We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value on the island of Aruba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aruba Cunucu Residence
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best value on the island of Aruba”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a one week stay Jan 3 to 10, 2011 at the amazing Aruba Cunucu Residence and we thought we would share our great experience with other users. The unit we rented was very modern (two tv's, gas stove top, king size bed) cleaned daily, always cool, and we were provided with everything we needed to make our stay pleasant (cooler and chairs for beach, bbq to cook nightly meals, salt water pool, pool table, etc.). We had no problems with Wi-Fi unlike the other user (I was able to disable the data plan from my blackberry and use only the wi-fi saving $$$ in roaming). Can't say enough about our hosts John and Eleanor, who were there to offer advice on places to go, shop etc. but always left us to our own thing while there. Henk & Alexandra (the property managers) know the island and are always happy to help with any questions. No more all-inclusives for us, Cunucu Residence is the way to go for a truly relaxing vacation at a REASONABLE price! See you next year John & Eleanor!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VinceRaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnPais, Owner at Aruba Cunucu Residence, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
We are so glad you had such a wonderful time with us and hope to see you again next year when the weather turns cold out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Just returned from Aruba Cunucu Residence (Dec 29/10-Jan 13/11), our second visit. We had the 2 bedroom for 3 adults and very pleased with it. Had a full refrigerator, 4 gas burners and all the kitchen utensils you will ever need. Very comfortable 2 x king beds and a double sofa bed in the living room, cable serviced TV's in every room, large shower, safety deposit box in room. Air conditioning in every room plus ceiling fans in kitchen. Very clean, cleaner comes in every day except Sunday. All ground floor apartments NO stairs except to rooftop patio where you get the most wonderful view of the sunset over the beach and ocean. Pool, with floater beds and noodles provided free, surrounded by Palapas, chairs and lounge chairs. Gas BBQ free internet wi-fi, all of this, managed by a very friendly Manager and Hostess, Henk & Alexandra, going out of their way to satisfy us. Residential area.

Location: 10 to 15 minute walk to Palm beach, but no services there, same for bus stop, frequent to Oranjestad; 5 minute walk to small local Supermarket, nothing very far, but a car would strongly be recommended to see the whole Island, free parking.

Can't wait to book again for next year!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnPais, Owner at Aruba Cunucu Residence, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Our room was very clean. Air conditioning worked very well. Comfortable bed. Pool was beautiful - Saline. We asked when booking the room if there was wireless internet and were told yes. The internet didn't work for most of our trip. We asked the manager and she told us the internet doesn't work most of the time. No one was available to troubleshoot the problem. When it did work, we needed to sit outside to pick up a signal. No dishsoap provided so make sure you pick some up at the store. Also, the hot water is solar heated, so having a hot shower isn't possible. Outdated furniture.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amylyn333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnPais, Owner at Aruba Cunucu Residence, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
As the owners of "Cunucu Residence" we wish to sincerely apologise to amylyn333 for any inconvenience during their visit to "Cunucu Residence"

The internet is working fine and only needed rebooted, with the voltage surges experienced on the Island we periodically need to reboot. The system is protected by a Voltage Regulator and a Surge Protector.

When the WI Fi was installed we flew a company in from the USA to specifically bring the equipment, install and position the system correctly as some of the walls in the house are 2 ft. thick and the terminals needed positioning to carry the air waves. When my wife & I recently arrived back on the Island we found one of the networks had been disabled in a unit and put in a drawer by persons unknown and this caused the low signal at the far end of the property. This has now been reconnected and the signal strengths are working fine again.

As for the other concerns mentioned, we do provide soap, coffee, tea & pop for the arrival of our guests, and also the offer to pick up any groceries prior to their arrival, We are a self catering complex providing daily room cleaning and change of towels and linens as required.

Being close to the equator the water is heated by solar heat, showers in the morning may be on the cool side, but most visitors shower later in the day after their beach adventures and before going out in the evening by this time the water is normally hot, which brings on the next problem, cooling it down to an acceptable temperature. This is the same throughout the Island with the exception of the expensive hotels who have the capabilities of also cooling the hot water which is very expensive and defeats the purpose of the affordable Aruba vacation we are trying to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
#24 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
878 reviews
3.2 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
837 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,278 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Cunucu Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Cunucu Residence

Property: Aruba Cunucu Residence
Address: Westpunt 13, Palm - Eagle Beach 582 3777, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aruba Cunucu Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An "Oasis in Paradise," this 100 year old Cunucu Residence which was recently modernized, is a cozy haven located in a quiet prestigious residential neighbourhood 2 minutes from the beach. Close enough to the beaches, restaurants and shopping yet far enough away to feel relaxed and taste our peaceful island atmosphere. The Cunucu Residence consists of 4 one bedroom apartments, 1 two bedroom and 1 studio apartment, and to our guests a private swimming pool. Every apartment is air-conditioned and features a private bathroom, modern kitchen, spacious living areas with all apartments leading out to our private swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Aruba Cunucu Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruba Cunucu Residence Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing