We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, new, nice beach but service was lacking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Palm - Eagle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn between Christmas and New Years with my two daughters. They were just at the tail end of a large renovation. The rooms were large, clean and everything was new. The restaurants and bars had also been updated. The beach was beautiful and never had problems finding chairs or a spot on the beach. Only ate at the resort once for lunch and none of us were thrilled with the food. There are tons of restaurants surrounding the resort so we didn't have to go far to find some good choices. The only thing that we felt that was lacking was the service. Front desk was slow and there must have been some new staff because no one seemed like they knew what they were doing. Tried to use the concierge to make dinner reservations and they were never at the desk and then when they were there they were difficult to work with. Ended up having to phone the restaurants directly myself. All in all it was a good deal. One of the less expensive hotels and you still are on the same beach.

Stayed: December 2013
6  Thank dan_socc_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,180)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,069 - 2,075 of 3,180 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

I went to the Holiday Inn just before they started the renovations. The hotel doesn't look much in pictures and pretty basic and boxy since it was built quite some time ago. When we first got there the lobby was nice and started with good first impressions even though the check in was long. The beach and the pool were really nice and beautiful even though there is no swim up bar. Our room was average, abit outdated and was on the ground floor, however the AC was perfect as it was so hot out and was easy access to the pool and beach. On the third day being on the ground floor we went in to our room only to be freaked out by finding 2 salamanders running around in our room! The food was ok.. but a bit boring. The buffet was good but dont drink the milk at the buffet unless it is served to you because it tasted sour and disgusting. The Italian restaurant is was the best they offered and the breezes restaurant on the beach was in a breathtaking beach/ocean location but lacked any good food.
The biggest disappointment was the nightlife! There was barely anything going on a night and even if there was a show/activity, it would be done at 11 pm and everyone would just go to bed. Everything closed early.

All in all it is a good family resort but lacking some things. I would recommend going here if you get a good deal and have kids but other then that, try somewhere else like the Riu or the Playa Linda next door!

Room Tip: get a room on a higher level to avoid bugs and little salamanders coming into your room! And ocean v...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you experienced a few issues during your stay. However, as you can see from the many previous reviews that service is something that we take with great pride and ensure that every guest leaves with having had a terrific time while staying in our resort. We appreciate your feedback regarding the food and will take a look into that. We hope to win you back one day as your resort of choice so we can prove our willingness to go above and beyond for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you safe travels.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is in the fun high rise district and is walking distance to all the attractions and restaurants. It is one of the older hotels so it is closest to the beach. You literally walk out of the pool onto the beach. Newer hotels are set further back. The water sports rentals are next to it as is the Pelican Pier with great seafood and snorkeling boat launches. All remodeled just recently so they are like new. Didn't try the restaurant food but why would you eat at the hotel when you are surrounded by great restaurants.

Aruba Is Truly “One Happy Island”

By Mary Craft

Everyone that can should visit the former Dutch colony of Aruba in the Caribbean . Yes it has beautiful turquoise water with white sandy beaches but that is not what makes it unique - it is the warmth of its people. The Arubans are a mixed bunch made up of earthy blond Dutch and South American blends that enjoy life and who love their island and love sharing it with you.
This island paradise is only 20 miles long and six miles wide with basically three areas. There is the Dutch influenced downtown section that has many upper scale designer shops mixed with restaurants, bars and souvenir shops. The low rise section has all-inclusive beach resorts and is where you can enjoy large sections of beach to yourself and then there is the fun high rise section with all the major hotels my favorite being the Holiday Inn where I stayed. The beach that stretches out in front of these hotels are full of chaise lounges with ideal people watching opportunities. The tourists are mostly from Europe, Canada, northeast U.S. and South America and are attractive and easy to interact with because it is just that kind of atmosphere.
A Blue Water Playground
During the day everyone is on the water side of the hotels where there are many activities to enjoy including paddle boards, volleyball, kayaks, parasailing, up to four person tubing, wake boarding, kite surfing, sailboat cruises, deep sea fishing charters and snorkel cruise launches. One water sport I never saw before was the JetLev which is a water propelled jetpack that allows you to soar up to 30 feet above the water that was commercially launched in 2012. There are many restaurants and bars including several on piers over the water all with excellent seafood.
Although the island is expensive the water activities are not. We went on the five hour $75 brunch snorkel catamaran cruise that included a continental breakfast, lunch with sandwiches, potato salad and fresh fruit and an unlimited bar that served gin, vodka and rum mixed drinks. There were three snorkel stops one being to view the largest shipwreck in the Caribbean of a German cargo ship from the 40s that is 400 feet long and five stories high the top being close to the surface. The boat had a “third lung” which is a 40’ breathing hose that allows you to basically scuba dive without the tank. For those not so active you can rent a raft all day for $5 to enjoy the large roped off beach water area.
Time to eat
After enjoying the sunset it is time to hit the main promenade on the other side of the hotels that is lined with restaurants all with outdoor dining. There are variety of restaurants from Venezuelan to Smoky Joe’s Barbeque with most European countries represented as well. It has been said this island has the best food in the Caribbean. The island is immaculately clean with beautiful landscaped areas everywhere. It has an average temperature of 82 and the most sunny days than any other island. It also has the most repeat tourists and I met many that come every year which explains why I was so often asked if it was my first time there. I have traveled a lot and this island with a population of 120,000 is the safest place I have been to.
Take a walk on the wild side
There are more rugged activities to enjoy on the rocky waves crashing side of the island. You can rent off-road vehicles or ride horseback along this coast. My favorite tour was the jeep safari to this side that takes you to the highest point of the island, stops for a view of the natural rock bridge and then to the natural pool formed by rocks for a snorkel dive. It is a very rocky “lift you right out of your seat” ride. I knew when I heard the screams and laughter from the jeep in front of us to be prepared.
There are two golf courses, a 9 hole and an 18 hole course. We played the 18 hole course and we got a chance to enjoy the cacti filled desert landscape with a water backdrop. Before tourism became the country’s main economy at 75% they were the main exporter of aloe in the world. The cost for clubs, a sleeve of balls and a contemporary golf cart with GPS screen was $170. The course was challenging especially with the windy conditions.
For you gamblers there are casinos in most hotels but none have a sports bar only a sports board where you can bet on games but not watch them.
For you party animals there is the Kukoo Kunuku party bus that picks you up at your hotel and drives you, with music blaring, down the streets to four local bars downtown. Places you would have never discovered otherwise.
As you can see there is something for everyone of all ages and it is very kid friendly. Everyone speaks English and every place accepts dollars. There is no need to rent a car because you can walk to most places in the high rise section and besides it is fun and educational talking to the cab drivers.
Hmmm, I think I might just go back.

Room Tip: 5th and 6th floors have best view
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing us your detailed feedback. Holiday Inn Resort Aruba location is great and we strive to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks again for your time and for choosing us. We look forward to your next trip to our resort. Happy Travels!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Holiday Inn is centrally located and convenient to stores, restaurants, etc.

Unfortunately, the hotel itself does not have much in terms of restaurants (or restaurants with decent food), outdated rooms, ongoing renovations in the main lobby, elevators that stopped working (on both banks and at the same time).


There was no map or directions to get around the property. We walked around lost most of the time. Even our cab driver didn't know where to pull up to drop us off at the lobby--apparently, it was relocated to a different part of the complex.

The pool was OK....too many iguanas hanging around though...

The beach was very short, and overall crowded. The water was rocky in most spots.

Overall, I was not impressed.

Room Tip: For the price, I recommend going to a different hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jmags2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your overall disappointing stay. And as you can see from the many previous reviews that service is something that we take with great pride and ensure that every guest leaves with having had a terrific time while staying in our resort. We are currently finalizing the resort's renovation project and are very excited to re introduce our new Resort with expanded services. Again, thank you and we hope you will give us another opportunity make it right. Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I arrived at the hotel at 10pm after a long day travelling. I asked at the front desk if they were still serving food, the answer was 'No'...I then asked if there was room service only to be told ' No ' again but if I wanted food I could call out for a pizza......sorry but this is not good enough for a Holiday Inn. When I got to my room , there was no bottles of water available either. I know it's the Caribbean and it laid back but at least a bottle of water in the room should be provided even if it's charged to your bill. On the plus side the beach is lovely and the room was comfortable. Having looked round the hotel next door I think I know where I will want to stay next time I am joining a cruise.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank ukjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. After reading your comments we feel the need to apologize. As you can see from our other Trip Advisor reviews, we go out of our way to overcome deficiencies and we welcome all feedback as this helps us to improve our service to our guests. We hope to win you back one day as your resort of choice so we can prove our willingness to go above and beyond for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you safe travels.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Nice hotel under renovation but they staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable and welcomed. Our room seemed older but it was comfortable. Nice side view of a beautiful beach from the balcony.
Pools and hot tubs are nice however 2 of the tubs were not working properly. The one we used was great but could use some shade as the sun is so strong in Aruba.
Lots of activities around the pool area for adults and children. Easy to meet people and have fun. Bar was great and Happy Hour is fun. Two for one drinks for 2 hours. Plenty of friendly bar tenders. You might have to struggle a bit to get shade and a chaise but that's Aruba in the winter. Restaurants are average. We went to the breakfast buffet and spent $15 per person for some pretty lousy eggs and omelets. We only went once. One restaurant says it serves breakfast, lunch and dinner but it only serves a continental breakfast and the nit closes for the day. Guess its all part of the renovation? But its a nice hotel on a nice part of the beach which is a short distance to get to off the patio.

Room Tip: There are several towers at this hotel so you might want to be the one farthest from check in. Its a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gaudilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our resort for your recent visit to Aruba! Our staff are excited to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our location and amenities. We also appreciate and welcome all feedback as this helps us to get better. That aside, we really do hope to be your resort of choice for future trips to the One Happy island of Aruba. Thanks for staying and reviewing and we wish you both the best in your travels!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Arrived 17th Jan 2014.
Taxi from the airport to the hotel $25 + ($5 tip) journey time 15-20mins.
Platinum member
Arrived at reception and was dealt with by Mary (nice lady)
Welcomed me and advised that I had a room upgrade ,late check-out and already a booking for a palampas for the following day.
Side view room 6246 which meant we could view the pool and the beach which was great.
Fridge in the room was a normal size which was more than adequate for storing drinks and food etc etc.AC in the room was excellent and kept the temperature where we required.
Car hire, small car 3 days from desk downstairs was roughly $120 dollars for three days.I did not bother to take out the additional $15 /day extra insurance as my UK card covered that.
Rooms were clean and bright.
Ice machine on each floor was handy.
Breakfast $15 per person per day .(Buffet) All the usual suspects melon,cold meats cheese,boiled eggs ,pancakes + the rest
.Ate out at night so no comments on the Coral restaurant .
The location of the holiday Inn is far superior I think to any of the other hotels on the" strip" as within a couple of steps from the reception l you are on the beach or in the small shopping ,bar,restaurant area located at the entrance to the hotel.
Will definitely return to Aruba and will not even think about where to book my accommodation as the venue and staff were superb.
Well Done Holiday Inn
Wish the treatment in the UK was the same!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Maybe I was lucky but I think a side room was best as you had the best of both views + breeze which...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sandy3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIResortAruba, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community! We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and that the Holiday Inn Resort Aruba exceeded your expectations. We hope you choose our resort for future visits to Aruba and look forward to your return. Thanks again for staying with us and we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
3.7 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
0.4 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#14 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#11 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,543 reviews
1.8 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Aruba
Barcelo Aruba
#19 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 230 Je Irausquin Blvd, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $167 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the beachfront Holiday Inn Resort Aruba, we've gone to great lengths to further enhance the miracle that is our island by creating a carefree getaway that truly has something for everyone. With the best location on Palm Beach, wide variety of water sports including PADI certified diving and designer shopping just across the street look no further when booking our Aruba vacation. Whether you're here for a corporate retreat, family vacation or just a little downtime you'll find refreshing accommodations, an attentive staff and a vast array of amenities and activities. The resort features free in-room Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Hotel
Holiday Inn Sunspree Aruba
Holiday Inn Palm Eagle Beach
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Aruba
Aruba Holiday Inn
Palm/Eagle Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing