We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Delicious!”

Papillon Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Henri Charrière, one of the world’s most famous prisoners, would surely have had the time of his life at Papillon Restaurant in The Village, across from the Radisson Resort. Nicknamed Papillon because of the butterfly tattoo on his chest, he was the first convict to escape from Devil’s Island. Charrière’s thrilling, gripping autobiography has been the concept behind Papillon Restaurant.Papillon Restaurant’s menu reflects the Frenchman’s arduous journey to freedom: classic French dishes have been dusted with daring Caribbean flair and are a culinary journey for your taste buds. The spacious outside terrace is perfect for casual fine dining or one may enjoy the air-conditioned inside dining space.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had the early bird special and it was excellent. We felt the service was mediocre but the food was simply delicious! A must while in Aruba, we will most definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    283
    104
    39
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tappan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Forgot to make my husbands entree. Mine sat on a counter somewhere while they cooked his . I was served ice cold food with a shocked look that I should be upset. 90 wasted on a meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hopejudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Grouper”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I went to the Papillon restaurant last night on the off chance. We were not disappointed. Despite the short wait for a table, there were plenty empty, we were seated in a great position with a view of the whole restaurant. We both had the Geouper from the main menu and it was superb. The wine is pricy, but well worth it. Can't recommend enough.

We will return before we leave.

Helpful?
Thank kendo012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our first time at Papillon and we were not disappointed. Relaxing outdoor dining with a view of the marketplace. Service was very attentive and special thanks to Tina for her assistance and sharing her vast wine experience. Interesting menu with a combination of French and Caribbean. Bayonne caesar was one the best salads that I ever had and the sweetbreads were not far behind. Entrees were equally as good - red snapper was fresh and meaty. This is a keeper.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

the food was fantastic I had goose liver as a appetizer does not sound appetizing but the way this was made was great full of flavor liver melted in your mouth and sea bass as main course dish was simply heaven my favorite restaurant on the island

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank phils66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papillon Restaurant also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Papillon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing