We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our exchange to this resort.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm - Eagle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was our first trip to Aruba and our first stay at Casa Del Mar. Overall, this was a nice resort. Rooms were very clean, AC worked well, kitchen well appointed. Housekeeping was very nice and thorough in their cleaning. The pool at the ambassador building (across the street) was extremely quiet (almost too quiet for a family to enjoy), but it was a short walk to the main pool where there was much more activity. The shared amenities with the Aruba Beach Club next door was really nice as well. ABC had a very similar setup but provided some variation in activities. The 3 happy hours per day at Matthew's bar were nice and brought out more people to the area. The beach directly in front of the resort has eroded significantly and did so even more while we were there. The rocks are the only thing keeping it from eroding further, but the beach at ABC is still pretty much in tact and was really nice. My only real complaint was the lack of activities. When we asked the front desk on the first day of our stay for the schedule of activities on paper, the woman at the desk simply replied that there wasn't one (although a schedule was posted in several bulletin board locations). We found out the next day when we took our kids over to participate in one of the scheduled activities that the activity center was closed. When we asked at the desk, the same woman simply said it is closed all wekk (we later clarified that was indefinitely). Well, later that day we were over at ABC and asked about activities since they also had things posted. They said they had a full activity slate and we were welcome to participate. Why the woman at CDM couldn't have referred us to ABC I have no idea. It would have saved us a few hours of our kids being upset thinking there were no activities. Btw, the activity center and staff at ABC were awesome. Great with the kids and hosted things like craft projects and a popular movie night which gave us a nice night out to dinner without the kids.

The general stores at both resorts have almost the same prices as the big grocery stores, so don't feel like you need to cab it to the. Big stores for things like soda, chips, milk, etc. It's expensive but it's expensive everywhere.

We really had a great time though and would exchange here again if we return to Aruba.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psufan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 639 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

had i stayed on the beach side the rating would have been better. To start the pool is very small, they have no control of occupancy, so locals bring ALL the family! there were over 8 children all the time at the pool,they had floats(supposedly not allowed),doing all kind of summersalts without consideration to others. the adults did not set any limits! There is no towel exchamge at the building, so if you wanted must to stsy around , will not have clean tosels or have to walk 2 blocks to get to the towel exchange place!
There is no security in thay building to enforce rules. I complaint to one security person in the main building, and maybe something was done about the unruly behavior BUT THAT NIGHT they had a major party that lasted until midnight!
The beach in this part of the island is sort of rough eith lots of waves.
the main builfing has all the 2 bedrooms unit. The ambasador all 1 br. They are remodeling the 2 bdr units. the main building has a large pool and 2 jacuzzi and a few grills. the ambasador has no jacuzi, no play ground and only 1 grill
Since Aruba beach club belong to same corporation,you can use either side. It is less crowdy. The ABC ONLY HAS 1 BR EXCEPT THE END OCEAM UNITS THAT ARE 2 BRS

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bacchus6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel used to be one of the best in Aruba. But with the years it is now very outdated and desperately needs some renovation. Nevertheless the beach area is just stunning! It's for a reason that Aruba's beaches are world famous and this hotel is at the best spot and the beach strip. There are a few places to eat around the hotel, there is a subway and a dunking donuts also the Alhambra Casino is across from the hotel. Parking lot is very busy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was a time share exchange that really turned out extremely well. Big, lovely, updated two bedroom unit with balcony ocean and pool view. Daily housekeeping with full service and very professional and friendly employees. Beach was more choppy than I prefer, but sunsets were lovely. Good restaurant on site and proximity to other resorts made shopping easy. It's always breezy in Aruba despite the high temp and staying at Casa del Mar was living easy.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom units are in the building closest to the beach...worth insisting on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nm2nm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

When they say: "Casa del Mar Beach Resort, located on one of the finest beaches in Aruba".. they really mean it. The beach is crystal-clear, very clean and there's plenty palapa-huts for the families. The beach itself is like an attraction, reminds me of the giant wave-pool at Disney's Typhoon Lagoon, because of the waves. Don't freak out, they are not that high, otherwise Casa del Mar Beach Resort wouldn't allow people in it. A lot of teenagers entered the water with their surf-boards, to practice their surfing-skills. I wouldn't recommend to go swimming with babies. You can go visit baby beach instead. Baby Beach is a shallow, sheltered man-made lagoon located in Seroe Colorado, on the southeast end of the island of Aruba. If you come visit Aruba you really need to go for a swim at Aruba beaches, because they are the best of the Caribbean.

The swimming pool is not that WOW. There's no water-slide, no waterfalls, no incredible-design. It's simply a swimming pool, but what matters most is that it's very clean. Every morning I saw staff members cleaning the main pool, the kids pool and the two jacuzzi's, which is very good.

Something I missed a lot is good-entertainment at the pool deck. I wouldn't recommend you "Casa del Mar Beach Resort" if you are looking for 24/7 entertainment. There was only BINGO, water aerobics and background music.

We stayed in a Presidential two-bedroom suite. It was very comfortable,clean and there is a nice fully-equipped kitchen. The beds were okay, but what I really loved was the bathrooms, they were luxurious. The rooms are also PURE Allergy Friendly Rooms.

Those were the highlights of our stay at Casa del Mar Beach Resort. We enjoyed our stay at Casa del Mar Beach Resort and we are looking forward to return very very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I, my wife and 18 year old daughter just returned from a phenomenal experience in Aruba. We stayed at the Casa Del Mar resort in a Presidential two bedroom condominium. I don't know what has been written in the reviews about it but if it wasn't great then it wasn't accurate. The place was clean, spacious, and other than poor lighting, was one of the nicest RCI places we have stayed at over the last eight years. The staff was great. Ask for Anthony. He will set you off in the right direction from the beginning no matter where you want to go or what you want to do. I might suggest to use the public bus for transportation. It will take you anywhere a cab will take you or anywhere you want to go on the commercial side of the island and the cost is only $1.30 per ride and the bus stop is right across the street from the Casino which is right across the street from the resort.
The evening entertainment and Friday afternoon dance lessons at Matthew's restaurant added to the fun of staying at the Casa Del Mar resort. Rest assured Casa Del Mar is a great place and we discovered you cannot go to Aruba without having a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansasDukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here two weeks last year and loved it. Not so much this year. The beach is very eroded and rocky. Many exposed boulders. There are even two wide open drainage pipes. No effort is made to even clean up the beach on a daily basis. We called RCI to let them know we were diappointed in our trade. They called us back twice - and no one from Casa Del Mar gave us the message. Housekeeping was friendly. Everyone seemed mopey at this place. Service at Matthews was 'eh. Like they had no interest in being there. We will never be back.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank travelingdawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,296 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
880 reviews
1.8 mi away
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard 51-53, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $160 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Del Mar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort & Timeshare Aruba. World famous for its beautiful white sandy beach and gorgeous blue-green Caribbean water, the resort is ideal for family vacations, a romantic honeymoon, water sports or just a relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Casa Del Mar Aruba Beach Club Resort
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort Aruba/Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing