We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“100% recommendation”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

~ BOARDWALK HOTEL ARUBA ~ This place is a TRUE Gem!!
...and I am not an easy travel critic ; )

My Pro's and Cons:

PRO
1.) Boardwalk Hotel Aruba = Location - Can't get better for a deal and soon to be even better!!
Under 1 minute walk to both Marriott and The New Ritz Carlton. So if you want to go to the Casino or dine at a restaurant on the beach - "walk across the street" literally.

PRO
2.) Super clean and organized property and grounds.

PRO
3.) Free internet - Free parking - No, I didn't have to tip everybody I walk by!

PRO
4.) Nespresso Machine in the Lobby - B.Y.O.B. islands can't get all importations - so I brought my own capsules. Note: Available only during Open lobby hours….

CON
5.) Open Lobby Hours…. It's true according to other posts - the lobby hours are limited to daytime and I was surprised they were not there to check me in, upon my arrival in the evening - i.e. find your own room and figure it out, that kinda turned me off - but once you do get to your room there is a welcome letter and other nice welcome treats along with a cell phone number available 24/7 if your need anything - so in the end it didn't matter. They were available if I NEEDED them.

PRO
6.) A full kitchen and BBQ in Casita’s - my sister actually stayed at the Marriott across the street - so we luckily and experienced both worlds - Charming Hotel vs. Big Resort - 2 nights out of five they were at our hotel at the Boardwalk as we cooked BBQ fish on the grill! It was great. The Grocery Store is about 3 miles (by taxi or car) Google “SUPER FOOD” Aruba.

PRO/CON:
The beach - First of all the beaches of Aruba are "off the hook" the first day we floated in the water for 8 hours without boredom - because it's so darn beautiful. Eagle Beach is a must see! Ok back to Boardwalk - they do have beach access at MooMba Beach which is very nice with chairs complimentary and also with a restaurant and bar, although it is a bit of a walk (not tooooo far) BUT it is a walk down the beach/or a drive is easier to MooMba Beach. Although Boardwalk is on the verge of new beach access - across the street - so you will have to book with them/call/email and ask. For Boardwalk it will be very exciting times!!

PRO/CON:
Security – Aruba, in general, according to my stay was safe - BUT there is always a car break in or wallet stolen while vacationing ~ all over the globe. Boardwalk Hotel provides "in room safes" and have 2 security cameras on the parking lot at all times.

Room for improvement here - a security gate with card access to get in and off the property and more cameras. Although again, I had no problem or security issues.

Side note: ARUBA CAR RENTALS -- When I rented a car in Aruba they actually had me sign off – for the cost of what it is to replace stolen parts in advance!!!! Read the fine print.
That to me was suspicious about petty car theft in Aruba. Needless to say, I parked directly under the security camera every night!!

CON: Small pool at the Boardwalk but it is enough to jump in – We did spend some time at Marriott general pool and Marriott’s exclusive pool – but you can hardly compare pools as Marriott room prices are nearly double Boardwalk’s! So considering THE VALUE you receive at Boardwalk their pool is fine.

OVERALL PRO:
Boardwalk has Style and Class - with the small things - i.e décor - and they are not penny pinching with incidentals - complimentary snorkel gear and complimentary iced tea, etc…
these small treats combined with their special décor mattered to me, and made it especially easy and a very nice place to stay.

Overall a two thumbs up on this hotel,
Staff was excellent - real people - both running and working at this hotel.
If I had my choice over the BIG RESORTS or Boardwalk -
I would choose the BOARDWALK HOTEL ARUBA every time.
I am booking my next stay September 2014.
Hope you do too.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique - we stayed upstairs Casita 22 ~ it was perfect for a couple, but call and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Bunnie M,

Thank you for your truly amazing review on Boardwalk Hotel. It is clear to see that you are a passionate travel critic and we love how you honestly point out all the PROS and CONS of Boardwalk. We truly appreciate your feedback, and were very flattered to hear your appreciation for the small details we offer our guests to make their stay at Boardwalk special. We constantly work on making Boardwalk a fantastic, relaxing, beautiful, well designed, safe, enjoyable place to vacation and we already look forward to your next stay with us, September 2014! Many many thanks for sharing your experience at Boardwalk Small Hotel Aruba with your friends, family and entire TripAdvisor community.

Sunny greetings from all of us
Kimberly and Stephanie Rooijakkers
Hotel owners and manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    162
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
399
576
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I just want to say that the entire staff at the Boardwalk has made this the best place to stay in all Aruba. If you are looking for a place away from the crowds yet minutes away from the beaches and restaurants the Boardwalk is the place to stay. My wife and I stayed at the Boardwalk for 10 nights and had the most wonderful honeymoon we could have imagined. From our first contact we had with the girls at the Boardwalk when booking our trip till the time we departed from our paradise everything went perfect. The girls are very helpful. The beautiful grounds are maintained and cleaned everyday. The Boardwalk is the only place that we will stay in Aruba from now on. We are already counting the days until we get back for our next trip. Thank you so much to the entire staff at the Boardwalk for truly making our honeymoon a dream come true! We cannot wait to come back to Aruba and the Boardwalk!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Rich H,

Congratulations once again on your marriage. Thank you so much for your choosing Boardwalk Small Hotel to celebrate your honeymoon and masha danki (thank you) for your kind words and amazing review! We are so glad that your honeymoon was everything you wished for and that we were able to add to that positive experience! We are super flattered that you chose to stay with us on that very special trip! Your description of Boardwalk is truly flattering and we are glad that we were able to help you plan with you your holiday. It was great getting to know the both of you and we sure hope you will come back to stay with us soon!

Sunny greetings,
Stephanie and Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel owners and managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We´re so happy that we booked the Aruba Boardwalk Hotel and NOT the Riu Palace as we want first because we want to relax in our holiday in a quite and familiar athmosphere and we don´t like hundreds of people around us the whole day and music on the pool, on the beach, on the bar.....

It was perfect!!!

Room Tip: Casita 23 is very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KMTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear KMTV

Thank you so much reviewing us on TripAdvisor! It means a lot to all of us! Thank you for your flattering words! We are very glad to hear that we did not disappoint and that you enjoyed your holiday with us to the fullest! We surely hope that we will be able to host you on another wonderful holiday in the near future!

Sunny greetings,
Stephanie& Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel owners & managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay. Stephanie the owner ----the best in keeping us happy. Met some great people in a unique atmosphere. Been there before..will go again. Even if we rent a house on the island with the kids, we'll stop by and see Stephanie. Other guests from around the world-interesting. Easy to communicate- not like the big hotels

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Larry D,

Thank you so much for your kind review! Stephanie was so happy to hear that she was able to help you have a wonderful time on Aruba! It’s so nice that you were able to meet some new people and make lasting memories here with us! We really hope you will be back with us soon!

Sunny greetings from Aruba
Stephanie & Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel owners & managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Me and my friend fell in love with Aruba and Boardwalk year ago (2012) and decided that we would go again. Well we took another trip to Aruba this year and the one and only option for staying was of course Boardwalk. It is so nice and so perfect, it is not just a hotel, it is a home. When you go to Boardwalk, you don't just go to a hotel, you are joining to a family. Boardwalk family. The staff is so great, nice and helpful and they give you good tips where to go, what to see and where to eat! Casitas are gorgeous, renovation made this paradise even more beautiful! We loved our Casita 7, bedroom with two beds, wonderful bathroom and a living-room with kitchen, we made our own breakfast every morning and enjoyed it at our own terrace. Hotel gives you beach towels and you can also borrow cooler boxes and snorkeling gears so that you can really enjoy your day at the beach. Boardwalk is not located at the beach but it really takes like 5 minutes or less to walk to the beach and when you are staying at Boardwalk, there is Moomba beach club at Palm beach that offers you beach chairs for free.
Aruba and Boardwalk has really stolen our hearts so me and my friend are going there next year again! Thank you Kimberly and Stephanie for everything and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jenniina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Jenniina,

Thank you for sharing such an amazing review! We are flattered! Very glad we were able to welcome you two back with us again! It was a pleasure chatting with you every day and helping you organize your second vacation on Aruba! It is the biggest compliment to hear that you are planning another visit already! You have become part of the big Boardwalk family, and we hope for many more visits in the future!

Sunny greetings,
Stephanie & Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel owners & managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great hospitality! We had a wonderful stay at Boardwalk and didn't want to leave. Beautiful new casitas, private patio, own BBQ, big American fridge, perfect shower, very quiet. Just across the Marriott and new Ritz-Carlton. Free Wifi and beautiful garden. This is the place to be when you don't prefer the high rise American hotels and kidsclubs. And ask the staff for unique tips on the island.

Room Tip: Stayed in Casita nr. 5. Was perfect. Ground floor, private patio, one bedroom. Big American fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear DenG2011,

Thank you so much for your short and lovely review. It was sad to have you leave, but we couldn’t be happier knowing you had a wonderful vacation on Aruba and that Boardwalk Hotel. Thank you for summarizing all the amenities we offer! We love to share the treasures our island beholds with our guests and are glad you enjoyed our tips! We hope you will be back with us again in the near future!

Sunny greetings,
Stephanie & Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel owners & managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at Boardwalk for a couple of days only but had a fantastic time. The girls are friendly and enthusiastic and Alice was very helpful as well - always there to answer questions. I practiced my Spanish with the housekeeping ;-) Everybody is in a good mood here!
If you want to see Aruba in a non touristic way then go for Boardwalk. I was so done with the 'all inclusive' hotels and I think more and more people look for peace and quiet instead of giant buffets and lots of people. At Boardwalk I stayed in my own casita which had a nice terrace with BBQ and hammock. A really modern bathroom - with lovely Aloe Vera products! - and a nicely decorated room (with an splendid view on the 'Salinja' - spelling might be off).
I really enjoyed the fresh lemonade that I found in my fridge upon my arrival and was happy to see that there was a blender, ..... available. Often I feel like I can not really cook, here I was able to make some nice meals!
I was super excited that I was able to walk to the beach! I have stayed in a couple of apartments on Aruba and they are always located further away. This was the first time I could actually take my book, walk for two minutes and be at the beach! Loved it! The famous kite spot is close by and I could go for a run in the morning - to the lighthouse and back ;-)
If you like it small, cozy, modern, peaceful and colorful then stay at Boardwalk. I would highly recommend it the anyone - families, honeymooners, groups of friends or singles!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the first floor and had a really nice view. If I come back I think I would try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyRooijakkers, Owner at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear MarieD,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Boardwalk Hotel Aruba with friends, family and the entire TripAdvisor community! We are so glad that your weekend’s getaway to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba was a success! Did you know our staff has been with Boardwalk for nearly 20 years! They love what they do and the guests we attract ☺. It is always great to hear that this shows and we will make sure your nice words are passed on to them. We hope you will come back very soon!

Sunny greetings,
Stephanie & Kimberly Rooijakkers
Hotel owners & managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm - Eagle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
The Ritz-Carlton, Aruba
#13 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#10 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
Manchebo Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#17 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Hotel Aruba

Property: Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Address: Bakval 20, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Palm - Eagle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Palm - Eagle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Hotel Aruba 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel offers 14 spacious casitas spread out in the peaceful gardens of a historic coconut plantation. The hotel is located just a 3 minutes walk from popular Palm Beach where you can enjoy our NEW cozy beach area, providing shade and lounge chairs. All 14 casitas are tastefully decorated in fresh Caribbean colors and feature a large living room, fully equipped kitchen, modern bathroom, separate bedroom(s), private patio equipped with your own hammock and BBQ grill, TV, full air conditioning and free WIFI. Daily breakfast service is available. Other perks and privileges include daily housekeeping services, complimentary beach towels, beach chairs, cool box and snorkel gear. The owners of the hotel, fun twin sisters, offer concierge services and excellent recommendations, providing you with the local scoop. The boutique-style Boardwalk Small Hotel with palm-fringed gardens and cozy swimming pool offers the ultimate setting for a relaxing and romantic vacation in Aruba. Couples of all ages as well as young families will truly enjoy this hidden gem in Palm Beach, Aruba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boardwalk Hotel Aruba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Vacation Retreat Hotel
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba Palm - Eagle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing