We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this!!!”

Octopus Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome on the OCTOPUS Our highly experienced captain Jethro and crew would love to welcome you on board of the Octopus. Enjoy one of our arrangements together with your friends and family, while we sail along the most beautiful places of Aruba. Enjoy the underwater world, while snorkeling and tasting our great food and drinks. Or enjoy music and watch the mind-blowing sunset. The 40 foot trimaran sailboat accommodates 24 people and will make it feel like a private trip. All equipment included. We as your crew will give you the personal service and attention you deserve.
Roswell, GA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a cruise aboard a Trimaran, a first for me and a huge thrill!! The owner and captain of the Octopus, Jethro Gesterkamp, has been sailing the Octopus for 28 years!! It was originally built in Holland and sailed to Aruba by it’s owner at the time, so, it is a very sturdy and safe boat!! This is a sail-powered sailboat. No motor, just the peace and quiet of the wind in the sails and the splash of the water!!! The trip starts at the pier by the Holiday Inn and sails about 40 minutes north up the coast to a spot called Boca Catalina. It is an absolutely incredible spot for snorkeling!!! It is an area that is pretty well protected from the wind and the water is crystal clear!!! The depth is only about 10 feet, so, it is a great snorkeling depth. We truly felt like we were swimming in a tropical fish bowl!!! The sheer abundance of fish was breathtaking!! There were so many different kinds of fish!! We saw French Angelfish, Wrasse, Damselfish, Yellowtail, Goatfish, Cowfish, Tang, several kinds of Parrotfish, Butterfly fish and even a Green Moray, to name only a few!! The huge schools of fish were just incredible!! The coral in this area was pretty healthy and the water was a bit warmer, owing to the shallower water depth, I am sure. This snorkeling spot is totally accessible from the beach and I am hoping that we will have time to come back by ourselves tomorrow and spend more time there!!
I chose this trip for a few reasons, the fact that Jethro is geared toward smaller groups, and we lucked out, there were only 6 of us on board, and there were no other boats with snorkelers there, so, we had the place to ourselves!!! I also want to experience as many different snorkel spots as possible and Boca Catalina was one of the places I had on my list. I read reviews on this trip and saw many positive reviews.
Important details: We took the shorter afternoon cruise and Jethro provides an open bar, refreshments and some sandwiches of Gouda Cheese on Baguettes. ( I am so loving the bread and cheese here on the island!!!)
Overall, I would highly recommend this trip!! Jethro is a really great guy, as well as his sidekick, J.J.!! (His son!! Just adorable and so well mannered!!!) A great time and great way to see the island from the water!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank carybenn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    33
    10
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“VERY Highly Recommended”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The highlight of my trip to Aruba (so far). It was my first time snorkeling, and even if you don't like to snorkel - the boat, the company, and the atmosphere itself is well worth the trip. Jethro, Jeff, Ray and Jay were the four "mates" that took us out on the boat, where we sailed, snorkeled, swam, laughed, sunned, and smiled all day long. Jethro runs a family business, which makes it sooo much more personal - he truly cares for his passengers. I would choose Octopus over any of the other "companies" chartering activities on Aruba. Seriosuly - very highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Jethro rocks”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

This guy is awesome. He's from Holland but lived in Aruba almost his entire life. He's extremely knowledgable and just as friendly. We have done a couple of snorkeling tours, but his is definitely the best. For one, his boat can only hold about 20 people, so you don't have to worry about a crowded space. Also, when you're done for the day, he hands out these awesome Gouda cheese sandwiches - really hits the spot after some swimming in the sun. Make sure you stop by his tent and sign up for one of his tours!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family BLAST!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our family of 5 sailed this morning. Loved the boat, the Captain, the stops, and his crew. They were all very attentive to our needs wanting to make sure we were always happy and felt safe. We snorkeled on the Antilla wreck. Though this was deep we were very glad we stopped there. Cool to see! Also dove at Boca Catalina. LOADS of fish! Lucky to see TEN sea turtles while sailing.

Our kids are 7, 11, & 13. All had fun. The vibe on the boat was relaxed and happy. No rowdy partying and no big crowds! A dozen of us aboard. I highly recommend this morning sail. He gets you.to the spots before the mega boats arrive. If you want a huge crowd, take a different boat. If you want a relaxed, laid back, more private personal experience, take the Octopus Sail and Snorkel!

P.S. On our way to hotel once ashore we met a family taking their THIRD trip on the Octopus. They are definitely doing something right on this boat!

Helpful?
1 Thank SmithMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Book a private charter for a sunset sailing trip!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We first sailed with the Octopus for our wedding day years ago and come back every time we are on the island. Jehtro and his crew are really great! We always try to book a private trip with them for a 2-hour sunset snorkeling cruise which is just the most amazing way to end another lovely day on One Happy Island.

They have open bar and nice snacks including watermelon and freshly made ham & cheese sandwiches. They have all the snorkeling gear so no need to bring anything. If you are looking for a less crowded and less commercialized sailing experience in Aruba, this is the place to go.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octopus Sailing Charters also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Octopus Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing