We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip to Aruba!! Loved it...BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aruba Cunucu Residence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our first trip to Aruba!! Loved it...BUT”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have chosen this place based on all the great reviews that people have written. The residence is very nice with the swimming pool and BBQ are to enjoy. Aruba itself is a stunning Island. I wanted to write this review because we seemed to have had an incident that occurred and i think people need to know before you go.
We were here for 10 days and everyday was 120% fantastic..weatherwsie,beach wise,food all the wonderful stuff.We were happy...very happy. A vacation that was much needed.
I'll start with our arrival ...when you come to this residence there's no sign anywhere that will direct you as to where you can find Hank the property manager. That took us awhile to figure out. A sign would be nice so people would know where to go. Hanks g/f is the cleaning lady and we weren't sure what she cleaned other then wash the floors with bleach and water. She did not make the bed and she does not wash the dishes. Okay i can live w/o that..the bed i wanted to have done since she was in our unit every other day. The sheets were the worst i've seen and they did not smell clean....other guests told us that their sheets have not been changed for the whole 10 day stay! I had to remove mine myself after 5 days in order for them to be changed.Honestly this woman is lazy and wants to do minimum work. If thats the case give me the cleaning supplies and don't bother coming to my unit. The bottom of the toilet was never cleaned(dust/sand) which we questioned what was she doing here? The worst was 2 days before we were to return home..once again we had an amazing day and we were returning from the beach to have a BBQ at the residence and we walked into a bit of hell. Hank the property manager had a private party for his co-worker (about 30 people ) who occupied the whole swimming/bbq area. The pool was full of people and there was absolutely no room for us to even stay outside. There were many men that were drunk and yelling ..were loud,children crying and a big mess ,peoples clothes were on our chairs...just awful. If we wanted a 'resort like' and party animals we would have gone to Cancun. All these people were Hanks friends from Columbia.This occurred approximately at 5 pm...at this point we were forced to cook inside and pull down all the blinds (we were in unit1) and all of a sudden we did not feel safe and our paradise went from smiles to sadness. We were the only guests at this residence that day...so Hank figured we did not matter.When we returned at approximately at 10 30 pm...party was stil going on....needless to say we did not sleep that night . Hank was passed out in his unit sound a sleep. The experience left us with a bad taste and therefore i would not return here under Hanks supervision. We would go back to Aruba in a second ...but elsewhere. The owner John has emailed us apology email and never heard from him again.Did not compensate us for this experience.
We checked out on our own and we never saw Hank again. Would not trust that this guy wouldn't do it again. There was nobody we could have called and we questioned our environment.

Room Tip: unit 1 is the best one..it's big ..the other rooms we've seen were too dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Branka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnPais, Owner at Aruba Cunucu Residence, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Further to our correspondence when you first returned home, again we are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, though we do feel the need to comment on a few points in your review.

We are a self-catering boutique hotel. The housekeeper does not wash dishes, she cleans and washes the floors and washrooms daily and makes beds if it is clear of guests personal items. She has been instructed not to move personal items on the bed or floor (ie. clothes, suitcases, etc.), instead to work around them. Linens are changed once per week.

We have discussed the evening you mention at length with Henk. Where the guest is an acquaintance of Henk, the family, of 5 not 30, were paying customers who rented a unit and enjoyed the BBQ and pool area as any family who stays with us at the Residence.

One statement you made about Henk being “passed out” in his room, this comment has a certain connotation to it which we do personally rebuke knowing Henk, he is not a “drinker” and does not take foreign substances, he is a hard worker that gets tired.

Of the 6 units we rent, all 6 units were rented on the night of this occurrence (including one unit by the family of 5 you mention), and we have not received any comments or complaints regarding this evening from any other clients.

We again apologize for your interpretation as to the disruption to your stay. We wish you the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just got back and wish I was still at the Aruba Cunucu Residence. It was a great place to stay with a perfect location - close to beaches and everything else you needed in a really nice, quiet and safe neighbourhood. I was very impressed with how clean everything was kept and we had all the comforts of home and more. The pool is just amazing and nice to be able to walk out from your private patio doors and go right into your own pool - morning, noon or night - it was so refreshing. With the great Air Conditioning in the unit and the ever blowing tropical winds outside it was always a very comfortable temperature and the weather was just beautiful every day. We had everything we could ask for and were taken care of very well by Henk & Gloria - so helpful and just wonderful to have right on the premises. I would not hesitate to recommend this residence to anyone, anytime and can assure you it is an incredible rate for what you receive. I will definately be going back to Aruba and staying at the Aruba Cunucu Residence!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This residence is very easy to find, close to beaches and amenities. It is kept extremely clean and the salt water pool is large enough to get your morning exercise. It was so relaxing to return here at the end of the day. We would definitely recommend this residence.

Room Tip: We stayed in #8, a one bedroom, very spacious and on the end of the residence. It had a front entry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our stay at the Cunucu Residence was amazing! This was our first (but not last trip to Aruba and the Cunucu Residence). We loved the Island and the peace and quiet of our accommodations. After a long day on the beach or exploring the island, it was really nice to come back "home" and have a comfortable, casual place to relax. The unit was simple but in keeping with traditional Aruba style. The pool area was great; my twelve year really enjoyed it! I loved my morning coffee by the pool with a nice view of the cacti and some native birds and the occasional little lizard who visited. Everything we needed was provided; there is obvious pride of ownership in the residence. Looking forward to next year!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janiceb639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in the one bedroom room in Feb. 2013 and loved every minute of our stay. We were greeted by Henk and he showed us to our room. He offerred us chairs and a cooler to rent for the week, which we did! The room was spacious and clean. The kitchen had everything we needed: microwave, stovetop, toaster, coffee pot, plenty of cooking items and even storage containers for leftover food. The bathroom was nice and had a large shower. Some other guest complained while we were there about not having hot water. Most places do not have hot water per se, but it's not cold either. The water is warmed by the sun, so as long as you take a shower when the sun is out you will be fine. Only expensive hotel supply hot water, but I wouldn't waste my time staying there! The bedroom was huge and had lots of space for us to store suitcases and plenty of drawers and hangers for our clothes. The bed was firm, but I slept great the entire time. The outside living area was great and we took advantage of the pool daily which was just outside our door. The water was clean and refreshing and they provided pool towels free of charge. The owner, John and Eleanor were at the hotel while we stayed and introducted themselves on the first full day. We even ran into them at the Caribbean Store Bar (it's a must, super cold and cheap beers) and we hung out with them and other guests from the hotel. The location is perfect, technically one block back from, in my opinion, the best beaches in Aruba, Malmok and Catalina Bay. It's near the goft course as well. If you rent a car, they have assinged parking spaces, which was nice as well. I would highly suggest booking this hotel for any stay in Aruba. You can't beat the price or the hospitality. Feel free to email me with other questions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just completed a great stay at Aruba Cunucu Residence. For those of you seeking a quiet place to stay in Aruba, this is a perfect spot. The property is 5 minutes away from great beaches and snorkeling and 10 minutes away from the amenities of the hotel/restaurant/timesharing areas.

The property is very clean and all the little details have been considered by the owners. The unit we stayed in as well as the others we were able to see have been beautifully and tastefully designed. The owners, John and Eleanor, are very gracious and accomodating, and so were Henk and Gloria, who provide onsite property management and housekeeping. We were delighted with our stay there and felt very much at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevesil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden, ME
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Cunucu Residence for the first time April 30 thru May 5 2012 in room two. We felt we were in heaven. Our hosts, Henk and Alexandra were wonderful, so gracious and attentive. The apartment was spacous, very clean and comfortable with the air conditioning. Now the pool was the main attraction; a salt water infinity pool which was sparkling clean surronded by a pool deck with palapas, chairs and a BBQ grill. What else could anyone want! Being located away from the beach area and stores, a car rental would be almost a must. We definately will be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FireFlyerSweden_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
Brickell Bay Beach Club & Spa
#24 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
3.2 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#6 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
#21 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Cunucu Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Cunucu Residence

Property: Aruba Cunucu Residence
Address: Westpunt 13, Palm - Eagle Beach 582 3777, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aruba Cunucu Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An "Oasis in Paradise," this 100 year old Cunucu Residence which was recently modernized, is a cozy haven located in a quiet prestigious residential neighbourhood 2 minutes from the beach. Close enough to the beaches, restaurants and shopping yet far enough away to feel relaxed and taste our peaceful island atmosphere. The Cunucu Residence consists of 4 one bedroom apartments, 1 two bedroom and 1 studio apartment, and to our guests a private swimming pool. Every apartment is air-conditioned and features a private bathroom, modern kitchen, spacious living areas with all apartments leading out to our private swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Aruba Cunucu Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aruba Cunucu Residence Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing