We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, there are birds at Bubali ...”

Bubali Bird Sanctuary
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birdwatchers will enjoy Bubali Pond, a sanctuary for pelicans, black cormorants, sandpipers and wood storks as they fish, bathe and play in this scenic waterscape.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Yes, there are birds at Bubali ...”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Multiple reviewers are complaining that there are no birds at Bubali. This is not the case, but it's important to visit at the right time of day: dusk and and dawn are the prime hours to be there. We arrived a little after dawn, later than we wanted (see below for more on that) but still spotted a variety of birds there, both from the tower and from the ground. Herons, ducks, moorhens etc -- and a peregrine falcon. But in tropical midday sun there will be few birds to be seen, so pick your visit time carefully.

The tower is OK as such, but the real problem is the one that's prevalent all over Aruba: poor signage. For a relatively wealthy island, it's stunning that the government won't spend a little bit of money indicating the locations of the tourist attractions. We spent probably 15-20 minutes driving around the area looking for a way to get into Bubali. If you want to catch the morning or evening activity peak, go there the day before and do your scouting in advance!

Apart from the tower area, there are other smaller wetlands around Bubali that are worth checking, and can result in additional bird sightings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    30
    31
    35
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North West, England
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“They certainly don't mention that in the guide books!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Took the push bikes out here, didn't look like much - pulled up to the watch tower, climbed the steps, had a few awkward looks from a lone man stood there, couldn't see any birds, so we went back to the bikes. In the 10 minutes we were there, 5 cars pulled in all with middle aged men driving. They saw us and drove off.

Now I'm not saying they weren't all there for the wildlife, but quite frankly this seemed like some sort of dogging spot! We both felt very uncomfortable - not least because if anything went south, you'd never be found between all the high grasses and swamp water!!

Only birds we saw were a few dead swallows in various stages of decomp at the bottom of the tower. There was numerous bonfires and piles of litter around the place. Not exactly what you'd expect from a wildlife sanctuary!

It was also not easy to find - near a windmill restaurant but other than that, limited signs. Suggests our thoughts on what it's real use is can't be far off the mark!

Still, made for an interesting holiday tale...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jmm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
“Come early in the morning, or around sunset”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Come here early in the morning, or around sunset, and you will see the birds, including the beautiful green parrot that calls Aruba home. And if nothing else, this is a nice secluded area just off the high rise hotel area that will most likely be deserted except for you and your family. It is a nice place to snap some shots of the surrounding area, including the high rise hotels.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank EpiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do Not Go Here”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Do not go here. Don't. It is not worth the drive, the walk, or any other mode of transportation.

It is a dump, covered in bird feces, and no sighting of birds. We stood on the solitary tower, looking out over the swamp for 10 minutes, took some pictures, and left. We saw more birds on almost every other hotel's property than we saw here.

Skip this. It's free for a reason - they couldn't justify charging anyone for it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We tried to tour the sanctuary, but there isn't much to see here. They is a watch tower, but not much to see from the tower.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gilly9751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubali Bird Sanctuary also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Bubali Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing