We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carte Blanche Restaurant

Carte Blanche Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $95
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Carte Blanche is a restaurant for foodies, people who are open minded for an exquisite fine dinning experience, without limitations. Carte Blanche features a 14-seat elegant bar in a relaxed and cozy atmosphere. The highlight of the restaurant is Chef Dennis van Daatselaar cooking right in front of you a 5-course Carte Blanche dinner known as a “chef surprise”. Alongside him is Maitre d’ Glen Bonset pairing wines and mixing premium drinks
West Chester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Visited Carte Blanch for the 4th year in a row...it was once again a dining experience...the new location is beautiful on the property of Bucuti Beach...
from the moment you walk in you are excited to get started...Denis and Glen are true professionals and you can just tell they are happy to share their food and
wine expertise with you...while Denis is preparing your courses Glen is education
you on wine paring...Denis explains each course and takes questions about
how things are served and cooked...the time goes so quickly as you are talking
to people from all over the world and making new friends...I have to say that I have
never seen such presentation at any other restaurant that my husband and I have
visited...always a fun evening....my thanks to you, Denis and Glen...we enjoyed ourselves completly
Regards
Joanne
Newtown Square Pa

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    35
    12
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

First, this experience is going to cost over $300. I was looking forward to the chef actually cooking in front of us, however, it was more of watching him plate the food. Also, when they recommend the wine paring they should mention that it's an extra $70 per person. The appetizers were a 1/2 cup of truffle soup, a bite size piece of tuna, a shrimp, and a sliced veal appetizer. Next, four lamp chops on a bed of potatoes. Dessert was either chocolate cake or tirimasu. Of course the description I gave is basic, however, we were not impressed. It was a fun experience, however, I don't think it's worth all the hype.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank resorttrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Highlight in Aruba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

A 4 hour dinner party with gracious hosts, unbelievable food and a magnificent venue. One course is better than the next. My favorites, the asparagus from Holland, as well as the cerviche. The lamb chops could melt in your mouth. The soup at the beginning of the dinner was excepional. Both Glen and Dennis kept us laughing all night. Do the wine pairing....well worth it. This is a must do in Aruba....make your reservations at least a few months before. Thanks Glen and Dennis for a most memorable evening. The girls from NY were quite impressed!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcbc1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Carte MUST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

As a complete and utter foodie, who has traveled far and wide for a great meal, I can tell you that this time around I for one did not travel to Aruba for the food. I came solely for the complete R&R beach package & the very bearable late June weather so the fact that I had this incredibly fortunate & serendipitous food discovery that turned out to be one of the great meals of my life was a very pleasant surprise. My single Aruba food advice is treat yourself and go Carte Blanche with the wine pairings! This place is a complete must for the lifetime and palate experiences!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glamcatster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“A superb Rest. in Aruba!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is the best Gourmet Rest. in the Island !!!! You will have fun in a nice place and the food it´s the best !! you wont be disappointed !! You get Five courses and every single one of them were delicious !!! The cevicie (their signature dish) was unique, excellent !! The "White Asparagus" from Holland, the best I ever tried !! the entree of filet mignon was cooked to perfection and the taste was even better !!! You get the option of 2 desserts (both were delicious!!!) The part of what I love about wine is that pairing it with food is more art than science, and you will notice that here !!! Good job Glenn !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ARMANDO_V316066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carte Blanche Restaurant also viewed

 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Carte Blanche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing