We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ocean club was great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ocean club was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2008

stayed at ocean club for 5 nites...had a wonderful time..room was perfect...2 couples in a 2bdrm unit..we shopped at ling and son, b4 we arrived at hotel. asked taxi driver to make a pit stop..no problem..forgot to buy our booze at the duty free store at airport, so bought it at ling and sons..had brkfst and lunch at our unit, went out (outside hotel) every night for dinner. once we arrived i went right over to conceirge to make reservations for dinner at chalet suisse, flying fishbone, madame janettes, papiamento, & screaming eagle. Loved flying fishbone, long taxi ride there and back, but well worth it. Chalet suisse was also nice, didnt love madame janettes, ambiance was nice but lots of big parties around us, and food was just so so, screaming eagle was the least liked for everyone in our party, very shi shi, and meals were very luke warm, even when i asked him to reheat it...they didnt reheat, they gave me another dish of same meal...ugg, so i ate it. Papiamento was our most favorite...sitting at tables around a pool with lights and wonderful landscaping all around, food was very good.
well took a day to get used to the routine of the palapas..but we faired very well...had to pay but it was better than getting up at 7 am or sooner to stand in line for the towel hut to open and reserve one.
i havent been to aruba for 8 yrs, last time there...the motor boats were very loud...they are not so close anymore to beach so it was much better.
we didnt have best room for viewing, 1st floor way all way near the stores., but it was fine...we spent most time at bch.
we didnt get into town on time...by the time we arrived all stores had closed...ck b4 u go into town...
staff was frndly, i would def go back, but im not a creature of habit...walked by the riu palace..looks awesome...i want to try that next time...
the one thing i didnt like about the beach ..was walking along all the beach front hotels...for the most part there is a paved walkway, that travels all the way down the beach except for one spot in front of a restaurant (bar) and holiday inn...had to walk thru sand...it would be nice if they could fix that little issue for those that like to power walk.
taxi fare adds up...next time id prob rent a car..at hotel...to get a small one. and taxi back and forth to hotel from airport.

  • Liked — full kitchen
  • Disliked — uncomfortable bed, no ice makers in halls...had to ask for ice, freezer one didnt work
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dcm2429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    301
    110
    35
    19
See reviews for
386
492
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

I was pretty impressed with the Marriott Ocean Club. I went on the trip as a result of a Marriott Vacation Club representative that came to my work. I got a fantastic rate and just had to attend the 90-minute tour / timeshare presentation for the Marriott Surf Club, which was very informative and no-pressure.

Upon arrival to the hotel, our room was not ready, but they stored our luggage for us and we headed for the pool. The pool area was nice - a couple waterfalls and a swim-up bar. Plenty of iguana's to visit with

Rooms: We stayed in a one-bedroom villa. Very nice, clean, and well taken care of. No complaints. We loved that we had a full kitchen and we made use of it all week. Get some groceries delivered from Ling & Sons, they are fantastic.

Beach: Nice. It was a quiet week for the hotel, so we had no problem finding chairs. Spent a lot of time in the water, it was very calm and relaxing. There is a big drop when you get into the water, so be careful not to fall getting in and out!

Service: All of the staff was very friendly. We had some dinner reservations made for us, and frequently went to the front desk with questions about the area. Also, the first night at the hotel, the AC broke in the entire building. We were well informed of the situation, and $100 was credited to our account, which we made use of !!

Food: We ate once outside by the pool, basic food, but pretty good. We ordered room service once, the menu is small, but if you're hungry, you'll find something you like! We also ate at Champion's Sports Bar within the hotel. Sandwiches were very good, as well as the service. We also had a pizza delivered to our room from Champion's. The fridge and microwave came in handy for leftovers.

All in all, we had a nice time at the Ocean Club, and I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Liked — Rooms and beach
  • Disliked — Expensive drinks at the pool
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank l2m7c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2007

My wife and I honeymooned at the Ocean Club and got a very good rate on a 1 bdr. thru a Marriott associate. The room was nicely decorated and we were on the second floor facing the construction of the remodelled Stelaris.

The room and other common areas were very nice, but I wouldn't quite say they are on the level of a Ritz, St. Regis or luxury collection hotel. It was very nice though and thats why I give it 4 stars.

We were able to get a Palapa every day for free in the 1st or 2nd row depending how early you went to the towell hut. Even at Noon you could get one in the 2nd or 3rd row. The water was clear but not quite as nice as Baby beaches water. Be warned that Baby beach is in view of the Vallero refinery and we could see dirty smoke shooting out of smoke stacks a 1/2 mile away which was pretty nasty.

El Gaucho steakhouse was great and Madame Janettes was pretty good. We got groceries at Ling & Sons at the beginning of the week and cooked our own breakfast and some lunches which saved some money.

There is a happy hour every day from 3pm-5pm 2 for 1 drinks. One drink is $10 so it is a savings. We took a walk down the beach and saw all other bars had 2 for 1 drinks for $7-8. Get a bottle of Rum at the duty free shop in Miami and spruce up your drinks.

We took a taxi everywhere and it was pretty economical. It runs about $8 to go to Lings and $10 downtown. We rented a jeep one day from Economy rental for $80 and spent about $25 for gas. Gas is $5/gallon and I don't recommend Economy because the jeep was very trashed, needed a tune-up and the tires were bald.

We did the Jolley Pirate snorkel trip which leaves right out front of Moomba Beach next door and that was pretty fun although somewhat hokey compared to a catamaran.

Overall I would recommend the Marriott although the construction was a little bit disturbing for being on vacation.

  • Liked — Spacious room and comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — slimy ocean sand bottom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alwaystravelsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2007

I need to start by telling people to NOT BE DISCOURAGED by the forcasts! Before we left, every forcast predicted showers and rain for Aruba! It was so discouraging as we picked the island because it is out of the hurricane belt and we were told it never rains! We were there for eight days and did not see one drop of rain. Each day was prettier than the one before!
The condo at the Ocean Club was beautiful and well appointed.
It was immaculate as well.
The resort is wonderful---the pool is free form and right on the beach. The palapas were very easy to get, and a wonderful treat.The sand is white and and the water is aqua and clear.
The people on the island are happy and friendly. We felt safe everyplace we went.
Some of the things we enjoyed--
Renting a car right on the premises and touring the island--
lighthouse, Natural Bridge, Baby Beach
Jolly Pirate Snorkling Adventure--It was the highlight of the trip. The crew is there to entertain you and makes sure everyone has a great time. Took us to three different places to snorkle, and the rope swing was so much fun.Dance contests, games etc.
Kukoo Kanuku Party Bus--Shout out to Big Daddy and crew. A unique and wonderfully fun way to see Aruba and have a great time. Singing and dancing the whole time. We started out with a champagne toast at sunset on the beach, then onto dinner, and four different and unique clubs.
Flying Fishbone--If you call for reservations and ask for tables alongside the water (your feet are in the water) it is a different and wonderful dining experience!
There were four of us, and this trip was in our Top Five!

  • Liked — Location, pool and beach
  • Disliked — Construction
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank flopseyWestChesterOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

Let me start by saying we are not timeshare owners and used Marriott points to get 5 nights in a 1 bedroom villa, so I can't really comment on the value of the resort. The room was very nice and I'm glad we chose the Ocean club over the Surf club. The size of the Surf club is a bit overwhelming and I agree with other posts that it will be crowded once the new towers open (which appeared to be any day now).

Our room was in the back on the Marriott Resort side - facing the construction, although it didn't really bother us. If you like to sleep in, it could be a problem (we were usually up by 8:00). The room was very spacious and comfortable. We took advantage of the kitchen and had breakfast & snack stuff in the room. We only ate lunch at the resort and found the food decent and reasonable (for resort food). Champions has good sandwiches. Some restaurants we really enjoyed were Driftwood, Old Fisherman and El Gaucho. We didn't pay for a palaypa and had no problem getting one each day (usually on the 2nd row). If you're really picky and want an unobstructed view, you'll probably have to pay.

Overall, we found Aruba a little more American-ized and touristy than we expected, but we had a great trip. We rented a jeep for the week - it is very easy to drive on the island (except that there are almost no street signs, so you can easily get lost off the main roads). We did our own private version of the jeep tour - starting at the lighthouse all the way down the coast to the natural bridge - we HIGHLY recommend doing this either on your own or through a tour group. It was a great way to see the natural side of the island. Good snorkeling on Baby beach - way on the southern tip of the island.

  • Liked — It was free! (we used marriott points)
  • Disliked — Lots of children/families.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank georgiagirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

This hotel/timeshare resort was really nice. There are 3 Marriott's all right next to each other, this one is in the middle of them. You have full access to the other 2 resorts. The ocean there was a light emerald green and aqua blue water, the sand was white. There were papalas (beach huts) all along the beach, you don't have to rent one unless it's crowded, to guarentee one. The Lazy river was really nice, that is located at the Marriott Surft Club next door, but I only went in at night because there were a lot of people in it during the day. The pools are open until 10PM. There are 3. You have to buy a raft or tube, they don't give them out, if you want to use it in the lazy river, they are about $10 so you're better off buying one at home for $2 and bringing it with you. There is an airhose at the towel hut at the Surf Club so you can blow them up. You do not need one to go in the lazy river. The Ocean Club's pool was very nice also, not as loud. There are iguanas by the Ocean Club's pool and bar area, people are feeding them so they are not afraid of us. Just a few hours during the day they come out, they do not bite or bother you but do not touch them, they have long tails. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit thru a timeshare exchange and it was very large and accomadating, it had all the amenities. Maid service was extra so we did not want it. There was construction going on so bits and pieces of the resort were closed but we knew that ahead of time. This is the 2nd to the last resort the at end of Palm Beach so it's not near the main town but easy to get on the bus, catch a cab or rent a car. Not a very Caribbean feel, more South American feel to this island. Shopping was awesome, need days to do that. Sunset Grille at the Radisson Hotel was the best place to eat! It is very expensive to eat out on this island so shopping at the IGA (also called Ling & Son's) is the best supermarket. The drinking water is the best and safest in the Caribbean. Look for Justine, a blond from Boston, she works on the beach doing parasailing and tubing, really nice person! Tell her Cathy from CT sent you! Go to a timeshare showing there, they give you $100!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — key cards didn't always work, not willing to upgrade us even though they were not full
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank CathyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbridge, virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

Our first trip to Aruba, exchanged timeshare for this property. One bedroom villa, nice and spacious. We arrived night before hurricane Felix, but it proved to be just a tropical storm. Beach had alot of debris, however hotel did everything to clear it and was able to swim next day.

Loved Baby Beach, great snorkling south end of island. Ocean/Surf clubs have about 6 beautiful pools, lazy river, small water slide, hot tubs, and pool service was great. Ocean Club shares facilities with the newer Surf Club which is right next door.

Food expensive, but was good at Champion's. We ate dinner on island, enjoyed Salt & Pepper and Whitey's (new West Indian restaurant excellent curry dishes), Marina Pirata romantic dinner on the pier (breaded calamari was delicious), shopped for groceries at Ling & Sons, best on island.

Rent a car/jeep and see the island.

  • Liked — Spacious, free internet access in room, casino on site
  • Disliked — TV in bedroom did not have dvd player or connections
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank deeifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
#16 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club

Property: Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club
Address: Smith Blvd 99 LG, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among beautiful Palm Beach is the immaculate Marriott's Aruba Surf Club. With a variety of on-site activities, filling your day with fun is no obstacle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Aruba Ocean Club Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Palm Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Hotel
Marriott Palm/Eagle Beach
Marriotts Aruba Ocean Club
Marriott's Aruba Ocean Club Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing