We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The two bedroom apartment is right on the beautiful beach! The location of the hotel is the best value.
However
1. Two bedroom is actually a one bedroom suite. The second small bedroom does not have windows and is literally a closet with two beds.
2. We had to have (required by management) an noisy air filter in the living room all the time.
3. Check in is strictly at 4 pm and check out is at 11 am and both are enforced. Our flight in was early, but we could not store our valuables anywhere at the hotel and had to bring our money, credit cards, and passports on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vnayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    127
    43
    9
    9
See reviews for
261
151
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We exchanged a timeshare week through Interval International to stay in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit at the Casa del Mar in September of 2013. The timeshare gods were smiling upon us as we were lucky enough to get assigned an oceanfront unit (Room 1123). It was our second time staying in the Eagle Beach area of Aruba which we prefer to the hustle and bustle of Palm Beach. Here are the good and bad points about the resort based upon our experience:

The Good

- Unit had been completely refurbished (granite countertops, 3 flat screen TVs, etc.)
- Daily maid service is provided (except Sunday when trash is still emptied)
- Grounds were very clean and the staff was friendly
- On-site restaurant, Matthews, is reasonably priced (by Aruba standards) and the food generally good. Don’t miss the all-you-can-eat rib night as it’s a great deal.
- Matthews has three daily happy hours (12-1pm, 4-6pm, and 9-10pm) with a good variety of drinks
-Several stores (Dunkin Donuts, market, coffee shop, etc.) are located directly across the street next to the Alhambra Casino (which itself is a positive for gamblers)

The Bad

-The major negative about the resort – and it’s a big one for us – is that the beach area simply isn’t of Eagle Beach quality. By that I mean it’s not a wide beach with gentle surf that personifies Eagle Beach. Located on the very southern portion of area and slightly around a point, the beach was narrow, rocky, and the water constantly choppy. We were on the beach every day during the week and the conditions were consistent so it’s not like we caught it on a bad day or two.
- While we had no trouble finding a “chickee” (palapa) with it being shoulder season, we quickly discovered that we needed to get out early to reserve the best ones. While there’s a “no reserving for more than 2 hours or possessions will be removed” rule, it was never enforced. We found it frustrating to have people literally leave towels and flip flops in the best-located chickees from 7am – 7pm and then only actually use them for 3-4 hours during the day.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Casa del Mar but the so-so beach area gets it dinged a star in the rating. Aruba is a wonderful place to visit – as they say, “you go, you know.” However, let me offer up a few tips that may help in planning your visit: 1) If you want to buy liquor, do so upon arrival at the duty free shop in the airport (you’ll save approximately 40%); 2) Food is VERY expensive in Aruba (e.g., box of cereal was $6.00) so consider packing lightweight food items in your luggage if you have room; 3) Take along a collapsible beverage cooler (there’s an ice machine at the resort) for use on the beach or exploring the island in a rental car (Baby Beach is a nice place to visit).

Room Tip: Room 1123 is oceanfront and close to Matthews
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GAGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
361 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is not a luxury resort by far but it is very clean and well appointed. The beach is experiencing some erosion however it is long and has several huts and chairs. The water is truly in credible! Blue, clear, cool and wonderful to just spend the day wading in. The hotel was quiet at night and the bed was comfortable. Good water pressure and American appointments. The full kitchen came in handy!

Towel rental is a bit archaic, as is the room charge process. Beware of the "electricity" charge every day - it added $21 a day to the cost. And a $25 luxury tax - huh?

Room Tip: The Ambassador suites are across the street and do not have beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We are time share owners at this resort and have been returning for 15 consecutive years. We absolutely love this resort and all it has to offer. There have been changes through the years, all for the positive. The rooms are extraordinarily large and daily maid service is exceptional. The staff are always eager to please and the resort is always kept up and clean. The amenities are just right and the on site restaurant is wonderful. The location of this resort couldn't be better as it sits on one of the best stretches of beach in the world. Returning each year is truly a 'home away from home' experience and we're always excited to share it with returning family and friends each year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanJo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Aruba thanks to our daughter giving us her time-share week. The 2-bedroom unit we stayed in was spacious, clean, and well-stocked. While the second bedroom had twin beds, the staff gladly made the bed up as a king when asked. We particularly liked the location in the lowrise section of Aruba, away from the hustle and bustle, yet easily accessible to the 'activity' by car or taxi. The location is also great for getting to and from the airport (10 minutes) or a large grocery store. The pool and beachfront were literally right in front of the resort with plenty of cover to keep us from frying in the sun. Casa del Mar also has an open air restaurant right on the premises (Matthew's) which we found not only convenient for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, but reasonably priced and YUMMY!! The happy hour drinks were well worth it especially at the end of the day watching the magnificent sunsets from the beach. I'm not sure younger couples or singles would be happy here as it seemed most of the guests were more 'mature' in age or in family groups. We fell in love with Aruba on this trip and will return again not hesitating to stay at Casa del Mar!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HokieGal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARASOTA, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed in the 2-bedroom ocean view on the 4th (1413) floor. View OK, but also overlooked parking lot and construction next door. Unit spacious and fully-equiped with everything you would need, Second bedroom has 2 twin beds, and pull out sofa not very comfortable even though it looked brand new. Flat screen TVs in each of the rooms which was nice,
Location of Casa Del Mar is very good, directly across from casino. Looks like however, they are losing some of their beachfront due to erosion so there are some large rocks that have washed up directly in front. This is not an issue though since you can walk a little way to the left or right and be on what many will agree is the best beach is Aruba.
Beautiful sunsets and great bar scene at CDM, not a place for young singles though. Three happy hours a day, fun bartenders and good entertainment.
Matthews - the onsite restaurant is very good.
Overall I have no complaints with the staff. Most all of them very friendly.
I have exchanged my timeshare many places but don't ever recall the "hidden charges" that they add on here, The total at checkout was an additional $169 for the 2 bedroom units so beware of that.
We did enjoy our stay at Casa Del Mar
Taxi from airport $22
Taxi to Highrise $9
Car Rental available by day at CDM $30 - 37/day TL

Room Tip: as others have mentioned, all the 1-bedroom units are across the street from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently took our friends timeshare at this resort. Rooms were clean and spacious, kitchen was fully supplied with pots, dishes, cups..etc. and the bathroom was pretty decent. However, unfortunately our room was not located on the beach front but rather away from the hotel.. Which bummed me out a bit, but due to the slow season we had plenty of access to the huts that are available to the guest. I not only had a great view from my balcony of the pool, but we had the convience of other resturants and casinos just a few steps away.We also had convience of booking all kinds of tours with the coordinator that is on staff (ask for Bea) she was not only friendly, but offered great alt. to different tours!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadimtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,599 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Property: Casa Del Mar Beach Resort
Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 51-53, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Del Mar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort & Timeshare Aruba. World famous for its beautiful white sandy beach and gorgeous blue-green Caribbean water, the resort is ideal for family vacations, a romantic honeymoon, water sports or just a relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Casa Del Mar Aruba Beach Club Resort
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing