We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aruba's Secret Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Boardwalk Hotel is an amazing place to stay! The tropical gardens on the property surrounding the casitas are gorgeous and very well-maintained. The casitas are exceptionally nicely decorated with beautiful Caribbean colors and décor. They are comfortable, well-equipped and very clean. We loved sitting on our porch for coffee in the morning, relaxing in the hammock and taking a dip in the pool. A large grocery store is not even ten minutes away and with the cooking facilities and grill, you don't need to eat out if you don't want to. However, the food on the island is fabulous - our favorite restaurant was Yemanja! Access to the beach and good snorkeling is great. Although at the end of the "high-rise" district, you feel like you are in your own little oasis. The owners, Stephanie and Kimberly, are extremely hospitable and knowledgeable about what to do on the island as were the office staff, Alice and Marie. I can't say enough good things about what a gem of a hotel this is!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Ellen,

Masha masha danki for your lovely write up of your recent vacation experience in Aruba. Very happy you enjoyed the comfort and decor of the Casitas. It is our intent to make our guests feel and live the Aruba live when they are here: from large outside patios to Caribbean colors and seaside touches to tropical gardens with dozens of palm trees. Also thrilled you enjoyed the many tips and Yemanya restaurant, it is definitely one our favorite places to dine.

Sunny greetings
Kimberly & Stephanie
Hotel owner and manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the Boardwalk Aruba hotel at the end of May 2014 and had a wonderful vacation! Aruba is such a beautiful island and our hotel was truly incredible. We had our own casita which was decorated beautifully and impeccably clean. We also had our own patio that we ate breakfast on every morning and relaxed on every night. The staff at the hotel was always friendly and extraordinarily helpful. They had a fresh carafe of iced tea waiting for us and a welcome basket with tips on restaurants and places to go. We had free wifi internet on the hotel grounds and no problems with connections when we wanted to check email or look up restaurants to go to. There is an adorable pool set amongst the coconut grove that we went to one day. I also loved the cats that live on the grounds of the hotel and would visit us on our patio. The hotel is right across the street from the beach with the high rise hotels which was perfect - we had a very short walk to the beach but we still got to be secluded from the larger, louder hotels. Boardwalk Aruba even lets you borrow chairs, cooler, and beach towels to take to the beach.
Plus we got engaged in Aruba on this trip! All in all we could not have had a more perfect vacation and we will be staying at Boardwalk Aruba again whenever we come back to Aruba.

Room Tip: All of the casitas looked wonderful. We stayed in a one bedroom casita which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hi Colby,

Congratulations on your engagement in Aruba!! Thank you for posting such an incredible trip report on TripAdvisor. It certainly helps other travelers decide on what hotel best fits their vacation style. Thrilled you enjoyed our beautiful happy island and loved Boardwalk Small Hotel, the casita, intimate pool and our insider's information on the island.

We look forward to have you stay with us again.
Sunny greetings
Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Ok,
With absolute reluctance, I am posting this review... My fear is that Boardwalk will become very popular, and they may not have availability for me next time. Nonetheless, this team deserves recognition for the work they do. I give them five stars for all categories i've seen rated: price, location, atmosphere, staff, housekeeping, communication, ect.
I promise you will not regret staying here. That said, you will regret staying in the big hotels across the street. The best advice I can give is to plan a week-long trip, no less. The 1 bedrooms at the Boardwalk are basically luxury apartments in Paradise. So go grocery shopping, and make yourself at home for the duration of your stay. With the money you save not ordering room service, i recommend renting a car (a jeep preferably), and checking out the entire island.
Cheers!
nc

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ncostello78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear N. Costello,

Thank you for your five star review of your vacation at Boardwalk Small Hotel. It was a pleasure having you stay for us and we are grateful for your kind words on TripAdvisor. Hopefully until soon again.

Sunny greetings
Kimberly
Hotel owner and manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have been to Aruba almost 20 times over the past 26 years. We have stayed from downtown to Palm Beach. The past two years we stayed at the Boardwalk Hotel. I believe it is the best place to stay. It is a small, friendly and quiet place. It is only a short walk to the beach. The "casitas" are clean, comfortable and very much like home. We traveled with 7 people and has the two bedroom with the adjoining studio. It was perfect. We had our privacy and my daughter and her family had theirs. The staff was "so" accomadating . We love the owners and the overly friendly staff. They have anything you may need or will get it for you. Some of the bigger hotels are so indifferent. It is a nice change to have such a kind group.
We LOVE Aruba, and will not stay anywhere else but the Boardwalk.

Room Tip: Casita 8B is a studio. It is a one bedroom, living room, nice updated bath and is adjacent to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRVACATIONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello,

Masha danki for your superb review! We feel honored and grateful for your kind words. Delighted you enjoyed your second stay with us and looking forward to many more Boardwalk vacations!

Sunny greetings
Kimberly
Hotel owner and manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A friend of our had recommended Boardwalk hotel Aruba and she was right! It is the perfect hotel in Aruba if you are not a fan of big resorts full of people. The Casitas are very clean and full of color. The kitchen is very complete and allows you to avoid restaurant whenever you want. It is also very well located with the beach at 300 meters as well as the shopping centers. However, we recommend renting a car for visiting the excellent places suggested in the treasure box that they provide. Owners are very friendly people.

Room Tip: two bedroom casitas are just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MTSP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Katy,

Very happy to hear your friend's recommendation did not disappoint you. We couldn't be more thrilled to read you loved the treasure box, casitas and inviting atmosphere we work so hard on creating. Thank you for reviewing your stay here on TripAdvisor, it means a lot to us and the entire Boardwalk team.

Sunny greetings,
Kimberly & Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A perfect place, in a perfect location. Beautiful and roomy, ideal for families. Relaxing and away from the resorts but close enough to the beach to enjoy the beach activities. Beach was awesome and the people very friendly and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jjimenez12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you for posting such a fun and positive review here on TripAdvisor. Thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found Boardwalk to be a perfect place. We are honored. We hope to welcome you back at Boardwalk soon.
Sunny greetings
Kimberly & Stephanie Rooijakkers
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We spent two nights at the Boardwalk and simply loved it. It is a splendid little oasis just a three minute walk away from the hustle and bustle of one of Aruba's most beautiful beaches. The private casitas are spacious and comfortable and tastefully decorated, so that we felt at home quickly. Each also comes with a verandah and hammock, perfect for relaxing in the mornings or in the evenings after a day of exploring. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. For dinner you can either cook in the well-equipped kitchen of your casita or go to any of the restaurants at the near-by beach. There is a bus stop very close to the hotel, so even if you decide not to rent a car, it is easy to get to downtown Oranjestad or further up north towards the California Lighthouse. We once took the bus to a great snorkeling spot close to Malmok Beach, for example. The Boardwalk is an excellent place if you like to maintain your independence while being surrounded by knowledgeable and helpful staff that are happy to help you out with advice when you need it. We would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudiaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBoardwalkAruba, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hello Claudia,

We really appreciate your endorsement and compliments on the hotel and staff and are glad you discovered Aruba's less traveled to beaches as well. Masha danki for sharing your trip report on TripAdvisor. We hope to be able to serve you again sometime soon.

Sunny greetings
Kimberly & Stephanie
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm - Eagle Beach
3.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
6,105 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & Casino
Hilton Aruba Caribbean Resort & ...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
OCEANZ Boutique Hotel Aruba
3.2 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,613 reviews
4.2 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range: $240 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel offers 14 spacious casitas spread out in the peaceful gardens of a historic coconut plantation. The hotel is located just a 3 minutes walk from popular Palm Beach where you can enjoy our NEW cozy beach area, providing shade and lounge chairs. All 14 casitas are tastefully decorated in fresh Caribbean colors and feature a large living room, fully equipped kitchen, modern bathroom, separate bedroom(s), private patio equipped with your own hammock and BBQ grill, TV, full air conditioning and free WIFI. Daily breakfast service is available. Other perks and privileges include daily housekeeping services, complimentary beach towels, beach chairs, cool box and snorkel gear. The owners of the hotel, fun twin sisters, offer concierge services and excellent recommendations, providing you with the local scoop. The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel with palm-fringed gardens and cozy swimming pool offers the ultimate setting for a relaxing and romantic vacation in Aruba. Couples of all ages as well as young families will truly enjoy this hidden gem in Palm Beach, Aruba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing