We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Highly Recommended”

Octopus Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome on the OCTOPUS Our highly experienced captain Jethro and crew would love to welcome you on board of the Octopus. Enjoy one of our arrangements together with your friends and family, while we sail along the most beautiful places of Aruba. Enjoy the underwater world, while snorkeling and tasting our great food and drinks. Or enjoy music and watch the mind-blowing sunset. The 40 foot trimaran sailboat accommodates 24 people and will make it feel like a private trip. All equipment included. We as your crew will give you the personal service and attention you deserve.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“VERY Highly Recommended”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The highlight of my trip to Aruba (so far). It was my first time snorkeling, and even if you don't like to snorkel - the boat, the company, and the atmosphere itself is well worth the trip. Jethro, Jeff, Ray and Jay were the four "mates" that took us out on the boat, where we sailed, snorkeled, swam, laughed, sunned, and smiled all day long. Jethro runs a family business, which makes it sooo much more personal - he truly cares for his passengers. I would choose Octopus over any of the other "companies" chartering activities on Aruba. Seriosuly - very highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    32
    9
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Jethro rocks”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

This guy is awesome. He's from Holland but lived in Aruba almost his entire life. He's extremely knowledgable and just as friendly. We have done a couple of snorkeling tours, but his is definitely the best. For one, his boat can only hold about 20 people, so you don't have to worry about a crowded space. Also, when you're done for the day, he hands out these awesome Gouda cheese sandwiches - really hits the spot after some swimming in the sun. Make sure you stop by his tent and sign up for one of his tours!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family BLAST!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our family of 5 sailed this morning. Loved the boat, the Captain, the stops, and his crew. They were all very attentive to our needs wanting to make sure we were always happy and felt safe. We snorkeled on the Antilla wreck. Though this was deep we were very glad we stopped there. Cool to see! Also dove at Boca Catalina. LOADS of fish! Lucky to see TEN sea turtles while sailing.

Our kids are 7, 11, & 13. All had fun. The vibe on the boat was relaxed and happy. No rowdy partying and no big crowds! A dozen of us aboard. I highly recommend this morning sail. He gets you.to the spots before the mega boats arrive. If you want a huge crowd, take a different boat. If you want a relaxed, laid back, more private personal experience, take the Octopus Sail and Snorkel!

P.S. On our way to hotel once ashore we met a family taking their THIRD trip on the Octopus. They are definitely doing something right on this boat!

Helpful?
1 Thank SmithMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
162 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Book a private charter for a sunset sailing trip!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We first sailed with the Octopus for our wedding day years ago and come back every time we are on the island. Jehtro and his crew are really great! We always try to book a private trip with them for a 2-hour sunset snorkeling cruise which is just the most amazing way to end another lovely day on One Happy Island.

They have open bar and nice snacks including watermelon and freshly made ham & cheese sandwiches. They have all the snorkeling gear so no need to bring anything. If you are looking for a less crowded and less commercialized sailing experience in Aruba, this is the place to go.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We really enjoyed this laid back sailing trip. Jethro and his crew were really nice, and the food was very good. There were 5 of us and another couple, a total of 7 people. Everything was very casual and laid back, we passed several of the bigger ships and they were packed with people. If you want a quiet relaxed sail then this is the way you want to go.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VACNUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Octopus Sailing Charters also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Octopus Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing