I did notice the Surf Club pool bar was under construction and when I inquired about it was advise it was closed for two weeks.

Restaurants: We ate breakfast at La Vista (ala carte), dinner at Champions a couple of times, did the pizza special at the surf club (you get more for your money there than at champions). All were decent but pricey. We ate at the following offsite: Tango Argentine Grill (great food but poor service), Sole Mare (above average italian, service was good but the waiter spilled what he stated was water and went to clean it up. Not until we got home did we discover some of it spilled on my son who was sleeping in his stroller and it definitely was not water but some sauce. Probably won't go back there due to this reason), Linda's Pancake House for breakfast (great as always), Rum Reef Bar & Grill at Baby Beach for lunch (limited menu... food was OK but great drinks), Iguana Joes for drinks (a tradition of ours), Iguana Catina (food was decent), and the breakfast buffet at the Radisson (decent but very hot inside and out).

Other: The weather was great overall and tourism is booming in Aruba. We rented a car from Top Drive for the week and service was great. It was the 2nd time we used them and will use them again in the future. The road in front of the airport is a bit funky with the construction of the new round-a-bout but it should be completed by early next year and the same can be said with the new trolly being installed in Oranjestad - just a bit more difficult to drive with the construction.

Final Thoughts: Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying the Ocean club in the future. It is very laid back and quiet, but still close to the action.

Room Tip: If you want to be on a higher floor, do not request a tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Ocean Club and we were very happy with our accommodations. The staff was friendly especially at the pool and beach and they had plenty of fun activities.
I think they could of done a better job communicating the activities because we missed things especially those shared with the surf club. I was also confused about the beach set up. You Do Not have to pay unless you want a hut right up front. My suggestion is take a hut in the back and bring your beach chair up to the surf if you want to.
The Marriott hotel that was next store was the only place for a nice cocktail lounge but that needs some help. Very slow service and music stops at 9:30

Great location, be sure to ask a few people before you take a taxi. A lot of places you can really walk too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family of 8 spent 6 wonderful days in aruba. we were greeted and bell hops took our belongings,Upon checking in I thought the front desk was great they got me the room i requested without any hassel, and the room was clean and the view...forget it. GEORGEOUS...we ran around enjoying ourselves so much the staff know who we were. They made share with us the activites for my kids, places to eat, and where the sites were. The ocean club was always on their feet ready to get us a cab or bring up our shopping bags. Their staff is like no other....quality work and they serve with joy= quality customer service...we booked again 2 days before we left.

Room Tip: choose 4th floor or higher to get garden view, ocean view, and pool view...stay away from rooms clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank take2AUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I am just coming home from a 4 day trip to Aruba where my family and I (a group of 10) stayed at the Ocean Club and at the Surf Club.
When I made the reservation, I was concerned about the difference between the Surf and Ocean Clubs, the Ocean being more expensive by $800. We decided on the more expensive, the Ocean, expecting a higher quality of service.
Upon arrival, we dropped off half of our group at the Surf Club where they were immediately met by 5-6 valets. When we went to Ocean, there were no valets, we had to carry our luggage and when we went to the front desk, the very unfriendly receptionist was annoyed when we asked her if she could call the valet to bring our luggage up. No valet showed up and we had to carry our own bags!
When we opened our room, the ocean view was no where to be seen and the extra pillows we asked for never arrived.
The beach is very pretty but wake up at 530 am so you can make the line to reserve a hut or else you are stuck with sitting behind the water sports.
There is a pier and a lot of small boats and jet skis so stay within the roped areas. Enjoy the murky water since the boats come in and out and move the sand underneath.
Everyone is on island time which is expected but seriously, in a hotel? The only alert people Are the constant time share vendors with their phone calls and "free gift" incentives (a lotion of aloe and $400 if you attend their 2 hr demo). For the 400$ we went to the supposed 1 hr demo and at 2 hrs they didnt want to let us go. Then the harrassing began.
Overall, the property is great but if you are expecting service, you will not get it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank afabrega11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I am an owner at the Ocean Club, so yes, you may called me biased, but I believe this property to be one of the best of Aruba's offerings. The staff truly sets this property apart from its competition From the warm reception by the front desk staff, to the helpful concierge desk, to the maintenance team working diigently in the building and on the grounds every day, the Marriott Ocean Club team gets it right. They understand customer service, in all its forms.

Upgrades and additions to the property include a lovely revolving door at the main entrance, automatic doors to the pool area and side exit facing the Marriott Resort as well as new signage throughout. Plans are being made to expand the Pavillion Restaurant's hours and to include dinner offerings and live entertainment. This will likely materialize next year.

Space at the pool and beach was a non-issue, as September is considered low season on the island. The pool area and pool deck allow for an ample number of guests without being crowded.

For the inquiring minds, the adults only pool, recently constructed between the Ocean Club and Marriott Resort properties is currently for the use of Marriott Resort guests only. Ocean Club and Suf Club guests are not permitted to use this pool. Likewise, sharing of facilities (pool and/or beach chairs, beach palapas) between the Ocean and Surf Clubs are prohibited.

For the Ocean Club guests, palapas are available on a pay reserve OR first-come, first-serve basis through the property's towel hut (to the left of the Pavillion Restaurant). The pay-to-reserve process is $15/day for first or second row; $10/day for third row and beyond, up to three days in advance. Palapas are also available free of charge on a first-come, first-serve basis every morning at the towel hut, which opens at 7 a.m

Conditions of the water and beach were very good, though littering continues to be an issue at many of the hotel properties. I encourage travelers to be kind to the island, its residents and fellow guests; please pick up after yourselves. It takes only a minute.

Many thanks to Rosangel, Mariana, Nicole, Jaqui, Ben and the entire Marriott team for another wonderful trip! Danki!

Room Tip: Rooms inside the 'U,' fourth floor or higher, offer best views of the pool, grounds and Cari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arubamasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I spent the past week at this fantastic facility and it was an outstanding experience. The facility is absolutely beautiful and the grounds are immaculate. I ate at several of the restaurants in the facility and every meal was great. The attentive staff at this facility was the other aspect contributing to my wonderful experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are over 62 years of age, you can get a great rate on an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happytraveler0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
#16 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Address: Smith Blvd 99 LG, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $451 - $1,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among beautiful Palm Beach is the immaculate Marriott's Aruba Surf Club. With a variety of on-site activities, filling your day with fun is no obstacle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Ocean Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Hotel
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing