We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot right over the water on a pier in a great location”

Pelican Nest Seafood Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Pelican Nest Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open air restaurant over the water on Pelican Pier (between Holiday Inn and Playa Linda resorts).
Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great spot right over the water on a pier in a great location”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stumbled on the Pelican's Nest on an easy beach walk from the Marriott. We found the place great for families. Fun, casual food in a fun environment and you don't only have to have the seafood, though I had grouper, my wife had a salad with grilled chicken and our daughter had pasta and chicken. This place is absolutely worth checking out!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    464
    205
    108
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Horrible!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We went for dinner service was horrible--food was awful. We will never go back! At the bottom of the check the waiter highlighted that the 15% or 20% that they add to the bill is not gratuity it is a service charge! The service was so bad he is luckey we left a tip!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beechlover1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valencia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Horrible service alongside horrible drinks”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

"i'll be back in 2 minutes" said the waiter, 10 minutes later i had to go and ask if we could get served.
The happy hour is nonexistent, they knock down 1 dollar from a couple of hours which in my opinion is not a happy hour, is just a discount.

They add 15% on the bill apparently for 7% for taxes and 8% for staff which is sneaky because the tax is not 7% for sure.
The drinks were horrible and served in plastic disposable glasses needless to say we refused to give a tip and left after our painful drinks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank islatur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprise, Surprise”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and our children and significant others went to the Pelicans Nest restaurant; a total of 6 people. We went here last year and we were happy with our food and service. This time we went the food was just OK and when we went to pay the bill we found that they added a service charge of 20% so I assumed the gratuities were Included. The waitress said that it was for taxes and the cook and she only gets 7% of that and so we had to leave $20.00 more. This is the last time we will ever go back there. I felt like I got robbed, and if that's the policy you should let customers know up front and not when you are paying the check!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
886 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 927 helpful votes
“Food is Great and so are the Sunsets”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Walking down the beach my wife and I decided to try this restaurant on Pelican Pier. It proved to be a great choice as the food was good, reasonably priced and the sunset was incredible. I had the grouper, which was just as good as the night before at a more expensive restaurant, and my wife had chicken and she said it was good also. Both meals came to a grand total of $35, compared to $80 the previous evening-with alot more noice and no view! So, while the dining experience isn't really elegant since most people tend to head for the pier straight off the beach (like we did), it's a good inexpensive place to eat. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Nest Seafood Grill also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Pelican Nest Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing