We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Aruba!”

Carte Blanche Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $95
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Carte Blanche is a restaurant for foodies, people who are open minded for an exquisite fine dinning experience, without limitations. Carte Blanche features a 14-seat elegant bar in a relaxed and cozy atmosphere. The highlight of the restaurant is Chef Dennis van Daatselaar cooking right in front of you a 5-course Carte Blanche dinner known as a “chef surprise”. Alongside him is Maitre d’ Glen Bonset pairing wines and mixing premium drinks
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Aruba!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We thought this the best restaurant in Aruba! We were in Aruba 8 days & tried 8 different restaurants - this one is the BEST! Expensive,but SO worth it! Definitely on our list for next year! Food was terrific! Glen & Dennis - wonderful guys! Dennis could be a contender/winner on Top Chef!! Loved the entire dining experience. Other new restaurant that opened using the same dining experience cannot compare to this one, the original!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunchaser1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    37
    12
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss out on Carte Blanche!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for an entertaining night out and a fine dining experience carte Blanche is the place for you! We selected the five course menu with wine pairings and were not disappointed. Interacting with and watching Dennis carefully prepare each course was outstanding. Glenn did a great job keeping everyone engaged and entertained as well as explaining each wine pairing. One caution if you are on a budget this is probably not the place for you, dinner and wine pairings for two ran about $275, but for the quality of the food and wine and never having an empty glass it was well worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mc316gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“unlucky if you sit next to the wrong people!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

You've got the picture from all previous reviews, fab food, nice wines, a bit pricey at $330 (incl tip) for the 4 course + matchings. I'm amazed that nobody has commented, your night might not be that fun if you are seated next to somebody who can't interact. We had a relatively quiet crowd our night, and the couple next to me would only speak when spoken to; I guess I could have ignored them, so maybe I was just unlucky on the night. Venue will be even better when they move to Bucuti.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simla10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, NY USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I became aware of this restaurant last year through trip advisor but could not get a reservation. This year I made the reservation 4 months in advance. In six months I'm booking again for next year. We had a 7:30 reservation, next year the reservation will be for 7:00. The extra half hour gives you the opportunity to meet the other "dinner guests".

All 4 in our party chose the 5 course dinner with the wine pairing. You start with an amuse bouche which also comes with a wine pairing. Then you get 3 appetizers fo the 5 course meal). 2 of the appetizers had 3 diffeterent selections on the plate, so you got 7 appetizers. The four course dinner has 2 appetizers. Then of course the entree and then a choice of 2 desserts. Dennis is the chef, and Glen is the "wine guy". When I thought one of the wine selections to be a little to dry for my palate, Glen happily substituted it with a lighter one which was more to my liking. Also, the wine glasses have no bottom, so many guests "stumble out".

I was a litte worried that some of the dishes may be too exotic. Not the case at all. I don't know how many times I said "Wow" during this dining experience.

This was like going to a small dinner party at a friend's house. You are greeted at the door upon arrival, and get personal good-byes upon exit..

It's pricey, but worth every penny.

Can't wait for next year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zoemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The highlight of our trip.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

After reading a bunch of reviews on Trip Advisor, we knew that this was a dining experience we would enjoy. As such, our expectations were very high.With out a doubt, Dennis, Glen and the whole concept of Carte Blanche exceeded our expectations. The food prepared by Chef Dennis was fantastic, presentation interesting and unique. The opportunity to get to know our dining companions added to our enjoyment of the dining experience. And on top of all this, is Glen. He does so much, but never appears to be rushed. His choice of wines paired perfectly with each course and all the banter with the guests was great fun. We arrived at 7:00 and we were shocked to find it after 11:00 when we got up to say our good-byes. We haven't decided yet if we will ever return to Aruba. If we do, we will definitely return to Carte Blanche!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carte Blanche Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carte Blanche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing