We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Del Mar”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Massachustts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Casa Del Mar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

Date January 15, 2008
We have just returned from a week at Casa Del Mar where we rented a two bedroom timeshare for my family of five-3 twenty-somethings and 2 middle aged parents. The Casa Del Mar is situated on a beautiful beach in the lowrise area. The unit itself was spacious enough however it was in dire need of updating. There was a moldy mildew smell our first night there, and after reporting it , and after the staff sprayed the unit, it became tolerable. We found the previous occupant's clothing in the master bedroom bureau drawers.
There appeared to be predominantly senior citizens staying at the Casa Del Mar. Alot of folks reserved their pool lounges early in the a.m. and then took off for hours to play cards or bingo. After observing 2 loungechairs vacant for over 2 hours, we decided to sit in them, only to be told by a watchdog old woman, that they were reserved for people who were at the casino across the street. Something should be done about the policy regarding loungechairs.
All in all our Aruba vacation was very nice due to beautiful weather, good dining, and the fact that we rented a car so that we could leave the premises when we wanted, as there was little entertainment or activity at the resort.

Helpful?
11 Thank velvet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    127
    43
    9
    9
See reviews for
261
151
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

The photos on their website are a little misleading, our room was in the building across the street with a pretty crummy pool and kiddie pool. We traded our timeshare from St. Martin to try a different island. The people were friendly enough but typical caribbean, slow motion.

The beach was very nice but my son preferred the kiddie pool across the street in the sister resort, Aruba Beach Club. We ended up spending most of our days there and eating at their bar/restaurant. Their lobster night was wonderful, we brought the laptop and my son sat and watched a movie while we ate. They even made him peanut butter and jelly.

The Pirates Nest in one of the other resorts was also very nice and almost all of the restaurants do take out so we were able to have nice dinners even if we didn't get out. I'm ok making breakfast or lunch in the room but I don't want to go on vacation and cook every night.

The 1 bedroom room was small, too much furniture for a small space. I don't know how you would put 4 adults in that room, it was tight with 2 adults and a 3 yr old.

  • Liked — that we have several other resorts to choose from within walking distance to use their amenities
  • Disliked — no shopping within walking distance
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisx98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

We stayed at the CDM for 2 wonderful weeks. We had a one bedroom unit in the Ambassador wing. That wing had its own pool. There is a small children's pool also. It offered a pleasant quiet place to read and soak up the sun. Our unit was kept very clean by the unobtrusive housekeeping staff. We had a light bulb go out and it was replaced 15 minutes after we reported it. The beach is a short walk across the street and through the lobby of the Presidential wing. There is a playgound and pool there for children as well as the big pool. Matthew's restaurant is located here and the bar has great happy hour prices. We liked the restaurant's food and found that one of their big lunch sandwiches and fries made a big enough meal to share. This resort has a convenience store as does the resort next door. Car rental is available on site. The staff make you feel welcome. The resort is located in the 'low rise' area. There is a casino, Subway restaurant, Dunkin donuts, and bagel hut all located nearby. The resorts in this area offer a good variety of cuisine. We especially enjoyed 'Pizza Bobs' food. We are already planning a trip there in 2008.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Manitobans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2007

We purchased a two bedroom Presidential unit here in November 2005 but this was our first time to stay here. We own three timeshares (Las Vegas, Western US-but stay in Hawaii and CDM). We have stayed at many timeshares via exchanges with RCI and this is one of the best ones. The unit was on the 4th floor with a huge balcony overlooking the pool, ocean and Aruba Beach Club. Large unit with two bathrooms. Very clean and housekeeping always came in the morning to clean. Loved the de-humifiers they have in the units now. Front desk service was efficient and friendly. This is not an over the top resort but has a wonderful laid back island vibe. We did eat at Matthews one day for lunch-food was good and portions large. We are very happy with this purchase and have plans to return for many years.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank lizardlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2007

Stayed one week in 1Br in Ambassador builing. The room was average in size, AC was working great. Everything else (appliances, tv, etc) was working also, but definitely was a bit dated. The Casa del Mar / Aruba Beach Club complex seems to be catering to South American tourists as much as to North Americans. If you're expecting 6-star resort - this is not it, but it's
definitely reaches 3-star given by Tripadvisor.
There is no "ocean view" from Ambassador, but it's literally just across the street from the beachfront building - maybe 100 steps away.
I had no major complaints - in fact the room service was very efficient, rooms were cleaned every day, the resort seemed to be run very efficiently in general(check in, check out, maintenance requests, parking, car rentals, etc)
There is a small pool right beside Ambassador blg, and also beach towel exchange. The larger pools are near the beach.
The restaurant was nice, but it seemed to me to be 20-25% more expensive than some other places of similar quality. I guess you have to pay for convenience of not having to drive/walk to eat.
The beach is nice and wide, plenty of bech huts for shade. The sea however is rough. The waves and strong current drags you north parallel to the beach, which is not ideal for swimming. The sea is a lot calmer when you walk toward Eagle beach. I drove to Eagle Beach (5 minutes drive) for good swimming.
Apart from this inconvenience the resort matched and exceeded every expectation

  • Liked — cleanliness and efficiency o the staff
  • Disliked — dated appliance
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 7_time_aruba_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

My family of four plus neice and nephew stayed in the 2 br section July 21-28, 2007. We exchanged our RCI timeshare in Maui for Aruba and I can honestly say we were not dissapointed. We have exchanged many times to different parts of the world, and we ALWAYS get the "please come to the free breakfast " invitation the morning after arrival. All it is is another sales pitch to buy into the place. Usually a friendly "no thank you" does the trick and they leave you alone. To my suprise, this never happened at Casa Del Mar. Maybe they don't have to force people into buying because the place sells itself! Not much beats Maui, but Aruba came close. The locals, staff at the hotel, taxi drivers, just about everyone we came in contact with were wonderful. Aruba got some bad publicity when a tourist disappeared not long ago, but with anywhere you would travel-use your head, be smart. I felt extremley safe at all times, so safe that I did allow our young adult children to venture out by themselves. This cannot be said about many Carribean islands. I loved the fact that we could go anywhere and not be harrased or afraid. The property is not over the top, but it was VERY clean, and had very spacious rooms. One morning I saw a maid cleaning the outside railings on the balcony because it had some bird poo on it. Six adults and we never bumped into each other. This place had the most storage I've ever seen in a timehare. There were drawers we never used! The master bathroom had a great set up with a vanity and stool for drying hair or putting on makeup while the sink, shower and toilet were in a separate room. The other bathroom was spacious as well. Again, the decor was not the most elegant, but everything you could want was in this place. The kitchen was very well equipped. Food shopping was not as close as I thought-you do need to take a taxi-$5 or 6 each way. All taxis charged per destination-not per person. Only five people to a taxi no matter what the size of the car was. The fares were extremely cheap-I thought. Matthews had great food-ate there three times, make sure you hit the happy hours at he pool, otherwise drinks are pricey. The adjoining Aruba Beach Club had a little grocery store with all the staples-didn't find that until our last day! Iguana Joes in town had great food-inexpensive and fun. The Paddock also had good food-it's the place with the cow on the roof. Benihana by the high rises was great as was Amazonia-a Brazilian steakhouse/rodizio. The service there was tremendous, as was the final bill! It was worth the experience though! I booked an Aruba Jeep tour with Depalm before we went and it was awesome. Also did the SeaTrek at their private island-and everyone should do this-you walk underwater on the ocean floor with helmets. A grandma did it with us and if she could do it, then anyone could! It's a once in a lifetime experience. Go tubing down on Palm Beach-awesome time. Book this through Pelican in the lobby of Casa Del Mar. They even come to the hotel and pick you up, the drop you back-fun day! Everything about Aruba is fun and I can't wait to get back there. Oh-and probably one of the most important things-the drinking water is excellent-no bottled water down there-it's clean and safe to drink anywhere-it's desaltinated water and they do a great job! In fact all the water, wheather you're drinking or swimming in it, is some of the best in the world.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank NC123Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

We stayed from July 28 untlill August 4. Found it to be a nice and accomodating hotel with all the amenities as advertised. Our kids loved the various activities that the hotel had. We stayed in the Ambassador wing and could still enjoy the facilities at the CDM and ABC. Check in was smooth and flawless. Only small disappointment was that we were not granted a late check out. For the rest this time share resort is very family oriented. Would like to especially comment our housekeeper by the name of Mrs. DeCuba a Colombian lady who accomodated all of our requests and was very efficient and friendly.
Thanks for a great time!
The Arrindell's from Aruba!

  • Liked — Amenities
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NOAOranjestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,600 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Property: Casa Del Mar Beach Resort
Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 51-53, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Del Mar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort & Timeshare Aruba. World famous for its beautiful white sandy beach and gorgeous blue-green Caribbean water, the resort is ideal for family vacations, a romantic honeymoon, water sports or just a relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Casa Del Mar Aruba Beach Club Resort
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing